Just Another N.I.G.G.E.R

it does?

Ogletree said Gates showed his driver's license and Harvard ID — both with his photos — and repeatedly asked for the name and badge number of the officer, who refused

it does?

Ogletree said Gates showed his driver's license and Harvard ID — both with his photos — and repeatedly asked for the name and badge number of the officer, who refused
      Ah don't know bwoy...Ah don't know

I guess it's all about interpretation.

"Police say he refused to come outside to speak with an officer, who told him he was investigating a report of a break-in."

"initially refused to show the officer his identification,....."

"He was arrested on a disorderly conduct charge after police said he "exhibited loud and tumultuous behavior."

"Police said the 58-year-old Gates was arrested after he yelled at an officer, accused him of racial bias and refused to calm down after the officer demanded Gates show him identification to prove he lived in the home."

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

If you inside your house and police walk up asking you for identification what would you do?

~sigh~ i guess. a man home is no longer is castle!

jangle, unfortunately i understand the point of view that you have taken.

They had a right. They told him why they were at his door. What if he was being abducted and being forced to enter his own house? What if him or his family were being held hostage in his own house? The police were responding to a call and they were doing their job. I live in a predominantly white community and could easily fall into his situation. So I can sympathise to an extent. But he escalated the situation by his attitude.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

They had a right. They told him why they were at his door. What if he was being abducted and being forced to enter his own house? What if him or his family were being held hostage in his own house? The police were responding to a call and they were doing their job. I live in a predominantly white community and could easily fall into his situation. So I can sympathise to an extent. But he escalated the situation by his attitude.
                What if he was chilling watching TV? Yuh mean Police can come to my house and order me to show dem ID or else I'm going to jail? What is dis upon me.

That group of lyrical geniuses known as NWA told us what to do years ago.....

F**k that ****************, cause I ain't the one
                  For a punk mother f**ker with a badge and a gun
                  To be beatin on, and throw in jail
                  We could go toe to toe in the middle of a cell

F**ing with me cause I'm a teenager
                  With a little bit of gold and a pager
                  Searching my car, looking for the product
                  Thinking every ******************** is selling narcotics

yuh soon find out! anyway i drop this one....is a real eye opener though!

Unfortunately..........they had just cause to be there.

He should sue them for every penny they have! When he's done with them, they would be lucky if they have bicycles to do their patrols.

historian... cant believe you wrote that... thats all i will say...

just another__________ ... when the phd is discovered, he is just another _________ with a phd...

Well, this is not such a toughie.. after reading the second report. When a cop, immigration officer, customs officer stops me and is doing their duty, i do not smile, nor do i frown, i do not make small talk, nor comment on the weather, they ask I reply.

If I knew I was forcing my own front door open and a policeman turns up and says he's investigating a reported break-in, I do not find that an unreasonable action on the cops part. I would not be abusive or loud if he asks me for ID. The prof over-reacted. However, the cop was also wrong for deciding to "put him in his place" and he should have simply said sorry sir, have a nice day and we would not be having this discussion. And as they say two wrongs do not make a right.

And if anyone wants I can give you at least four (for starters) negative run-ins I've had with police and immigration officers over the years... you just have to know how to manage them. In St Elizabeth last week I was pulled over for speeding; two black cops and a likkle red boy. Officer explains I was doing 70 in a 50 (kph)... I said I thought it was an 80 kph zone.. he said no. I didn't bother to point out lack of signage...anyway he asks if I want to check the radar gun... " no officer, I believe you". Everything was very polite and nice... showed him my documents (foreign permit); "oh so you are a visitor, but I don't know this last name, you sure you come from Jamaica?" -yes officer... but leff long time, and I'm taking my family on a tour of the island along with my Mom - ... "ok... so Officer Brown, wha wi muss do?" he says turning to the other policeman... I didn't exactly hear what the other cop said but, he then turns back to me and says..."officer Brown say mi muss gi yuh a bligh"...
                              -Well, thank you Officer... I gathered my documents, thought briefly whether I should offer to buy them a Pepsi, (the sun did well hot)thought better of it and taking my time crossed the road, got behind the wheel continued my journey.

Just another day in paradise.

Juss mek sure yuh cross di road and nuh play hero...