Historian the musicologist - here's one for you.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
    it is just straight hypocrisy... it is pressure from the alcohol and tobacco lobby that has prevented marijuana from being decriminalized...

a natural growing plant should not be illegal... what a person does with it is their own business... people use alcohol for various purposes... there are many who abuse it, become addicted to it and there are many who use it for social pleasures without abusing it...

there are laws in place for those who choose to abuse alcohol and could cause injury of others... why cant the same be for marijuana... just stop arresting people for possession of the plant...
    "a natural growing plant should not be illegal... "

True ... but seeing the side effects can you blame various gov'ts for making it illegal?

"what a person does with it is their own business"

Yuh sure bout that? When some clowns abuse it that causes you and your family to be in danger ... its not your business?

Its funny because I thought that was probably the most illogical statement in the article. There are MANY things which are dangerous but not illegal. For example ALCOHOL!!!

The reason weed is illegal is because of its social stigma, not a thing else.
      People keep making references to alcohol ... its the same thing with the slackness in dancehall. Instead of addressing it ... people pointing at soca.

If unuh want alcohol to be banned .. push for it. Still to see a valid reason why ganga should be legalized. Futhermore ... push come to shove the tobacoo companies, the liquor companies or even the bar can be sued ... who would get sued due to the madness of a weed head?

And cigarettes are legal because they are safe?
        Have you ever heard of tobacco companies getting sued? Why unuh nuh push for a ban on tobacco then?

"You really think legaling ganga and prostitution would prevent us borrowing from those institution?"

It would go a long way in us becoming independent of those institutions, and before you go on, I am not saying that legalising these will solve all our problems.

"Wha yuh smoking Jangle?"

When I was younger, I used to smoke Matterhorn (never did weed). I stopped smoking (seriously) ten years ago. Now I only smoke Black & Mild occasionally, usually when I am on a long drive by myself.
          Cho man ... I was just joking with the "Wha yuh smoking Jangle?"

what are the side effects of drinking ganja tea? are there any side effects to sniffing glue?

back to the issue at hand though and thank you very much for the segue into an important argument, in it's natural state sugar cane is harmless, but once it goes through the process and becomes alcohol it becomes more so healthwise and as a social ill (alcoholism, cirrohsis of the liver and addiction to name a few) but it is LEGAL and taxed. doesn't that smack of hypocisy?!!

yes poppies should be legal. how di hell dem get poppyseeds on rye and bagels?
            hehehe ... Gamma be serious. Was Jangle advocating the legalising of marijuana fi buss gas?

Cho yuh done know seh I am not easily offended.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The problem I see in the argument is that Lazie and Historian are fixated on ganja as a narcotic, and can't get past that.
                The many youths yuh pass on the corners morning, noon and night, is there because dem drink ganga tea?

Lazie, legalizing weed does not mean it would not be a controlled substance.

It does not mean it would be legal to sell it to a 10 year old. It does not mean it would be legal to smoke weed and then drive a twelve-wheeler truck.

I thought this was obvious but I guess it wasn't.

"a natural growing plant should not be illegal... "

True ... but seeing the side effects can you blame various gov'ts for making it illegal?

"what a person does with it is their own business"

Yuh sure bout that? When some clowns abuse it that causes you and your family to be in danger ... its not your business?
                    And those that abuse alcohol? And the side effects of alcohol/tobacco?

Lazie, legalizing weed does not mean it would not be a controlled substance.

It does not mean it would be legal to sell it to a 10 year old. It does not mean it would be legal to smoke weed and then drive a twelve-wheeler truck.

I thought this was obvious but I guess it wasn't.
                      I'm sorry, yuh lose mi on the 10 year old thing. Did I say anything about 10 year old?

Why unuh nuh push for a ban on tobacco then?
                        Because it's stupid to ban stuff. Mi leave di banning to you and the Taliban

And those that abuse alcohol? And the side effects of alcohol/tobacco?
                          Get yuh placard and get to work nuh? Again, all I see is a lot of hot air ... what is the benefit of legalizing ganga? All now mi cyaan get an answer.

Because it's stupid to ban stuff. Mi leave di banning to you and the Taliban
                            .. you may see it as stupid until a weed head bruk inna yuh house or a drunken driver try to test some physics theory.

My point was that weed would be controlled just like alcohol, so whoever you could sue for using or selling alcohol inappropriately you could sue for weed.

The whole world will legalize ganja before we do.