• See another big improve over former minister here

Tufton reports improved agricultural production in Jamaica

Posted: 2009-07-21 13:00:33 (3 Comments)

The [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Agriculture[/COLOR][/COLOR] Ministry is reporting an increase in crop production for the second quarter of this year.

The agriculture minister Dr Christopher Tufton said domestic production jumped by just under 23 per cent in the April to June period when compared with the corresponding months last year.

He said almost all major food crops recorded increased production with irish potato, onion and carrot among the five performers.

However St Elizabeth remains the parish with the highest level of production despite drought conditions and the incidence of the beet army worm in some sections of the parish.

Look closely at the numbers, Sass. Think about what "improvement over the corresponsing period" implies.

Geez! I hope you are getting some good money!

Check Roger Clarke's number and see how agriculture dip under that man reign. It is not hard toe beat him. I am not saying Tufton is the best we have had but Clarke was simply a diaster.

sigh

there is something you missing and that is growth have to start somewhere, miracle will not happen overnight. Hopefully he can keep it going.

Was Roger Clarke even close to good minister. You can look and see the lack of growth and the contraction of the sector under his leadership or lack of it.

Is there an Index as to how a Farmer should set their price?

Why is the Farmer not able to compete with price of product from outside Jamaica?

Look closely at the numbers, Sass. Think about what "improvement over the corresponsing period" implies.

Geez! I hope you are getting some good money!
              So there is a problem with improvement now? If there is no improvement unuh complain, now there is improvement you hating? How unuh sleep a night.

could it be because of the weather over the last 24 months

Well it seems like we nuh have good weather over 10 years.

If you notice the crops that increased a lot they are not crops that need more than six months to grow. There has to be other factors.

don't confuse them any further.

so how Roger never take advantage of the good weather during his years?

from the statistical institute of Jamaica

Agriculture
                        There was a 7.8 per cent decline in domestic crop production for 2007. This was due mainly to Hurricane Dean which hit the island during August of 2007. As a result most crops recorded a decrease in production over the previous year.
                        In the ‘export crops’ category, sugarcane recorded a 13.8 per cent increase in production, however cocoa (-33.2 per cent) and coffee (-22.7 per cent) both recorded reduced levels of production for 2007. Data for banana was unavailable at the time of publication of this report.

whose side yuh on?

Agriculture for the past 10 years have been dipping. It went down by 7% in 2007 and it increase by 25 % last year and you a go tell me that it is only the weather that is the factor?

Seasonal crops improved a lot, things that are not hurricane affected in the long term so it has to be more than just the weather. Simply.

I said all that?!?!