One the subject of slackness

• One the subject of slackness

i was reviewing some songs and I was listening to some general echo and original Madoo recordings and I didn't remember the exact words of the song "hotel fee". It goes "I can't pay the hotel fee" and proceedure to listen some very vulgar lyrics that not even Vibez Kartel them coulda do better.

I remember echo use to be king of slackness(no diss to yellow) even though he didn't record most of his slackness but you knew what to expect at his dances.

it just let me acknowledge some of the old time artists were not just suggestive but as vulgar as Vibez and the rest of the new ones now. Maybe the difference is we couldn't sing it in front of any adult and the adults choose where to play these songs.

Used To Be Worse!!

it just let me acknowledge some of the old time artists were not just suggestive but as vulgar as Vibez and the rest of the new ones now. Maybe the difference is we couldn't sing it in front of any adult and the adults choose where to play these songs.
    Assasin, you’re younger than I thought, boss !

King Yellowman, etc., were “apprentices” in the matter of slackness when compared with 1960s hardcore bad boys like Prince Buster, Laurel Aitken (“Wet Dreams”), and the late Clancy Eccles, the latter who gave us the unforgettable “Fatty, Fatty”. (I wish I could type the lyrics of “Fatty Fatty” here.)

Then there were pornographic gems like “Wreck a P… P...” And the female response (was the female version by the late Hortense Ellis?) called “Wreck a B….”

And there were others which I won’t waste time in even mentioning.

I thought Echo's sound effects took it to another level!

And there was this lyric from Echo, went something like this - When I am dead and go to hell, I will .... the devil's wife as well!

As I remember, he got his wish not long thereafter!

Maybe the difference is we couldn't sing it in front of any adult and the adults choose where to play these songs.
        Or maybe it's just hypocrisy and badmindedness

Is There Any Serious Musicologist Here?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          King Yellowman, etc., were “apprentices” in the matter of slackness when compared with 1960s hardcore bad boys like Prince Buster, Laurel Aitken (“Wet Dreams”), and the late Clancy Eccles, the latter who gave us the unforgettable “Fatty, Fatty”. (I wish I could type the lyrics of “Fatty Fatty” here.)

Then there were pornographic gems like “Wreck a P… P...” And the female response (was the female version by the late Hortense Ellis?) called “Wreck a B….”
          No disrespect meant for the posters here, but clearly the Reggae Boyz Forum cannot be an ideal forum for any serious discussion of the history and evolution of Jamaican music! (Real knowledge here seems to rest primarily in current dancehall issues and events). Imagine I made TWO major errors yesterday and, almost 24 hours later, no one spotted them!

It was last night, while laying in bed watching a videotape recording I had made from an excellent BBC documentary on early Jamaican music, that out of nowhere the realization hit me that I had confused the two separate recordings of “Fatty Fatty.” Then, while thinking about that in the context of the post I made, I also realized that I had likewise credited “Wet Dream” to the wrong person!

In crediting the popular but explicit song of the late 1960s, “Wet Dream” to the late Laurel Aitken is a major error on my part. Laurel Aitken, of course, is no stranger to sexually explicit recordings, but nevertheless the writer and singer of the hit “Wet Dream” was actually bad boy Max Romeo! (I still can’t understand why I made that silly error.)

Secondly, in yesterday’s post, I mistakenly credited the not-fit-for-airplay record, “Fatty, Fatty” to Clancy Eccles. That was not incorrect, as Eccles indeed recorded a popular record, “Fatty, Fatty.” Where I made an error was in attributing the sexually explicit “Fatty, Fatty” to him. The rather explicit, banned-from-radio tune, “Fatty Fatty” was recorded by none other than Leroy Sibbles and his group the Heptones.

Nobody spotted these errors….sigh

I am just reading your post and I spotted the "Fatty Fatty" error but since I am no musicologist and I was taught to respect my elders, I will defer to you and never correct you.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lol Lol

I am just reading your post and I spotted the "Fatty Fatty" error but since I am no musicologist and I was taught to respect my elders, I will defer to you and never correct you.
              Jangle, you make me laugh, boss! (Or should I say, “Young boss?”)

Let me say this, though: I’ve realized that you know a great deal about many issues including, no doubt, music. Secondly, I might not be as old as you think (lol). What I do know is that ever since I was a kid, I’ve had a tremendous love for reading. In fact, there have been countless times when, not having anything to read, I go over already read newspapers, magazines or books.

But, and this is important, I’m sure that there are many posters on this forum who enjoy reading as much as I do, so I certainly do not regard myself as being special in this in any way. I suspect that you, too, are an avid reader, and I still remember that excellent, very descriptive and well-written post you made many months ago on a visit by you and your family to a prominent Caribbean tourist destination .

was offline most of the afternoon but yes you made some mistake but the point a your post was the relevant thing.

Anyway I maybe a bit younger than you, but I still know them era and the studio 1 era I love very much unward. I think Echo, Welton Irie and crew took it to another level with a idol like following in the dancehall who came just to hear slackness.

Good Point

was offline most of the afternoon but yes you made some mistake but the point a your post was the relevant thing.

Anyway I maybe a bit younger than you, but I still know them era and the studio 1 era I love very much unward. I think Echo, Welton Irie and crew took it to another level with a idol like following in the dancehall who came just to hear slackness.
                  Good point on Echo, of course. (But not sure why posters here think I am an “old” man!! Lol)

By the way, Assasin, I still regard the great Prince Buster as the “baddest” recording artist of them all. Ever! Check out what he was recording (including his explicitly sex-charged songs) in those relatively innocent days of the 1960s…. well, not exactly “innocent”, because the rude boys were making their presence felt via ratchet knives and regular clashes with the police.

There’s an excellent study of the societal context of early Jamaican music by the writer Dick Hebdige, in which he discussed this in detail. At one point Hebdige quotes Rolling Stone magazine’s Michael Thomas (in an article Thomas wrote in Rolling Stone magazine, July 9, 1973) as follows: “As Thomas puts it: every Rudie was ‘dancing in the dark’ with ambitions to be ‘the coolest Johnny-Too-Bad on Beeston Street’. Prince Buster lampooned the Bench and sang of ‘Judge Dread’, who on side one, sentences weeping Rude Boys to 500 years and 10,000 lashes, on side two, grants them a pardon and throws them a party to celebrate their release.” (Hebdige, Dick, Reggae, Rastas and Rudies.)

didn't see these posts but i knew max romeo sang wet dream....and did not know of fatty fatty as having explicit lyrics...nora dean's barbwire was not as explicit but slack nonetheless.

prince buster's the virgin was more than slack IMHO...

there was a song that went...black p u m white p u m every p u m is the same ..... who sang that siong?

That line came from Admiral Bailey's Gimme Punany (I think). I remember a song by Stanley and the Turbines that went "Soldering a weh the young gal want". I remember that as a youth I couldn't sing that aloud.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

nope not bailey..he is a come lately..this was between 71 and 74.

Every time I see Leroy perform live, 'Fatty Fatty' is one of the most requested songs...

Anybody mentioned 'Soldering' by Stanley and the Turbines?

Is that the right word? It was "prononced" Saadering. Then a next man came up with "Welding a wha the young girl want"