Lazie, I have great pleasure in posting this one just for you, boss!
[*Sarcasm button on] I realized many years ago that Sunshine Anderson is one of your favorite singers, and now this gem of R&B melody will be gracing the stage in the land of your birth. I know you don’t drink, but surely this calls for some sort of celebration on your part ? [*Sarcasm button off]
Sunshine to brighten 'The Weekend'
Published: Wednesday | August 5, 2009
Sunshine Anderson - Contributed
Jamaica will get a bit more sunshine this Independence weekend from R&B songstress Sunshine Anderson. The singer, who is known for songs such as Heard It All Before, Lunch and Dinner and Something I Wanna Give You, is set to perform in Montego Bay, Jamaica, at the luxury party dubbed 'The Weekend' from August 7 to 9 at Iberostar, Rose Hall.
For Anderson, it has been a long journey to Jamaica, one filled with a few stops and many starts but never a total ending.
First album
In June 2001, Anderson released her first album, Your Woman, on Atlantic Records and quickly became one of Soullife/Atlantic's signature singers. The album debuted at number eight on Billboard's Hot 200 before peaking at number five on that chart and at number two on Top R&B charts. Your Woman was later certified gold with album sales peaking at 750,000 units. But, not unlike many artistes who sang before her, Anderson, who found a friend in manager and fellow artiste Macy Gray, slipped off the radar. After being tangled in a web of record company politics, she found herself without a label.
For full story:
http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean.../ent/ent1.html
[*Sarcasm button on] I realized many years ago that Sunshine Anderson is one of your favorite singers, and now this gem of R&B melody will be gracing the stage in the land of your birth. I know you don’t drink, but surely this calls for some sort of celebration on your part ? [*Sarcasm button off]
Sunshine to brighten 'The Weekend'
Published: Wednesday | August 5, 2009
Sunshine Anderson - Contributed
Jamaica will get a bit more sunshine this Independence weekend from R&B songstress Sunshine Anderson. The singer, who is known for songs such as Heard It All Before, Lunch and Dinner and Something I Wanna Give You, is set to perform in Montego Bay, Jamaica, at the luxury party dubbed 'The Weekend' from August 7 to 9 at Iberostar, Rose Hall.
For Anderson, it has been a long journey to Jamaica, one filled with a few stops and many starts but never a total ending.
First album
In June 2001, Anderson released her first album, Your Woman, on Atlantic Records and quickly became one of Soullife/Atlantic's signature singers. The album debuted at number eight on Billboard's Hot 200 before peaking at number five on that chart and at number two on Top R&B charts. Your Woman was later certified gold with album sales peaking at 750,000 units. But, not unlike many artistes who sang before her, Anderson, who found a friend in manager and fellow artiste Macy Gray, slipped off the radar. After being tangled in a web of record company politics, she found herself without a label.
For full story:
http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean.../ent/ent1.html