Willi? ...and others who have been to this part of Germany?

• Willi? ...and others who have been to this part of Germany?

Water Bridge in Germany.... What a feat!
    Six years, 500 million euros, 918 meters long.......now this is engineering! This is a channel-bridge over the River Elbe and joins the former East and West Germany, as part of the unification project. It is located in the city of Magdeburg, near Berlin. The photo was taken on the day of inauguration.

Engineers?

btw - You engineers ...no 'googling'?

To those who appreciate engineering projects, here's a puzzle for you armchair engineers and physicists: Did that bridge have to bedesigned to withstand the additional weightofship and barge traffic, or just the weight of the water?

Answer!

It only needs to be designed to withstand the weight of the water!
      Why? A ship always displaces an amount of water that weighs the same as the ship,
      regardless of how heavily a ship may be loaded.

Well you first have to establish what is weight...

I believe it is a product of Mass and Gravity.

If the mass of substance in a container increases and gravity remains the same, the weight of the substance will increase.

Therefore the structural supports have to account for the ships and the water

That would only be valid I believe if the displaced water overflows...

LOl this they taught you that at campion? Why do you think the astronauts practice zero gravity in a pool? i like karl's answer. Once the calculations are made for hdyro flow what's in the water will be acted upon by the hdyro force itself. ah well them germans at it again . If only we could answer the flat bridge problem

What you must learn is never question a Campion Graduate.. it has nothing to do with the 'weight' of the object in the water.. the question is what forces are acting on what is holding the water up...

Structural Supports have to bear the weight of the water and whatever is in the water.. it is irrelevant whether or not the objects in the water are floating.. they have mass and gravity is acting against them so you must decide what is preventing the objects floating in the water from crashing to earth..

In my humble opinion it is the support structure holding up the bridge.. what is your guess ?

LOL !! What school did you 'go' to by the way ?

Ben ah joke mi ah mek nuh tek mi serius.

I don't even know what I'm talking about; I'm no scientist, i just posted
                to rile you up. Your itntelligence and knowledge knows no bounds, I'm but a grain of sand in comparison to your mind and thoughts.

My humble aplogies sir, for the audacity of questioning one of the fine minds the came from JA's finest insitute of learning. I am not an expert at semantics, nor physics hence i will hasten to take leave. In leaving can i humbly ask this question? If you Ben are on a train going 40 mph and you thow up a tennis ball, is the ball going the same 40 mph? Again sir i'm very sorry.

The answer to that depends on a question : relative to who or what?

aaah, memba mi ask the genius if he is on a train...........

You don't know what comprises weight ?

Mass X Gravity.. you don't need to be very intelligent to know that..

Whenever in doubt use Critical Thinking.. throw out anything that is irrelevant to the basic equation and you will find your way.. don't be distracted with the density relationships of the objects comprising the mass..

Di only ting weight care bout is mass and gravity...

Yes sar but methinks you should look at the forces within the water itself
                          to make it simple call the water a train. Ben yuh know what leave mi alone cause mi nuh know dem tigs yah.

Wi all know say the germans are King in engineering (they taught the US science) so go ask dem how dem do it.

But mi nuh unnastan.. yuh apologize fi di audacity of questioning and in the same sentence yuh ask 2 more question ???

Yuh not easy..

Hold on.. yuh still arguing the point ???

Let me ask yuh a question.. if yuh have a large containter of water and yuh throw in about 100 pounds of ice.. yuh tink the scale going move only as the ice melt ??