Just Another N.I.G.G.E.R
You are.
Duck JangleHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*.
05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Gamma View Postwhen a police officer uses racial profiling to pull someone over someone , it is for the protection of society because black males are well, if not overly so, represented in prison. he's playing the odds.
Originally posted by Peter R View PostIf he produced ID that showed his address and they STILL arrested him...then he would have an issue; if he were arrested for using abusive language that's different.Last edited by Bricktop; July 21, 2009, 11:14 AM.
Ok... but you agreed the most exciting the cops have to do in Cambridge (?)is rescue a treed cat... so the prof should know this; if they announce the reason why they're there a little cooperation would go a long way... having said that I can see wid yuh cause if a cop come my gates here in T&T him bettah talk to mi tru mi window cah mi nah guh out...too much bogus cops deh bout... btw whe de ganja smell was coming from then?Peter R
it is automatically asking black people to expect being treated differently and to accept that disparate treatment.
some cannot appreciate what it is like until it actually happens to them and they see and feel it. if it happens to a friend, it could be the friend's fault ..... i have seen it and know that it exists in very insidious ways.....
i was having dinner with my family in a restaurant in boston a few years back. my youngest then was 2 and my eldest seven. a white came up to me and ask me if i played sports, i told him i did in college, he asked me what i did for a living...i was taken aback a bit but i told him...he then told me how proud he was of me....is a compliment, don't it?
Thanks for those comments Clarence Thomas.
The fact of the matter a lot of people do not understand that police departments are infected with individuals who view black people as nothing but criminals and thieves.
Abner Louima & Amadou Diallo certainly did not think the NYPD were choir boys!Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
given the history of racism in america and the fact that we are reminded almost daily that the vestiges remain, remember the kids at the country club in philly, WHY should we as black people who suffer the indignity of racism give the benefit of the doubt to any possible racist behaviour? shouldn't the burden be on them to prove that it wasn't racist behaviour? in 2009?!!
i do not doubt that racial stereotyping played a HUGE role in this incident! after all black man with a phd is still what?
Charges dropped against black Harvard scholar
By MELISSA TRUJILLO, Associated Press Writer Melissa Trujillo, Associated Press Writer 18 mins ago
BOSTON – Prosecutors dropped a disorderly conduct charge Tuesday against prominent black scholar Henry Louis Gates Jr., who was arrested at his home near Harvard University after a report of a break-in.
The city of Cambridge issued a statement saying the arrest "was regrettable and unfortunate" and police and Gates agreed that dropping the charge was a just resolution.
"This incident should not be viewed as one that demeans the character and reputation of professor Gates or the character of the Cambridge Police Department," the statement said.
Supporters say Gates — the director of Harvard's W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research — was the victim of racial profiling.
Officers responded to the home Gates rents from Harvard after a woman reported seeing "two black males with backpacks on the porch," with one "wedging his shoulder into the door as if he was trying to force entry," according to a police report.
Gates' lawyer, fellow Harvard scholar Charles Ogletree, said the professor had returned from a trip overseas with a driver, found his front-door jammed and had to force it open. He was already inside, calling the company that manages the property, when police arrived.
Police said the 58-year-old Gates was arrested after he yelled at an officer, accused him of racial bias and refused to calm down after the officer demanded Gates show him identification to prove he lived in the home.
Ogletree said Gates showed his driver's license and Harvard ID — both with his photos — and repeatedly asked for the name and badge number of the officer, who refused. He followed the officer as he left his house onto his front porch, where he was arrested.
Gates declined immediate comment Tuesday, and Ogletree did not immediately return a request to comment on the charge being dropped.
Gates joined the Harvard faculty in 1991 and holds one of 20 prestigious "university professors" positions at the school. He also was host of "African American Lives," a PBS show about the family histories of prominent U.S. blacks, and was named by Time magazine as one of the 25 most influential Americans in 1997.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Well, this report would indicate that Mr. Gates over-reacted to the police's requests.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*.
05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015