Historian the musicologist - here's one for you.

Use for what? Is only smoking you can use marijuana for?

Lazie , even if you don't agree with legalizing weed, can't you understand the PRINCIPLE of the argument?

As for poppy, my position is that NO naturally growing plant should be across-the-board illegal. That is not even man playing God, that is playing bigger than God!
    Historian saved me a lot of time ...

"Ganja is not dangerous because it is illegal, it is illegal because it is dangerous" Gomes article posted by Historian.

it is just straight hypocrisy... it is pressure from the alcohol and tobacco lobby that has prevented marijuana from being decriminalized...

a natural growing plant should not be illegal... what a person does with it is their own business... people use alcohol for various purposes... there are many who abuse it, become addicted to it and there are many who use it for social pleasures without abusing it...

there are laws in place for those who choose to abuse alcohol and could cause injury of others... why cant the same be for marijuana... just stop arresting people for possession of the plant...

Its funny because I thought that was probably the most illogical statement in the article. There are MANY things which are dangerous but not illegal. For example ALCOHOL!!!

The reason weed is illegal is because of its social stigma, not a thing else.

Historian saved me a lot of time ...

"Ganja is not dangerous because it is illegal, it is illegal because it is dangerous" Gomes article posted by Historian.
          And cigarettes are legal because they are safe?

"You really think legaling ganga and prostitution would prevent us borrowing from those institution?"

It would go a long way in us becoming independent of those institutions, and before you go on, I am not saying that legalising these will solve all our problems.

"Wha yuh smoking Jangle?"

When I was younger, I used to smoke Matterhorn (never did weed). I stopped smoking (seriously) ten years ago. Now I only smoke Black & Mild occasionally, usually when I am on a long drive by myself.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

what are the side effects of drinking ganja tea? are there any side effects to sniffing glue?

back to the issue at hand though and thank you very much for the segue into an important argument, in it's natural state sugar cane is harmless, but once it goes through the process and becomes alcohol it becomes more so healthwise and as a social ill (alcoholism, cirrohsis of the liver and addiction to name a few) but it is LEGAL and taxed. doesn't that smack of hypocisy?!!

yes poppies should be legal. how di hell dem get poppyseeds on rye and bagels?

i coming to that one step at a time.....i really wonder if is si dem nuh si di hypocrisy..

The problem I see in the argument is that Lazie and Historian are fixated on ganja as a narcotic, and can't get past that.

some very cogent reasoning in the article from an economic point of view. perhaps we should be grateful that in it's illegal state ganaja hase made quite a few persons very welathy. but i digress....

tobacco and alcholol is legal because they are not dangerous?

Simply amazing.

Couldn't be that because nicotine changes brain chemistry and creates an addiction. If they were fixated on ganja being a narcotic they would also view cigarettes as narcotics. Aha maybe that's where the hypocrisy lies?

ignorance is bliss... where do you think the poppy seeds that are on bagels and muffin come from... it is from the same plant that is used to process opium...

last time i checked opium is more dangerous than marijuana when abused...

regards to side effects of sugar cane and marijuana... it all depends on the individual and the extent and mode of use...

some people get crazy headache and eye ache from eating sugar cane... some people do not... some people experience short term memory loss from smoking marijuana, some people do not... there are also benefits to using both...

point is, its straight hypocrisy for society to criminalize the possession of marijuana... that is my view and mi nah change...

str8!!

But the cigarette ads are so professionally done, with pretty women in fancy places! And thier CEOs dress in nice suits and ties! Heh heh.

I was going to jump into the sugar cane side effects , it elevates your blood sugar witch leads you to the risks of being a diabetic , by making your pancreas overworked to bring it back to normal levels.

Look every thing consumed has a side effect, ganja can be a hallucigen to some and nothing to others .Ganaja has never proven to be addictive but some would argue a gateway drug to harder drugs , so is spray paint if inhaled (abused ).

The arguement for legalisation is simply its a burden on our court system , its pratically legal already and it would be a good forgein earner , as soon as california legalises it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.