• Japanese ambassador ends diplomatic mission in Jamaica

'A very memorable three years'
    Japanese ambassador ends diplomatic mission in Jamaica
    BY KIMONE THOMPSON, Senior staff reporter thompsonk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, July 13, 2009
    JAPAN'S Ambassador to Jamaica, Masahiro Obata, announced last Thursday that his three-year tenure in the island had come to an end and that he would be demitting office.
    Outgoing Japanese Ambassador to Jamaica Masahiro Obata and State Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Dr Ronald Robinson (both at centre) pose with this year's recruits under the Japan Exchange and Teaching programme, at Thursday's farewell funcion in honour of the recruits at Ambassador Obata's official residence in St Andrew. (Photo: Karl McLarty)
    "Yesterday, July 8, I celebrated my 60th birthday, and tomorrow, July 10, Japan will issue papers for me to return home," he said.
    He was speaking at his Seaview Avenue residence where he hosted a farewell reception in honour of the 15 Jamaicans who will spend the coming school year as assistant language teachers in Japan under the Japan Exchange and Teaching programme (JET).
    "It was a very exciting, very fascinating, very memorable three years," said Obata, who arrived in Jamaica in 2006.
    "My most memorable experience was before the last general election of 2007," he told the Observer. "I attended the labour party's [Jamaica Labour Party] annual conference and I was stunned. The people are very enthusiastic compared to Japan's political scenery, which is very quiet. It was very different so I was very surprised."
    "Jamaicans are very enthusiastic about the labour party and the PNP (People's National Party)," he added.
    That conference was held at the National Arena and drew thousands of party supporters from all across the island.
    Another event ambassador Obata will not forget is Hurricane Dean, the outer bands of which ravaged Jamaica's eastern and southern coasts as a category four storm on August 19, 2007.
    "In Japan, we have a lot of typhoons but compared to hurricanes, typhoons are very small so I was surprised when we had Hurricane Dean at category four. I was very scared," he confessed, laughing.
    "When (it) came here, midnight of August 19 - I remember still - I was listening to the radio.
    Jamaican people were calling each other and even from abroad they were very worried about hurricane damage.
    I was very moved to hear the voices," he said, adding that he has been "very impressed" with the caring attitude of the Jamaican people.
    Ambassador Obata and his wife Hiroku will return to Tokyo this month, but he is not yet sure whether he will go into retirement or will be assigned duties in another location.
    "The truth is," a jovial Obata said Thursday, "I'm going to be kicked out. Jamaica is very popular among our Foreign Service officers because - maybe you cannot imagine - but Jamaica is very popular among Japanese because of reggae, because of Blue Mountain coffee, because of the sprinter (Usain) 'Lightning' Bolt. Many people would like to come to Jamaica so many people are waiting to kick me out."
    "That's very unfortunate, but I have to be kicked out," he said, erupting in laughter.
    "It's very sad. I'm going to miss very much the Jamaican people. They are very friendly," Obata added.
    Another memory that the ambassador said he and his wife won't soon forget is golfing in Jamaica. It was one of the activities the couple most enjoyed while here and, by Obata's own admission, they played every chance they got because "my wife is crazy about playing golf [and] one of the most important duties for us here is to keep my wife happy," he said throwing his head back in laughter.
    "You've got a lot of beautiful golf courses such as Tryall and White Witch in Montego Bay. Last week we went there and played our last game," he added.

That was nice .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

He was speaking at his Seaview Avenue residence
      Ambassador a badman, him live a Seaview

I think that is near Stanton Terrace...not the one running, I think...from Molynes Road through Seaview Gardens and Cockburn Pen.

Gunnark! LoL

So what kind of work did he do during his tenure?
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

i think it is near to where mountain view intersects with old hope road.