Thwaites: Real unity needed to change Jamaica

• Thwaites: Real unity needed to change Jamaica

ATTORNEY-AT-LAW and Opposition Member of Parliament (MP) Ronald Thwaites has called for a government of national unity in Jamaica, for at least the next decade, to take on the serious challenges facing the country at this time.

Making his contribution to the Sectoral Debate in Gordon House on Wednesday, Thwaites said the tendency to invite critical sector leaders and the Opposition in times of crisis to coalesce around issues of national import was a piecemeal approach to tackling the problems.
    "Calling the Opposition and the labour movement into a meeting when there is a crisis is not sufficient," Thwaites said. "We need sustained and institutional cooperation to meet the problems of this time."

Need for action
    The Central Kingston MP said his recommendation of a government of national unity was a personal one, making it clear that he was not reflecting the policy position of the People's National Party of which he is a member.

Thwaites argued that the time for talking had long expired and there was now a need for action.
    Reminding Prime Minister Bruce Golding, who listened intently to his presentation about a comment he made some time ago, Thwaites said he was taking his cue from the government leader.
    "I saw him point to his side and say 'We can't do it alone'. I saw him point over to our side and say 'You can't make headway without us'. Those are words of wisdom. The words have to be turned into action," Thwaites said to resounding applause.

Take a stand
    The opposition MP questioned his colleagues, asking: "Who will confront our creditors with the honest situation that we cannot continue to bear the level of interest that we are paying and it is completely squashing our fiscal space and causing grave distress among our fellow Jamaican brothers and sisters?"
    He insisted that the "political energy to conceive solutions" did not come from one political side.

Discussion necessary
    On the controversial issue of public-sector retrenchment, Thwaites called for forthright discussion on the issue.
    "If we are not going to adjust the terms of our debt and we are not going to do without some of our public servants, how on Earth are we going to have a compression of public expenditure?" he questioned.
    As the country prepares to return to a borrowing relationship with the International Monetary Fund, Thwaites chided his parliamentary colleagues for not asking more searching questions of Finance and the Public Service Minister Audley Shaw after he made a statement on Tuesday in Gordon House.

NNN was running this as their headlines all day yesterday and at 5:30 as I had anticipated it was their topic of discussion. Thwaites, Boyne and PErnel were guests.

Note, what I heard from the speech was sounding good.

What Thwaites want is for 2 members of the PNP to be in the cabinet, he called it sharing power. But what wasn't asked of him is who would these ministers take their orders from? The PM or their party leader?

What silenced Thwaites was when Charles pointed out that the Vale Royal talks which comes closest to what Thwaites was proposing was abandoned by members of his own party. For the rest of the discussion Thwaites went silent.

ok...so dat officially dead again den....

All that is needed is the government to be a good government and the opposition to be a responsible opposition. There is no reason they can't work togather on vital issue and criticise constructively.

If the JLP and PNP form one gang, who is going to watch their backs? Well maybe that is the perfect oppurtunity for a third party.

ATTORNEY-AT-LAW and Opposition Member of Parliament (MP) Ronald Thwaites has called for a government of national unity in Jamaica, for at least the next decade, to take on the serious challenges facing the country at this time.

Making his contribution to the Sectoral Debate in Gordon House on Wednesday, Thwaites said the tendency to invite critical sector leaders and the Opposition in times of crisis to coalesce around issues of national import was a piecemeal approach to tackling the problems.
          "Calling the Opposition and the labour movement into a meeting when there is a crisis is not sufficient," Thwaites said. "We need sustained and institutional cooperation to meet the problems of this time."

Need for action
          The Central Kingston MP said his recommendation of a government of national unity was a personal one, making it clear that he was not reflecting the policy position of the People's National Party of which he is a member.

Thwaites argued that the time for talking had long expired and there was now a need for action.
          Reminding Prime Minister Bruce Golding, who listened intently to his presentation about a comment he made some time ago, Thwaites said he was taking his cue from the government leader.
          "I saw him point to his side and say 'We can't do it alone'. I saw him point over to our side and say 'You can't make headway without us'. Those are words of wisdom. The words have to be turned into action," Thwaites said to resounding applause.

Take a stand
          The opposition MP questioned his colleagues, asking: "Who will confront our creditors with the honest situation that we cannot continue to bear the level of interest that we are paying and it is completely squashing our fiscal space and causing grave distress among our fellow Jamaican brothers and sisters?"
          He insisted that the "political energy to conceive solutions" did not come from one political side.

Discussion necessary
          On the controversial issue of public-sector retrenchment, Thwaites called for forthright discussion on the issue.
          "If we are not going to adjust the terms of our debt and we are not going to do without some of our public servants, how on Earth are we going to have a compression of public expenditure?" he questioned.
          As the country prepares to return to a borrowing relationship with the International Monetary Fund, Thwaites chided his parliamentary colleagues for not asking more searching questions of Finance and the Public Service Minister Audley Shaw after he made a statement on Tuesday in Gordon House.
          Bravo Ronnie Thwaites!!!

Finally a significant politician from one of the tribes waking up to see the reality of our predicament... and a way out of it.

Whether it be a national unity government (less than 1% chance of that!) or a comprehensive, binding, publicly discussed Social Contract as I have suggested - and outlined a methodology for (much more workable!) it should be obvious even to the blind that the ONLY way for Jamaica to progress is through fundamental change and formal cooperative efforts- involving ALL national stakeholders.

No doubt most will say it cyaan wuk (a self fulling prophecy) or won't see the necessity for change.... their political favorites benefit from the status quo... so why change a winning formula?

So we will get just more PNP vs JLP bullshyte ad infinitum .... and keep on going nowhere.... fast.

Both dumb and sad.

Bravo Ronnie Thwaites!!!

Finally a significant politician from one of the tribes waking up to see the reality of our predicament... and a way out of it.

Whether it be a national unity government (less than 1% chance of that!) or a comprehensive, binding, publicly discussed Social Contract as I have suggested - and outlined a methodology for (much more workable!) it should be obvious even to the blind that the ONLY way for Jamaica to progress is through fundamental change and formal cooperative efforts- involving ALL national stakeholders.

No doubt most will say it cyaan wuk (a self fulling prophecy) or won't see the necessity for change.... their political favorites benefit from the status quo... so why change a winning formula?

So we will get just more PNP vs JLP bullshyte ad infinitum .... and keep on going nowhere.... fast.

Both dumb and sad.
            There are those in the land of fantasy and those who live in the real world. During the previous campaign, the then opposition was insisting on us going back to the multilateral agenices, the then gov't insisted no low interest loans existed. Now, listening to deacon he talks as if the best person to be finance minister is Omar Davies. For arguments sake, lets say Bruce was that stupid to appoint Omar as finance minister, who would Omar listen to? His party leader or the PM?

Like it or not, the aim of the opposition is to get back into power a cabinet minister from the opposition who is under performing would reflect negatively on who the PM for choosing him or him (the minister) and his party for trying to bring down gov't?

Futhermore where was the "angelic" Thwaites and his brilliant ideas prior to now? When he was a gov't MP and they were racking up the national debt, why didn't he make these nice proposals then?

Thwaites is all chat. Nothing more.

There are those in the land of fantasy and those who live in the real world. During the previous campaign, the then opposition was insisting on us going back to the multilateral agenices, the then gov't insisted no low interest loans existed. Now, listening to deacon he talks as if the best person to be finance minister is Omar Davies. For arguments sake, lets say Bruce was that stupid to appoint Omar as finance minister, who would Omar listen to? His party leader or the PM?

Like it or not, the aim of the opposition is to get back into power a cabinet minister from the opposition who is under performing would reflect negatively on who the PM for choosing him or him (the minister) and his party for trying to bring down gov't?

Futhermore where was the "angelic" Thwaites and his brilliant ideas prior to now? When he was a gov't MP and they were racking up the national debt, why didn't he make these nice proposals then?
                Above is the typical sycophant's approach to this national issue.

Not worth much further analysis in my view.

Dead Paradigm.... going nowhere...and taking the country along for the ride... JLP & PNP

Pathetic.

Dead Paradigm.... going nowhere...and taking the country along for the ride... JLP & PNP

Pathetic.
                  The regular houdini line. Listen to Thwaites' program, read his column on Sundays then talk to me bout unity gov't. Wait, you and him nuh act in the same hypocritical manner .... suh of course you'd agree with him.

Pathetic.
                    Funny when politicans out of power, they think they have the greatest ideas, and when they get back in, they are back to the same same...

Thwaites still have a seat ??

Don't forget about having the PNP promise not to contest any elections for the next 4 Terms... that part is critical.. because when dem get in...

"We always believe we are best of Jamaica so ANYTHING that will cause us to be in power is therefore best for Jamaica"

The regular houdini line. Listen to Thwaites' program, read his column on Sundays then talk to me bout unity gov't. Wait, you and him nuh act in the same hypocritical manner .... suh of course you'd agree with him.
                          Showa fi eva!!!

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                            Funny when politicans out of power, they think they have the greatest ideas, and when they get back in, they are back to the same same...
                            One could say the same for Bruce Golding I guess.

My point is the idea.... not the person.

Don't forget about having the PNP promise not to contest any elections for the next 4 Terms... that part is critical.. because when dem get in...

"We always believe we are best of Jamaica so ANYTHING that will cause us to be in power is therefore best for Jamaica"
                              I guess you believe the same nonsense for the JLP.

2 peas in a rotten pod. LOL!!!