My new favourite 'tician.. for the moment?

• My new favourite 'tician.. for the moment?

Holness' target - Minister wants performance-based contracts to help end illiteracy by 2015

Published: Thursday | July 23, 2009

Education Minister Andrew Holness. Education Minister Andrew Holness says Government plans to introduce performance-based contracts for principals as part of an effort to eliminate illiteracy at the primary level.

Though unable to say just when the contracts would be put in effect, Holness said they had become necessary as he was still not satisfied with the quality of leadership in several schools across the island.
    "Note, I did not say performance-based pay. I am not in support of that in the education system," Holness told The Gleaner after yesterday's post-Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House.
    "I said performance-based contracts. In other words, their pay will remain the same but, if they don't meet the targets, it's another thing."

Holness said the leadership of schools have to be held accountable when they graduate illiterates.
    He noted that approximately 20 per cent of the students who sit the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) each year leave primary schools illiterate or semi-literate.
    Principals accountable
    Holness said his target was to ensure that by 2015 all students leaving primary schools would be literate and principals would be the ones held accountable if that timeline was not met.

"There is a view that we are being hard on the institutional leadership but, the truth of the matter is, while we acknowledge that parents are responsible and that communities are responsible, who do I have direct control over? Who can the ministry hold accountable?" asked Holness.
    "We don't have the legal framework just yet to hold parents accountable for literacy, but there is a legal framework to hold principals, school leadership and teachers accountable," he argued.

According to Holness, the education ministry will provide schools with the necessary resources, including additional literacy and numeracy specialists.

Centres of excellence
    He said the performance-based contracts would be introduced initially for principals of new schools which are to be operated under a scheme called Centres of Excellence.

The main objective of these Centres of Excellence will be to meet and exceed the standards set for secondary institutions.
    Holness said this was the first step by the education ministry to increase the number of secondary schools where parents will want their children to attend.

At present, more than 40,000 students who sit the GSAT annually apply for the 12,000 places in the island's 50 top-performing secondary schools.
    However, Holness said the new schools being built under the Centres of Excellence programme, and improvements at other secondary schools, should create the climate which will widen the number of institutions that are attractive to students leaving the primary level.

Nice talk.... let's see the action..

and you will never hear bangarang chatter from Holness, like some a dem. If it wasn't for that green glow off his face, i would swear that was pickersgill tracing di woman!

Bing....

Up to the top we go (and round ‘n’ round in the snow).

Don't get too excited...That July 2009 moment has long passed... the fellow is an unknown quantity as a prospective PM

Time will tell if he even gets more than a few weeks in the job this go around...and if he does... what will be the national outcomes

Worried about dis bredda Holness, totally unknown except he is a Seaga protege which leaves me to wonder ,did he embrace the tribal philosophy, cant see his constituency is on the garrison radar like some I know.

Tufton to me would have be the ideal candidate.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

we will see....

West Central St Andrew
              Andrew Holness is no saint remember when him box down Dr. Blake and back him gun........Jamaica dnt pour new wine in old vessel!!!!!
              from http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...496481&sk=wall

lol

Uh-oh! I may need to recharge my batteries!

Agree with you X. It is a bit scary. The guy has been at the head of a failed or almost failed ministry, and is a protoge of probably the most unsuccessful politician in Jamaica's history, and for that he gets rewarded with the premiership of the country. Mind you guys, he was the one who reported that passes in English, and mathematics in the regional exam were on the decline, under his watch. We are in for a rough ride, I think.

well there is always portia in the general election .......

Proven idiot...

you judge Seaga's contribution and abilities by his party's success at the polls ?

Interesting...

Under PJ, PNP won 4 elections...

He must have been the most effective PM in decades then!

Dont equate Portia coarse behaviour as that of an idiot !We just saw what an educated one did for the past 4 plus years.His behaviour was not only coarse but totally defying logic , leaving only chess masters and letter head readers like Bendaffi to decipher and yuh see what happen to Bendaffi ?

Portia might make a great leader with her commonsense approach.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ever!!!