That would only be valid I believe if the displaced water overflows...
If the bridge water was enclosed that would be true. It's not. The level of the river would not change no matter what size ship you have. No additional support is necessary. Campion you say
Where does it say that the bridge water is not enclosed ??
An enclosed river? When the water is displaced in a river it is spread over the rivers length. A river is not enclosed (duh) therefore the water level will not change. I won't even comment on the rest of your rubbish. Damn fool.
Beyond that I don't even see the relevance, displacement takes time to spread.. in any time (t) which can be measured in milliseconds you will have to account for the mass at a point (x) and the gravity acting on it..
What happen.. di Engineers nuh believe ship can sink ?
If the design is able to maintain a constant level of water when ships are traversing the designers do not have to account for the ship or cargo weight in the load bearing structural design.
If the design is not able to remove the displaced water to maintain a constant level then you have to account for the weight of the ship and cargo and water.
That was a question (or one very much like it) in my first form Physics book! That I could answer but I think standing back and reading this thread is more than enough entertainment for one evening...who need TV??
If the design is able to maintain a constant level of water when ships are traversing the designers do not have to account for the ship or cargo weight in the load bearing structural design.
If the design is not able to remove the displaced water to maintain a constant level then you have to account for the weight of the ship and cargo and water.
That was a question (or one very much like it) in my first form Physics book! That I could answer but I think standing back and reading this thread is more than enough entertainment for one evening...who need TV??
More like fourth form.......or a because my generation did duh " Integrated Science" first to third form.
What's all this "if" about? You have seen the situation. There is no "if" in the solution. But I understand - you are trying to cover all the bases so one or the other, you're right!