Lazie - Just For You

• Lazie - Just For You

Lazie, I have great pleasure in posting this one just for you, boss!

[*Sarcasm button on] I realized many years ago that Sunshine Anderson is one of your favorite singers, and now this gem of R&B melody will be gracing the stage in the land of your birth. I know you don’t drink, but surely this calls for some sort of celebration on your part ? [*Sarcasm button off]
    Sunshine to brighten 'The Weekend'

Published: Wednesday | August 5, 2009

Sunshine Anderson - Contributed

Jamaica will get a bit more sunshine this Independence weekend from R&B songstress Sunshine Anderson. The singer, who is known for songs such as Heard It All Before, Lunch and Dinner and Something I Wanna Give You, is set to perform in Montego Bay, Jamaica, at the luxury party dubbed 'The Weekend' from August 7 to 9 at Iberostar, Rose Hall.

For Anderson, it has been a long journey to Jamaica, one filled with a few stops and many starts but never a total ending.

First album
    In June 2001, Anderson released her first album, Your Woman, on Atlantic Records and quickly became one of Soullife/Atlantic's signature singers. The album debuted at number eight on Billboard's Hot 200 before peaking at number five on that chart and at number two on Top R&B charts. Your Woman was later certified gold with album sales peaking at 750,000 units. But, not unlike many artistes who sang before her, Anderson, who found a friend in manager and fellow artiste Macy Gray, slipped off the radar. After being tangled in a web of record company politics, she found herself without a label.

For full story:
    http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean.../ent/ent1.html

I's not Miss jamaica dat?

Remember to ask Lazie (lol)

I's not Miss jamaica dat?
      Peter, she’s really beautiful, isn’t she? And she sounds good on stage and on record. Please remember to point this out to Lazie (in my defense) when he posts his angry/furious response later!!

(Note to self: Historian, why on earth are you stirring up trouble on this beautiful morning?)

well with a little sunsine in his soul hopefully it won't be a lost weekend!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ff-SsMvxukY

(LOL) I hope you're right!

well with a little sunsine in his soul hopefully it won't be a lost weekend!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ff-SsMvxukY
          I hope you’re right, Gamma! By the way, that “Lost Weekend” by Simply Red (YouTube video) that you posted above is a beautiful recording! I’ve actually never heard it before.

But boy, I can recall back in the “old days” on this forum seeing Lazie letting that poor girl (Sunshine) have it good and proper, as only “my-back-broad” Lazie can! Nevertheless, right now I’m wondering if Lazie would survive a heart attack if some ingenious record producer decided to have Sunshine Anderson do a voice-over on a Luther Vandross track (like the great producer Tommy LiPuma did with “Unforgettable,” featuring Natalie Cole and the voice of her late dad, Nat King Cole)?

In fact, the more I think of this Sunshine Anderson-Luther Vandross combination, the more I like it!! If my advice was asked, I would probably suggest that the producer choose from the following Vandross tracks:

“There’s Nothing Better Than Love” (she could easily sing the late Gregory Hines’ part);
          “Since I Lost My Baby”;
          “A House Is Not a Home”;
          “If This World Were Mine”;
          “Here And Now”.