• I will renounce! Hay-Webster to give up US citizenship

I will renounce! Hay-Webster to give up US citizenship
    Published: Sunday | August 2, 2009

Hay-Webster
    Tyrone Reid, Sunday Gleaner Reporter

South Central St Catherine Member of Parliament (MP) Sharon Hay-Webster has decided to give up the land of her birth - the United States of America (USA).

Hay-Webster, an Opposition MP, has initiated the process of renouncing her US citizenship in order to remain a member of the House of Representatives.

Fifteen months ago, an unyielding Hay-Webster, with legal team in tow, was ready for a showdown with her political adversaries to prove that despite possessing a US passport, she was eligible to sit in the lower house.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead7.html

Took her long enuff. Yet, her case is a lot different from the others we have seen.

Can we hear from Shahine and the rest?

playing hypocrite Mo?

How is it different?

Are you stupid? Or just partisan?

SHE WAS BORN IN THE USA. IS THAT DIFFERENT FROM PLEDGING ALLEGIANCE?

Sass, continue this conversation with someone with the guts to stomach ignorance.

She was born in the USA.

playing hypocrite Mo?

How is it different?

She was born in the USA, she did not apply for citizenship. However the system would probably get her if she applied for a US passport because that is what they used against Vaz also got Citizenship 'at birth' via his mother (he was not born in the USA.)

I thought that was easy to discern from that article, but some of us are so blinded by party loyalties.

what about Mairs who got his through his parent as they were citizen of Venuzula or some other central American country. How is that different, isn't that by birth too?

The fact is she willingly renewed her passport and travel on it just like anyone of them did. Did the law talk about been born in these states?

"He could have settled in Venezuela after studies, despite his family's businesses in Jamaica which include Desmond G Mair insurance brokerage started by his father. Mair's mother was a Venezuelan who came to Jamaica to study English and married his father. They later divorced and she returned to the Spanish-speaking country."
              Last edited by Assasin; August 2, 2009, 02:21 PM.

An Amendment is Necessary

South Central St Catherine Member of Parliament (MP) Sharon Hay-Webster has decided to give up the land of her birth - the United States of America (USA).

Hay-Webster, an Opposition MP, has initiated the process of renouncing her US citizenship in order to remain a member of the House of Representatives.
                http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead7.html
                The problem is that everything in Jamaica moves at a snail’s pace (just check, for example, the ridiculously long time it is taking to get the required three panelists to sit on the JADCO panel to interview the accused athletes). Instead of showing some signs of efficiency in starting the ball rolling towards holding the necessary referendum leading to a Constitutional amendment, we have this continuing circus. I’m prepared to wager a bet that nothing in this section of our Constitution will change by the next general elections.

There is absolutely no question that the clause allowing citizens of an obscure post-colonial boys’ club called the Commonwealth of Nations to be able to hold positions within our highest legislative body, while those of non-Commonwealth nations cannot, is a ridiculous clause in today’s world!! So ridiculous is that clause that it makes one probably want to laugh at our sacred Constitution.

Constitutions are not unchangeable. Evolution is a natural part of all peoples and societies, and what is highly necessary and relevant yesterday and vice versa can sometimes change as history marches onwards; this is one reason why some modern states have had constitutional amendments. In Jamaica’s case, there are several areas in our Constitution that begs revisiting, and soon.

Neither Mair or Vaz was born overseas, that it why I would love to hear a court's opinion. You dont have to pledge allegiance to the country in which you were born in order to get a passport.

you don't pledge either if you get it by birth and 18 in most countries.

any of your kids have to pledge to get Jamaican citizenship?

All you have to is show their birth certificate as they are automatically citizen.

they can apply for a passport anytme. Same thing with Mair regardless where he is born he didn't have to pledge to Venuzula
                    Last edited by Assasin; August 2, 2009, 03:13 PM.

Mi tink is because she travel or renew har passport...

Help us out here...

Suh how is she different from Vaz ?

Neither was by choice...

Mi tink is because she travel or renew har passport...

Help us out here...
                          Mo, over to you....

huh?!!! NOW shi a guh renounce? the ;atest she should have done it was after the decision in the vaz case!

is it possible to have a us passport and sit in parliament IRRESPECTIVE of whether you were born there, naturalised or some other way whey mi might not know 'bout?

Given up a US Citizenship has got to be traumatic.. yuh cyaan juss duh it willy nilly.. unless a man force yuh yuh nuh muss tek time screechy...

Yuh know how much man, woman and child dead ah sea ah try get inna Merica ?