heh heh!

wrenk!

Well, Ms. Yapp certainly not a dog. (I just took a good look at the pic)

Originally posted by OJ View Post
        interesting why you would not talk about race in a island that does have biases and where a great deal of our young people will lighten the skin to seem more attractive. How does one ignore that social fact when we are talking about beauty..
        word.

augustus glasspole

Affirmative Action Policy Needed?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            interesting why you would not talk about race in a island that does have biases and where a great deal of our young people will lighten the skin to seem more attractive. How does one ignore that social fact when we are talking about beauty..
            So, let me see.... what do we do, Mr. Mugabe?
            (a) Give whites and near-whites a one-way ticket out of Jamaica (and kiss goodbye to civic-minded tendencies like human rights (for example, Jamaicans for Justice), animal rights, the environment, etc.);
            (b) Impose an Affirmative Action-type policy?

Historian, why do we have to go there? I support Jamaicans of all hues but I do have a problem with how we seem to judge beauty contests. In my view, we do have a serious self-hatred problem. Black Jamaicans, which account for 90% of our people, are not often seen as beautiful enough for these contests.

We may need some sort of affirmative action policy in Jamaica, yes.

accept what? that she was rumoured to have died, or that I had a better puberty because of her poster?
                Do you have to tell us what you were up to while looking at that poster?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  So, let me see.... what do we do, Mr. Mugabe?
                  (a) Give whites and near-whites a one-way ticket out of Jamaica (and kiss goodbye to civic-minded tendencies like human rights (for example, Jamaicans for Justice), animal rights, the environment, etc.);
                  (b) Impose an Affirmative Action-type policy?
                  Well, let's see Uncle Tom sir

Are whites and near whites(whatever that means) the only ones who have been historically concerned with human rights in Jamaica?. Paul Bogle, Sam Sharp and others might beg to disagree especially since their concern for human rights cost them their lives. Environment? John Maxwell and others who dont fit into your complexion profile might also disagree.

Affirmative action? Not necessary. What we should have is a beauty contest that caters to the whites and near whites you are so concerned about (ie the contest we have now) and one that allows the non-complexion challenged full participation. After this we can all come together and sing "Out of many one people"
                  Finally, if the mere mention of obvious historical racial bias causes anyone to think of a one way ticket then in this age of the internet Travelocity is available to everybody. Perhaps you could meet them on the tarmac in North America to console them.

Do you have to tell us what you were up to while looking at that poster?
                    mi seh nutten?!?

Why are you upset with Miss Yapp?

Originally posted by Rudi
                      Well, let's see Uncle Tom sir

Are whites and near whites(whatever that means) the only ones who have been historically concerned with human rights in Jamaica?. Paul Bogle, Sam Sharp and others might beg to disagree especially since their concern for human rights cost them their lives.

Did you see me use the word “historically”? And your recall of bits and pieces of high school history does not mean much to me! For one, Paul Bogles’ march was a desperate effort to improve conditions for himself and his people in an environment where Blacks were oppressed almost beyond belief by the colonial authorities. In other words, they could not take anymore! Sam Sharpe as well, with the difference being that Sharpe took his action during the period of slavery.

In today’s Jamaica, however, Carolyn Gomes’ (and the other Whites and Blacks in that worthwhile organization) involvement in Jamaicans for Justice is not primarily concerned about effecting improvements for themselves! They are largely middle class educated professionals who are as comfortable as one would expect them to be. Rather, Carolyn Gomes and others in the organization are concerned with the plight of ordinary poor, dispossessed Jamaicans who are the victims of, among other things, state brutality. A better comparison with Jamaicans for Justice would be George William Gordon.

I hope that you will now see the subtle but distinct difference between Sharpe and Bogle on the one hand, and Jamaicans for Justice on the other.

Environment? John Maxwell and others who don’t fit into your complexion profile might also disagree.

I never said that Black people were not involved in environmental issues, so your example of John Maxwell is somewhat beside the point here. Go and check out some of the prominent people in Jamaica’s environmental movement (and I could paste photographs and type names here, but I assume that you can Google things for yourself).

The fact is that in almost every case of leadership in issues of the environment, global warming, etc. that I can think of in any country, Whites have (for reasons that I am unable to explain) been at the forefront. This is not an opinion.
                      Affirmative action? Not necessary. What we should have is a beauty contest that caters to the whites and near whites you are so concerned about (ie the contest we have now) and one that allows the non-complexion challenged full participation. After this we can all come together and sing "Out of many one people"

You must be very young and being exposed to a Jamaican beauty contest for the first time, otherwise you would not make silly remarks about “beauty contests that caters to the whites and near whites.” Are you saying that a Black or dark skinned woman cannot win a Miss Jamaica beauty pageant? Check our past Miss Jamaica World and Miss Jamaica Universe contestants. And, by the way, guess which country was the first to have a Rastafarian contestant?!
                      Finally, if the mere mention of obvious historical racial bias causes anyone to think of a one way ticket then in this age of the internet Travelocity is available to everybody. Perhaps you could meet them on the tarmac in North America to console them.

Why does your suggestion about Travelocity remind me of a certain comrade leader who is alleged to have made a somewhat similar remark back in the early 1970s? The difference between your suggestion and his, of course, is that back then there was no Internet and so he suggested taking one of the five flights to Miami.

A personal question here: Did the photo of Miss Carolyn Yapp so affect you that it brought back certain memories? Just a question, buddy, as you sound very angry. I wonder why….
                      Last edited by Historian; July 22, 2009, 02:59 PM.

whites have also been at the forefront of much of the destruction of the environment.

when the europeans found the tainos here in the caribbean, they had no death penalty. the death penalty was introduced by the colonisers today they have turned around and determined that it is a bad thing and that it is inhumane.....

"until the lion learns to write, tales of hunting will always glorify the hunter!"

Read your statement again "buddy". The person who sounds angry is you. Someone mentions race and you refer to him as Mr. mugabe and talk about giving whites plane tickets out of Jamaica when he made no such inference nor in anyway did he slight the contributions of non-black Jamaicans to Jamaica it was you who went there. Any hang-ups or anger at the past would therefore all seem to belong to you. If at anytime you had to avail youself of plane tickets to leave Jamaica no one here sent you on a one way trip. Stop projecting OK Ian Smith.

Originally posted by Historian View Post

You must be very young and being exposed to a Jamaican beauty contest for the first time, otherwise you would not make silly remarks about “beauty contests that caters to the whites and near whites.” Are you saying that a Black or dark skinned woman cannot win a Miss Jamaica beauty pageant? Check our past Miss Jamaica World and Miss Jamaica Universe contestants. And, by the way, guess which country was the first to have a Rastafarian contestant?!
                            You're joking, right?

HUH?!! er rudi ...bredren....i have to feel that this post is misplaced..kindly note that i said anything about mugabe?!

Not addressed to you bredrin. But to the one who calls himself Historian who referrred to OJ as Mugabe simply because he had the audacity to bring up the subject of race in relation to beauty contests in Jamaica. You done know respect everytime.