how can a person not have compassion for michael jackson...

• how can a person not have compassion for michael jackson...

Actress: Michael Jackson's glove was to hide skin problem

By Doug Gross
    CNN

(CNN) -- Michael Jackson's single white glove was his trademark -- an iconic image for a performer whose career constantly set, then redefined, pop culture trends.

Michael Jackson's single glove, a trademark image, started as a way to hide his skin condition, friends say

But it also was an early effort to mask a skin condition that he would struggle with for the rest of his life, say some who were close to him.
    Actress Cicely Tyson, a friend of Jackson's, said the two shared a fashion designer in the 1980s.

"All of a sudden, he said, 'I'm doing this glove for Michael,' " she said. "Michael was beginning to develop the vitiligo and it started on his hand.
    "The glove was to cover the vitiligo; that's how that glove came into being."

The glove design and reason for it were not just hearsay for Tyson, she said.
    "I was there when he was creating it," she told CNN's Don Lemon.

More than the black fedora, the white socks and loafers or the red leather jacket, the solitary glove -- made famous in the music video for "Billie Jean" -- became a Jackson trademark. He was dubbed "The Gloved One," by media and a sequined glove he wore during his 1984 Victory tour was expected to fetch more than $60,000 in an upcoming auction, even before his death.

Jackson's dermatologist, Dr. Arnie Klein, told CNN that Jackson suffered from vitiligo, a disease that causes blotches of lightening skin, as well as a form of lupus that led to rashes and flaking of skin on his scalp.

"His was bad because he began to get a speckled look over his body," Klein said. "All over his body -- but on his face and hands, which is hard to treat."

It's a report that rings true to others with the disease.

"I have to wear sleeves and carry an umbrella," said Lee Thomas, who wrote a memoir called "Turning White," which discusses his physical and mental struggles as an African-American man whose skin changes because of vitiligo. "It totally makes sense to me."

Thomas, an Emmy-winning television journalist in Detroit, Michigan, told CNN that he shares a habit with Jackson.
    "I got [white spots] on one of my hands, so I used to wear a glove to hold a microphone," he said.

Dr. James Norlund, a dermatologist, never treated Jackson, but said the singer's use of the gloves and lipstick was consistent with the patterns of vitiligo, since the spots frequently first appear on the hands and face, including the lips.

Klein said he treated Jackson's vitiligo with a cream that eventually bleached Jackson's darker pigmentation to even out his skin color. He said it was that treatment -- not a once-rumored desire by Jackson to be white -- that lightened his skin over the years.

"Michael was black," Klein said. "He was very proud of his black heritage."
    Regardless of its origins, the glove was never viewed as anything other than fashion by Jackson's fans, some of whom donned gloves to impersonate him.

At Jackson's memorial service Tuesday, actress Brooke Shields, a close friend of Jackson's, remembered the glove in a light moment during an otherwise emotional eulogy.

"When he started wearing the glove, I was like, 'What's up with the glove?' " she said, drawing laughter from the crowd. "I was like, 'If you're going to hold my hand, it better be the nonglove one because sequins really hurt me.' It would dig in.

"He'd just shake his head and he would just smile."

Well, there are those who still very upset that he "changed his color" and curled his hair. Not to mention he had 3 white kids. Surprised noone nuh call him Judas yet.

did you see the interview with his dermatologist... that was particularly revealing... anyone who saw that interview should have a better understanding of michael jackson...

i know two people with vitiligo... one got it when he was an adult in his 30s... it was very difficult for him... his whole personality changed as a result...

the other was a beautiful girl who had it around 9... it was so sad... she didnt want to go to school because kids would make fun of her... she was starting to get better at dealing with it after a couple years and intervention by the school adminstrators... they educated the kids about her condition and her life became relatively normal at school...

i recently met a young kid at a t-mobile store and he told me that at first it was difficult for him to deal with his condition but he has accepted himself for what he is because there is worse that happens to people...

I saw a piece of an interview where he was asked if he was the father of the kids. Didn't see the part about the disease.

A well read poster her says Michael sold out, that he wanted to be white, and all the while I thought everyone knew that he had that skin condition.

Did he miss also what Cobie said, about how many Charities Michael donate his money to?

mi modda seh when fawt a chat monkey light him pipe... iz not everybody really believe that he had the condition, suh mi overlook nuff a de chat...

after i saw that interview with his dermatologist, i could not help but to wonder how cruel we as people can be... we as a people were cruel to michael jackson...

we are cruel to people we don't understand... if we are open to learn, there are many lessons to be learnt from his life...

Is vitiligo why he straighten his nose too?

I am sorry but unoo a bit too apologetic for MJ. I love his music as much as anyone else but the man was a deeply disturbed individual who made some terrible choices. Still I have compassion for him because he was not allowed to have a normal life, but lets not try to make him into something he was not.

to kill a mockingbird

Thanks.

I agree.

Micheal had problems, mostly created by his sadistic father, but there is no reason to rush to anoit him a Saint either.

He was just a tormented soul (with his own baggage of faults) that was hounded by fame and the media.

He should have spent more time in the Caribbean chilling out with REAL PEOPLE.

i don't see why we cannot see mj as a tortured soul who needed help but was himself very manipulative and not keen to get the help he needed while at the same time was the greatest entertainer that ever lived?

I am sorry but unoo a bit too apologetic for MJ. I love his music as much as anyone else but the man was a deeply disturbed individual who made some terrible choices. Still I have compassion for him because he was not allowed to have a normal life, but lets not try to make him into something he was not.
                      word my yute...

was just about to post something similar... but not as insightful as this.

respek

Thanks.

I agree.

Micheal had problems, mostly created by his sadistic father, but there is no reason to rush to anoit him a Saint either.

He was just a tormented soul (with his own baggage of faults) that was hounded by fame and the media.

He should have spent more time in the Caribbean chilling out with REAL PEOPLE.
                        anything would have helped... even a stay in a tourist free zone.

Is he the only one to have done such surgery? Nobody said he didn't have his problems, but if his dermatologist is confirming what was a rumor all these years that should mek those of us who continues to argue from a point of ignorance to take a step back.

bwoy lazie... wait deh... mi a wonda if dis a de fuss time mi and yuh agree 100%... no it cannot be de case...

still, everyting yuh seh is very true... like mj seh one time... people a gwaan like seh plastic surgery was invented fi him alone... look how many people have all type of body modification and augmentation... some people are so hung up on his nose surgery, like iz him alone do dat...

a girl inna mi office wuz a chat bout mj nose surgeries and mi was so vex dat mi affi ask her, if her breast implants dem fall out of the category... she was stunned and come back with de qualifier... 'but him have too many'...

mi ask har, if her breast implant spring a leak or is misalligned, if she wouldn't do another corrective surgery... dats when de conversation end...

islandman, its not about being apologetic for mj... who among us doesn't have our insecurities or demons... i would argue that most people who have the resouces like mj would do all that they think is necessary to fix whatever issues that make them uncomfortable...

choices... most people make bad choices along the way of life... also, the choices that are available depends on a person's circumstance and postion in life...

i am not sure about your reference of making him into something he was not... what is the 'not'... should we allow the media or people with demonstrated ignorance define who mj was...

he should be defined for what the facts of his life demonstrate... that can only be after the facts are examined...