the gov't MPs are afraid to attend Parliament because they're afraid of being questioned by Bruce?Is it true that if them friad fi mek eye contact wid Bruce, afraid he may start asking questions? Whats going on here?
Balla is it true that
RE: Balla is it true that
Heh heh, look like unoo really hype up after the conference turnout!
Personally I am glad we have a viable and motivated opposition again after being MIA for the last decade. It can only be good for the country."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Conference turnout? No boss, I paid attention to what was said. It is clear, the JLP have thinking people, they always did. The question is, if Jamaicans like being at the bottom of the barrel with Haiti, or we want to strive for the best.
Personally I am glad we have a viable and motivated opposition .."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Islandman, just a little digression here:
Yesterday you told me that all is lost for JA on the IT front (citing lack of preparation via education) You said if JA was thinking about software engineering and other hard sciences they could forget it (seeing that our young students were poorly equipped to answer the phones in call centers). Okay fair enough; I understand your point. Now with the JLP coming in with their vast resources of thinking people, there should be huge turn around in the economy. I would like to know what areas would Audley (seeing that he would be the MOF) turn to, in order to stimulate growth in JA (bear in mind you said the IT game is already lost). Thanks.
Jamaica has to take a leap-frog approach.. not a catch up one.
For example instead of gearing up for Call Centers they should gear up to be Service Brokers.. leverage their Geographic Location and Shipping capacity with Advanced IT Logistics to broker the movement of goods and services for the region.
Leap Frog approach, but they have to bring in the Diaspora to mitigate against other Global interests.
After about 20 minutes, the Glazed look in Paulwells eyes said it all for me. His technical people of course are mainly concerned with protecting their 'turf'... worse when you frighten them with 'new' concepts.
Next stop.. Bruce..
Yuh stealing mi ideas but that is good
I don't mind . I want progress for JA because I know what's coming down the tubes. Yes Ja need help from the diaspora, JA cannot tackle today's issues without the diaspora (sports included). The leapfrog approach is the best route, I agree we must yeild ground with call centers but the terrian of software egnineering is still new. See Chile is hosting phds. in math to make advance search engines for google, we can have our people work algorithms for the serching techniques of nanobots. These inteleigent bots will decide on the quickest way of finding and attacking tumors et al. Peopel don't laugh this is no joke, it is the future. Another fron is molecular engineering (which is really a spin off from nanotechnology) We have to turn our male youth minds from shooting guns to the future. There is a window for all Jakans to live quite well (if we play our cards right) only 2.7 mil come on. Ben at times I can talk with you but when yuh pick the JLP Gazette, hell pop loose LOL
First of all, please don't misquote me. I have neversaid all it lost for JA. OK I said its too late for the IT outsourcing conceptand it certainly is in this initialphase that we have botched terribly. However there willbeopportunities for a while because therevolution is young and like you said is only 2.8 million of us on the island so there will be areas that are considered niches for large countries or even cities that would generate more than enough opportunities for a country our size.
As an example in the book "The World is Flat" (which I assume you have read as a student of this whole global village/outsoucing phenonemon) the author talks about "small" cities in China (which still means 8-10 million people) that none of us have heard about that corner the market on manufacturing "boring" products such as corkscrews or keychains. We could do the same in some area of the service outsourcing industry.
I don't know if Bruce and the JLP have the answers but I will say that they have finally put together a team that the country can take seriously and seem to be busy putting together alternative proposals in many areas of the economy. This is a a refreshing change. Paulwell on the other hand is the biggest disapointment in the PNP cabinet in the last decade. He really has no success story to speak of because the decisions to open up the telecom industry (which has turned out very well ) was made before his time."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=smalltxt vAlign=top>
<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>First of all, please don't misquote me. I have neversaid all it lost for JA. OK I said its too late for the IT outsourcing conceptand it certainly is in this initialphase that we have botched terribly. However there willbeopportunities for a while because therevolution is young and like you said is only 2.8 million of us on the island so there will be areas that are considered niches for large countries or even cities that would generate more than enough opportunities for a country our size. </SPAN>
<SPAN>>>>>>I'm a little confused here: it's too late but at the same time all isn't lost? are playing the semantics game boss?. So back toi my question the JLP will be looking in the area of IT then? Let me know. Thanks.
As an example in the book "The World is Flat" (which I assume you have read as a student of this whole global village/outsoucing phenonemon) the author talks about "small" cities in China (which still means 8-10 million people) that none of us have heard about that corner the market on manufacturing "boring" products such as corkscrews or keychains. We could do the same in some area of the service outsourcing industry.
>>> The second I read the world is flat I reached out and picked up the book (Thomas L. Friedman) beside it lays The age of the spiritual machine by Ray Kurzwell (a must read for all). I say we could do better by shooting for the technologies such as molecular engineering. UWI is poised to take advantage here only that they need to revolutionize their computer science Dept and aggressively integrate it with the natural sciences. Cast can come aboard in the areas of software engineering but it nusn't stop there: Campuses shouuld be set up in the county of cornwall so that students can attend lectures in real time and take classes (these techonologies are here: Microphone, TV, Camera, Ip routers) in other areas of the island (thus easing cost on commute , board et al).
I don't know if Bruce and the JLP have the answers but I will say that they have finally put together a team that the country can take seriously and seem to be busy putting together alternative proposals in many areas of the economy. This is a a refreshing change. Paulwell on the other hand is the biggest disapointment in the PNP cabinet in the last decade. He really has no success story to speak of because the decisions to open up the telecom industry (which has turned out very well ) was made before his time.</SPAN>
>>>> Well putting a team together is half the journey can they address the ills?</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
I forgot how really out of touch you are with the area of education in Jamaica.
Jawge, how many engineering graduates do you think UWI+UTech put out per year? Better yet, how many high school "graduates" do we produce per year that are qualified to to a course in engineering? How many qualified to do a course in r@#s word processing and spreadsheetsfor that matter?
Is people like you why I don't think overseas-based Jamaicans should be allowed to vote. Too many of unoo too damn out of touch with what a gwan pon the island and don't have a clue of where the root problems lie.
Concentrate on molecular engineering, alright sah."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Damn Islandman, yuh affi box him suh hot? That post just remind of the days when we used to play B a Box! Tek time wid him, hopefully him will learn."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Island man the days are long gone on
putting down Ja's education system (info age is upon us). If there is a problem, it should be identified and fixed. Is Uwi moving in the right direction here:<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-margin-top-alt: auto; mso-margin-bottom-alt: auto"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 13.5pt; COLOR: #cc0000; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">Our Services - New study programme at UWI Physics Department </SPAN><SPAN style="COLOR: black">
</SPAN><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 7.5pt; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">published: Thursday | November 16, 2006</SPAN><SPAN style="COLOR: black"> </SPAN><SPAN style="COLOR: black"><?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-margin-top-alt: auto; mso-margin-bottom-alt: auto"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">The Department of Physics at the <SPAN style="COLOR: orange; mso-bidi-font-size: 12.0pt">University</SPAN> of the West Indies (UWI) recently announced a new collaborative initiative with the UWI's <SPAN style="COLOR: orange; mso-bidi-font-size: 12.0pt">School</SPAN> of Continuing Studies at Camp Road, to offer a programme aimed at helping to produce technical graduates to meet the needs of the <SPAN style="COLOR: orange; mso-bidi-font-size: 12.0pt">Jamaica</SPAN> and Caribbean electronics and communications engineering industries. The <SPAN style="COLOR: orange; mso-bidi-font-size: 12.0pt">curriculum</SPAN>, which is designed to equip persons with skills in the creation and management of modern electronics systems, will begin in January 2007.</SPAN><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: Arial"> <o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-margin-top-alt: auto; mso-margin-bottom-alt: auto"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">According to the director of the School of Continuing Studies, Professor Lawrence Carrington, "Although the programme is not a UWI matriculation programme, it is designed to attract persons who require a recognised technical qualification in electronic engineering, including recent high school leavers, and experienced but uncertified persons working in industries such as electronics engineering, IT, automotive engineering, manufacturing, television production, and defence and security. The Physics-SCS partnership is among the first to bring these principles to the lifelong learning classroom, giving students from all walks of life early exposure to influential and emerging technologies." <o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-margin-top-alt: auto; mso-margin-bottom-alt: auto"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">The head of the Department of Physics explains that "Students will be asked to complete projects and demonstrate their skills and abilities on an ongoing basis throughout the programme." Students will select, calibrate, and operate appropriate electronic test equipment; perform advanced testing procedures on consumer electronic products; perform major troubleshooting procedures on consumer electronic products; and perform major repairs on consumer electronic products. <o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-margin-top-alt: auto; mso-margin-bottom-alt: auto"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">All interested students please apply before December 8, in person at the <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1lace w:st="on"><st1:PlaceType w:st="
Is not a matter of putting down JA's education system. I am a product of it myself up to the teritary level. Its more a matter of understanding the numbers we are dealing with. Lets take India for example, thier population is illiterate and it is probably upwards of 50% in the rural areas , so you could make an argument that they have a worse education system than ours, but the fact is that because of the numbers they are able to produce 30k-50k well-trained engineers per year and so offer an attractive option to companies looking to outsource in those areas. Because of our numbers we probably have not produced 50k engineers in the history of the country and only a few hundred a year, so we really have difficulty being taken seriously in those areas.
My view is that secondary education is the level that is higher priority. That is where we can get the biggest bang for the scarce buck in terms of producing a more skilled work force in the least amount of time. Institutions like UWI and UTech also benefit because they would have more and better qualified candidates applying for thier faculties."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Correction: Re India I meant to say that thier population is 30% illiterate overall and probably upwards of 50% in the rural areas."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Stealing your ideas ??
LOL ! Yuh really are a clown.
Steal and implement.. did we clash on implementation ?
If I had know these were your ideas, would have invited you to speak at the last symposium.
Have another opportunity coming up... are you interested ?
Lazie (11/22/2006)
It is clear, the JLP have thinking people, they always did. The question is, if Jamaicans like being at the bottom of the barrel with Haiti, or we want to strive for the best.
Personally I am glad we have a viable and motivated opposition ..
Yes, the govt. may not be viable, but what sense is there in replacing a non-viable govt. with a non-viable opposition?!?
All this shows is that Seago should have Seagone a long time ago.