...LATEST NEWS... Joseph Hibbert resigns!

• ...LATEST NEWS... Joseph Hibbert resigns!

...LATEST NEWS...

Joseph Hibbert resigns over bribery allegations

JamaicaObserver.com
    Posted: 7/14/2009 4:35:40 PM

JOSEPH HIBBERT has tendered his resignation as Minister of State in the Ministry of Transport and Works following allegations of bribery made against him and other Government officials in the United Kingdom courts during the trial of British firm Mabey and Johnson Limited, said a statement from Jamaica House this afternoon.

The Office of the Contractor General is investigating allegations of inappropriate conduct in the award of bridge-building contracts to Mabey and Johnson, during Hibbert's tenure as chief technical director in the transport and works ministry under the previous People's National Party (PNP) 15 years ago. Hibbert is currently Member of Parliament for East Rural St Andrew.

His resignation followed a meeting with Prime Minister Bruce Golding yesterday.

“This resignation will allow me the time and freedom to clear my name and my integrity as former Chief Technical Director in the Ministry of Transport and Works during the 1990s to which the allegations refer,” he said in his resignation letter.

Should have been done long ago.

snicker

snicker
        Whats that to mean? "Wow, Lazie was right." I recall you mocking me when I said he should be stripped of his duties until he cleared his name.

No, I'm just laffing because unnu wouldn't hear when wi try tell unnu say di whole a dem corrupt, but unnu a jump up and down bout Trafigura!

Was that an excuse to sweep Trafigura under the carpet? Shouldn't all incidents of corruption be investigated? Or you think those involving those you idolize should be overlooked?

Well, you know where I stand with that. And yes, I guess you did call for Hibbert's resignation.

This leaves some people without an effective argument. Poor tings!

Indicative of the clear and telling difference between the two administrations.

Really?!? Did Colin Campbell resign?

The bigger issue in all of this is the JLP can no longer utter a word about Trafigura or any other "gura" and the finger pointing must stop! There is not a soul who really believed that the JLP was beyond and above corruption.

This resignation, as the Colin Campbell one, really means nothing. That's the least!

By the way, the company said they bribed Jamaican officialS. So, can we expect at least one more resignation, Comment!?

Really?!? Did Colin Campbell resign?

The bigger issue in all of this is the JLP can no longer utter a word about Trafigura or any other "gura" and the finger pointing must stop! There is not a soul who really believed that the JLP was beyond and above corruption.

This resignation, as the Colin Campbell one, really means nothing. That's the least!

By the way, the company said they bribed Jamaican officialS. So, can we expect at least one more resignation, Comment!?
                    Wait .. I suggest yuh check the time line and also find out more about whats going on before asking bout more resignations.

HAHAHA! Timeline!

Okay, Lazie and Comment, gwaan feel good about the obvious difference between the two administrations.

Jamaica is watching!

HAHAHA! Timeline!

Okay, Lazie and Comment, gwaan feel good about the obvious difference between the two administrations.

Jamaica is watching!
                        What is there to laugh about? Whenever anything don't fit in with your mythical position you laugh it off. You want to give the impression these acts occurred since this gov't took office. Listening to an interview this morning, the company said they made payments to Hibbert in 03 and according to his lawyer (if he is telling the truth), Hibbert resigned the job from 02.

You wouldn't see the difference between the 2 .... nobody surprised about that.

Is a JLP offical that was bribed ???

Who dat ?!

Originally posted by Comment View Post
                            Indicative of the clear and telling difference between the two administrations.

Silly ain't it.

The PNP rewards their corrupt officials.. Prime Minister and Most Honourable designations await the most ardent...

LOL !!