Historian the musicologist - here's one for you.

• Historian the musicologist - here's one for you.

Resistance is futile. Like a typical Jamaican, we have to wait until the foreign white man says that it's ok before we accept our own.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGsEt-qtOqs

Calif. tax officials: Legal pot would bring $1.4B

By MARCUS WOHLSEN, Associated Press Writer Marcus Wohlsen, Associated Press Writer – Wed Jul 15, 9:14 pm ET
    SAN FRANCISCO – A bill to tax and regulate marijuana in California like alcohol would generate nearly $1.4 billion in revenue for the cash-strapped state, according to an official analysis released Wednesday by tax officials.
    The State Board of Equalization report estimates marijuana retail sales would bring $990 million from a $50-per-ounce fee and $392 million in sales taxes.
    The bill introduced by San Francisco Democratic Assemblyman Tom Ammiano in February would allow adults 21 and older to legally possess, grow and sell marijuana.
    Ammiano has promoted the bill as a way to help bridge the state's $26.3 billion budget shortfall.
    "It defies reason to propose closing parks and eliminating vital services for the poor while this potential revenue is available," Ammiano said in a statement.
    The way the bill is written, the state could not begin collecting taxes until the federal government legalizes marijuana. A spokesman says Ammiano plans to amend the bill to remove that provision.
    The legislation requires all revenue generated by the $50-per-ounce fee to be used for drug education and rehabilitation programs. The state's 9 percent sales tax would be applied to retail sales, while the fee would likely be charged at the wholesale level and built into the retail price.
    The Equalization Board used law enforcement and academic studies to calculate that about 16 million ounces — or 500 tons — of marijuana are consumed in California each year.
    Marijuana use would likely increase by about 30 percent once the law took effect because legalization would lead to falling prices, the board said.
    Estimates of marijuana use, cultivation and sales are notoriously difficult to come by because of the drug's status as a black-market substance. Calculations by marijuana advocates and law enforcement officials often differ widely.
    "That's one reason why we look at multiple reports from multiple sources — so that no one agenda is considered to be the deciding or determining data," said board spokeswoman Anita Gore.
    Advocates and opponents do agree that California is by far the country's top pot-producing state. Last year law enforcement agencies in California seized nearly 5.3 million plants.
    If passed, Ammiano's bill could increase the tension between the state and the U.S. government over marijuana, which is banned outright under federal law. The two sides have clashed often since state voters passed a ballot measure in 1996 legalizing marijuana for medical use.
    At the same time, some medical marijuana dispensary operators in the state have said they are less fearful of federal raids since U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder said the Justice Department would defer to state marijuana regulations.
    Advocates pounced on the analysis as ammunition for their claim that the ban on marijuana is obsolete.
    "We can't borrow or slash our way out of this deficit," said Stephen Gutwillig, California state director of the Drug Policy Alliance. "The legislature must consider innovative sources of new revenue, and marijuana should be at the top of that list."
    Ammiano's bill is still in committee. Hearings on the legislation are expected this fall.

Also Wednesday, three Los Angeles City Council members proposed taxing medical marijuana to help close the city's budget gap.
    Council members Janice Hahn, Dennis Zine and Bill Rosendahl backed a motion asking city finance officials to explore taxing the drug.
    Hahn said that with more than 400 dispensaries operating in the city, the tax could generate significant revenue. The motion pointed out that a proposed tax increase on medical marijuana in Oakland, which has only four dispensaries, was projected to bring in more than $300,000 in 2010.
    Meanwhile, marijuana supporters have taken the first official step toward putting the legalization question directly to California voters.
    A trio of Northern California criminal defense attorneys on Wednesday submitted a pot legalization measure to the state attorney general's office, which must provide an official summary before supporters can begin gathering signatures. About 443,000 signatures are necessary to place The Tax, Regulate and Control Cannabis Act on the November 2010 ballot. The measure would repeal all state and local laws that criminalize marijuana.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Huh? At this point weed is illegal in Jamaica ... and we have so many weedheads pon the corners ... whats gonna happen if it should become legal? What would be the benefits to legalizing ganga? I don't see where we need that in our already messed up society.

what about all the alcholics on those same corner as well as others. the drunk driving deaths and maimings. criminalise alcohol too! otherwise it is pure hypocrisy!!

If you want to push for the banning of alcohol be my guest. Whats this obsession with weed?

are u for real? i am of the opinion that it is WRONG to criminalise a plant that god has made, simple. criminalise hash oil or whatever but a PLANT? during prohibition what did the catholic church offer as its' sacrament during mass? was there a special dispensation for them?

during prohibition, was it illegal to grow sugar cane, barley, malt, barley or hops? a plant lazie, a plant!!!

if a ganja seed end up on your property for whatever reason and starts to grow without your knowledge or intervention you are guilty of an offence?!!

call it an obsession if you like, the hypocrisy of the situation galls me. btw i am also obsessed with getting an intelligible answer to my questions so that i don't have to assume!

other people would call you shallow, but not me!

Its not specifically with weed, its with the idea that possession of a natural plant can be illegal.

Still I don't think legalizing weed is a battle worth fighting right now , we have too many other more pressing problems.

Much Respect, Lazie!!

Huh? At this point weed is illegal in Jamaica ... and we have so many weedheads pon the corners ... whats gonna happen if it should become legal? What would be the benefits to legalizing ganga? I don't see where we need that in our already messed up society.
              Lazie: As I stated recently in another thread, based on your posts over the past many years I can honestly state that there are VERY FEW things with which I’ve ever disagreed with you. In fact, the only one that I can recall is, of course, our pet topic, “Dancehall” . I deliberately make this statement simply because I’ve long realized that you make a great deal of sense whenever you say something on these forums. Your comment today, which I quoted above, is one such case where you make a great deal of sense!

Jangle: First, I suggest you read Lazie’s response above. Secondly, I really hope that you take the time to read the paragraph below and the accompanying article by Anthony Gomes. Also, always remember the article below by Gomes whenever we next discuss serious issues affecting Jamaica, such as poor education performance, the general breakdown of discipline along with overly aggressive attitude in the society at large, inadequate workplace performance, etc.

Originally posted by Anthony Gomes
              The national polls and other expressions of public concern have demonstrated that the majority of Jamaicans do not agree with decriminalising ganja. Ganja is not dangerous because it is illegal, it is illegal because it is dangerous. Apart from the international agreements mentioned earlier to which Jamaica is a signatory, the recent experiences in North America and Europe have caused a review of the harmful potential of ganja that contains THC, the primary psychoactive ingredient. As the designated "Third Border" of the United States where the possession or use of ganja is a Federal offence, and with which Jamaica and Caricom may soon start negotiations for a Free Trade Area, any attempt to decriminalise ganja can only be considered to be reckless.
              The cannabis conundrum

Anthony Gomes
              Wednesday, July 15, 2009

A recently published article out of Grenada refers to a proposal from the Association for Development Agencies in Jamaica, to cultivate and export marijuana for medical purposes "despite it being an illegal drug in all the Caribbean Community (Caricom) countries". The proposal as explained by a member, Ms Amsale Maryam, is to involve the youth in agriculture encouraging them to plant marijuana for the pharmaceutical market. Ms Maryam states positively that "by removing the youths from the streets and getting them involved in the cultivating of marijuana, we will not only see a reduction in crime, but there will be a reduction in violent activities. This is the approach we have to take because marijuana can bring in some serious revenue".

Anthony Gomes
              In Jamaica marijuana used in the manufacture of medicines is not illegal. This is illustrated by the products pioneered by Dr Manley West and Dr Albert Lockhart, sold under brand names such as Asmasol, Canasol and Cantimol for the treatment of asthma and glaucoma. It must, however, be emphasised that the psychoactive drug Tetrahydrocanabinol (THC) is excluded from the ingredients. THC is believed to be responsible for most of the characteristic psychoactive effects of cannabis.

Research abroad has also resulted in the development of prescription drugs marketed as Dronabinol, a synthetic THC product, and Marinol for the control of nausea and vomiting caused by chemotherapy used to treat cancer and stimulate appetite in AIDS patients. Cannabis is not only illegal in Caricom, but also in the US, Canada and in many European countries. Some states in the US have legalised medical marijuana, but it remains illegal at the Federal level where the Federal Supreme Court has stated: "Marijuana remains in Schedule 1 of the Controlled Substances Act because it has a high potential for abuse, a lack of certified safety for use under medical supervision, and currently no accepted medical value."

It should also be pointed out that Jamaica is a signatory to a number of international conventions relating to the control of narcotics that include the Single Narcotics Convention, the Convention on Psychotropic Substances and the Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances. All of which strongly militate against any relaxation of the Jamaican law.

Ganja is already illegally cultivated in Jamaica, facetiously called "Agro 22" and exported in volume through criminal networks. There have been persistent calls for decriminalisation of the drug, even to the establishment of a Ganja Commission which is in a state of suspended animation. Jamaicans oppose the decriminalisation of ganja as reported in two national polls conducted in August 2001 by the Gleaner/Don Anderson poll and the Observer/Stone poll. The Gleaner poll asked, "Should personal use of ganja be legalised?" No, said 58.3 per cent. The Observer poll recorded the same sentiment, in that 48.3per cent said that ganja should not be legalised, that is decriminalised. This clearly indicates that the protagonists are a minority.

The national polls and other expressions of public concern have demonstrated that the majority of Jamaicans do not agree with decriminalising ganja. Ganja is not dangerous because it is illegal, it is illegal because it is dangerous. Apart from the international agreements mentioned earlier to which Jamaica is a signatory, the recent experiences in North America and Europe have caused a review of the harmful potential of ganja that contains THC, the primary psychoactive ingredient. As the designated "Third Border" of the United States where the possession or use of ganja is a Federal offence, and with which Jamaica and Caricom may soon start negotiations for a Free Trade Area, any attempt to decriminalise ganja can only be considered to be reckless.

It is suggested that preparation of the communiqué for the November 27-29 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting be reviewed after taking cognisance of the above information. Particular attention should be given to Ms Maryan's categorical statement that "by removing the youths from the streets and getting them involved in the cultivation of marijuana, we will not only see a reduction in crime but there will be a reduction in violent activities". No evidence is offered to support the view relating to a reduction in crime and violence, where the opposite experience is the reality when ganja is found to be present.

With all of the major export markets - the US, Canada, and the EU - maintaining that cannabis is illegal, there would be no legal market for the drug unless it was produced exclusively for a foreign pharmaceutical company under licence from the Government of Jamaica. This is, however, a very remote possibility. Further, it is not feasible to consider Jamaica, with its high quality sinsemilla, as a possible legal supplier for the cogent reasons stated above.

Prudent consideration should be given before including this item on the agenda for the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, as clearly the cultivation of marijuana as the panacea for youth unemployment while creating high-paying jobs and bringing in "some serious revenue", does not constitute a beneficial role for the development of the Caribbean. Why not engage the youth in harvesting West Indian Sea Island Cotton that has a bright future for greater success in the international market, and now sells for a significant price to Switzerland without any value added. The cotton harvest is great, but the workers are few!

I have already stated my views and how I think legalising the three biggest SINS - GANJA, CASINO and PROSTITUTION, can benefit Jamaica, so I will not go over it. We (GOJ) sit around and bawl about how things hard and about fiscal this and that and about borrowing money from the IMF and World Bank when most of the answers are right there in front of our faces. Jamaica needs leaders with balls. The world already believe that Ganja is legal in Jamaica.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

are u for real? i am of the opinion that it is WRONG to criminalise a plant that god has made, simple. criminalise hash oil or whatever but a PLANT? during prohibition what did the catholic church offer as its' sacrament during mass? was there a special dispensation for them?

during prohibition, was it illegal to grow sugar cane, barley, malt, barley or hops? a plant lazie, a plant!!!

if a ganja seed end up on your property for whatever reason and starts to grow without your knowledge or intervention you are guilty of an offence?!!

call it an obsession if you like, the hypocrisy of the situation galls me. btw i am also obsessed with getting an intelligible answer to my questions so that i don't have to assume!

other people would call you shallow, but not me!
                  I'm sorry ... what are the side effects of eating sugar cane? What are the side effects of marijuana use? Barley ... isn't it also used for cereal? Back to Jangle's post .. I doubt he wants ganga legalised just to pretty up his garden. Suh the opium poppy should be legalised as well?

check dis...

Pot law leaves cops high & dry

Many blow off $100 fines
                    By Edward Mason and Jessica Van Sack
                    Thursday, July 16, 2009

Thumbing their noses at the state’s lax new pot law, Bay State stoners are brazenly lighting up in front of cops and then refusing to pay fines - leading some frustrated police chiefs to all but give up the fight.

Local police report widespread defiance of the six-month-old law, and a Herald review shows a vast majority of potheads cited by cops blowing off their $100 fines.
                    Some egregious examples of tokers flaunting the law include:

In Arlington, a public works employee was cited by the local police chief for smoking a pot pipe as he stood next to his town-issued tractor.

At bustling Park Street Station, a pair of nonchalant lovers out on the town openly lit up a joint and continued toking even after confronted by off-duty Milton Chief Richard Wells.

In East Boston, four teens spotted in a “smoke-filled vehicle” unabashedly told a cop they were “just smoking marijuana.”

A man caught near a Dorchester playground laughed when police said he faced a $100 fine - and then taunted the cops with an expletive-laced tirade.

All told, a staggering 83 percent of 415 tokers cited in Boston since the law took effect in January have refused to pony up the $100, a Herald review shows.

In Braintree, 15 of 28 citations went unpaid, while in Brookline 26 of 33 blew off the fines.

Somerville Deputy Chief Paul Upton said his officers are now writing few if any citations, in part because enforcing the law costs more money than it’s worth.

“If we send an officer to court, it’s going to cost us $250,” Upton said. “We’re not getting a lot of (citations) written.”

In Milton, Chief Wells said the new pot law is unenforceable because there’s nothing encouraging scofflaws to pay fines or even give their real names to police.

Berkshire District Attorney David Capeless, head of the state prosecutors group that fought against relaxing pot sanctions, said, “It’s exactly what we were afraid of, and what we predicted would happen. They’d issue citations, and they’d be ignored.”

Proponents argued pot convictions made youthful indiscretions into lifelong liabilities. But while unpaid parking tickets can cost drivers their licenses, unpaid pot fines carry no repercussions.

“There’s nothing that can happen,” Capeless said.

Thomas Kiley, the Beacon Hill powerbroker who crafted the measure, insisted the law has teeth.

Tucked in the law is language that places pot possession on par with other citations, and police can haul a scofflaw into court, Kiley said. “We did (anticipate) this,” Kiley said.

But Cheryl A. Sibley, chief administrator for the Boston Municipal Court Department, said police are powerless because that provision is neutralized by language clearly stating the only penalty the offender pays is the $100 fine.

Meanwhile, in Braintree on Monday night, police spotted a suspected perv smoking pot in a car filled with coils of rope, a pair of handcuffs and bottles of NyQuil. But they had to let the man go, even though he was awaiting trial on child sexual assault charges.

Said Deputy Chief Russell Jenkins, “Had the law not been changed, he absolutely would have been placed under arrest.”

bostonherald.com

Excellent Questions!

I'm sorry ... what are the side effects of eating sugar cane? What are the side effects of marijuana use? Barley ... isn't it also used for cereal? Back to Jangle's post .. I doubt he wants ganga legalised just to pretty up his garden. Suh the opium poppy should be legalised as well?
                      Excellent Questions, boss!

Now, I eagerly await the responses. In addition, I consider the Anthony Gomes article to be such an essential/required reading for all Jamaicans that I’m going to post it as a separate thread later today (after there has been more discussions in this present thread), just in case anyone missed it in this already lengthening thread.

I have already stated my views and how I think legalising the three biggest SINS - GANJA, CASINO and PROSTITUTION, can benefit Jamaica, so I will not go over it. We (GOJ) sit around and bawl about how things hard and about fiscal this and that and about borrowing money from the IMF and World Bank when most of the answers are right there in front of our faces. Jamaica needs leaders with balls. The world already believe that Ganja is legal in Jamaica.
                        Suh because people's impression about us is wrong, that means we should jump? What about those that think we're a murderous set? Should we simply do what we can to make them right?

You really think legaling ganga and prostitution would prevent us borrowing from those institution? Wha yuh smoking Jangle?

what are the side effects of eating sugar cane? What are the side effects of marijuana use?
                          Use for what? Is only smoking you can use marijuana for?

Lazie , even if you don't agree with legalizing weed, can't you understand the PRINCIPLE of the argument?

As for poppy, my position is that NO naturally growing plant should be across-the-board illegal. That is not even man playing God, that is playing bigger than God!

I have already stated my views and how I think legalising the three biggest SINS - GANJA, CASINO and PROSTITUTION
                            Ganja is a sin? God help me

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                              Excellent Questions, boss!

Now, I eagerly await the responses. In addition, I consider the Anthony Gomes article to be such an essential/required reading for all Jamaicans that I’m going to post it as a separate thread later today (after there has been more discussions in this present thread), just in case anyone missed it in this already lengthening thread.

The paragraph you highlighted from the article was enough, I don't see whats so hard in that to understand.