• Bill O'Reilly: Michael Jackson is no black icon

July 8, 2009, 7:15 PM EST

MSN Entertainment

FOX News host Bill O'Reilly continued his streak of controversial statements during his show on Tuesday in reaction to Michael Jackson's memorial service which was held earlier in the day.
    O'Reilly criticized Jackson for "incredible selfishness -- spending hundreds of million dollars on himself while singing 'We Are the World,'" and said that it "should make any clear-thinking American nauseous."
    Speaking to guest analyst Marc Lamont Hill, a black FOX commentator, O'Reilly also addressed race as an issue at the memorial service: "Why are Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton making this a racial deal? Jackson bleached his own skin. And then chose white men to provide existence for his in vitro children. Give me a break with all this."
    Hill responded: "You have me baffled in your analysis here, to say this isn't a racial issue, when this man's entire career has been marked by the tropes of race... Yes, the black community has embraced him, yes the black community has wrapped its arms around him more in death, but that's because the media has assaulted him in ways they don't do with white people of his stature."
    Hill continued: "Now he has passed away. A year or two ago, when Jerry Falwell died, you and I debated this very point. You said, 'Give him three days to a week and let the people mourn him before you start talking about his racist politics.' So why are we giving Jerry Falwell something that we won't give Michael Jackson?"
    The two debated for quite some time on whether Jackson had helped in uniting black and White Americans. The debate, however, turned into a shouting match with O'Reilly proclaiming: "If he's such a black American icon, why did he have his kids with white men!?"
    Hill responded: "That's a personal matter. That doesn't make him less black -- there's no blackness meter here. You don't become less black if you have a white kid."

I realised something the other day about MJ , this guy lived his life like a black coon minstrel from he was a child , his parents pimped him , his agents pimped him , fiends etc , no one was there to steer him into being a man.Talented he was , out of this world but what society did to him ! my question is was it worth it?

Ridiculed by his own father for his (african)nose and how he tried to get rid of that nose and every thing african like a minstrel show he did it in reverse , where as a white person would paint themselves black and reinforce every negative stereotype of the african , black was trying hard to be white for the sake of entertainment or really money.

Beaten to perform properly from the age of 5 ? we really dont know what his soul went through how it was warped , for anyone to attack him , myself included is sheer ignorance , rather we need to attack those in his enviroment that allowed him to be pimped.

Yes the african community should fight and claim MJs africaness, and lick out against the minstrel shows in reverse (bleaching etc).Its a part of the african struggle that O Riely will never under stand.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

July 8, 2009, 7:15 PM EST

MSN Entertainment

FOX News host Bill O'Reilly continued his streak of controversial statements during his show on Tuesday in reaction to Michael Jackson's memorial service which was held earlier in the day.
      O'Reilly criticized Jackson for "incredible selfishness -- spending hundreds of million dollars on himself while singing 'We Are the World,'" and said that it "should make any clear-thinking American nauseous."
      Speaking to guest analyst Marc Lamont Hill, a black FOX commentator, O'Reilly also addressed race as an issue at the memorial service: "Why are Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton making this a racial deal? Jackson bleached his own skin. And then chose white men to provide existence for his in vitro children. Give me a break with all this."
      Hill responded: "You have me baffled in your analysis here, to say this isn't a racial issue, when this man's entire career has been marked by the tropes of race... Yes, the black community has embraced him, yes the black community has wrapped its arms around him more in death, but that's because the media has assaulted him in ways they don't do with white people of his stature."
      Hill continued: "Now he has passed away. A year or two ago, when Jerry Falwell died, you and I debated this very point. You said, 'Give him three days to a week and let the people mourn him before you start talking about his racist politics.' So why are we giving Jerry Falwell something that we won't give Michael Jackson?"
      The two debated for quite some time on whether Jackson had helped in uniting black and White Americans. The debate, however, turned into a shouting match with O'Reilly proclaiming: "If he's such a black American icon, why did he have his kids with white men!?"
      Hill responded: "That's a personal matter. That doesn't make him less black -- there's no blackness meter here. You don't become less black if you have a white kid."

Bill O'Reilly is a pig... but I agree with his point.

Michael Jackson is no "black" icon.

He's merely an extremely talented entertainer... with a very weak, warped mind.... a cartoon wrapped in flesh.

Those who consider him a black icon need their heads examined.... he stood for nothing particularly valuable to black people.... except singing and dancing well.... which activities we hold dear!
      Standing for nothing is how he fell so easily for all the BS he got into.

Black folk need much more than that of our heroes... we are too far behind others to be spending so much time and effort celebrating a modern day "shucker and jiver".

Dun talk.

This attack on MJs relevance to the African community will come out more and more and yes , africans will be at the forefront to state exactly what , how and whom he was its history.

Sad tale if you asked me.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What exactly is a black icon? He certainly was an entertainment icon, and he was black.

If we mean someone the black community should be proud of, well I would say in some ways yes and in some ways no.

so elvis presley was a white icon?
            out of many one people

What exactly is a black icon? He certainly was an entertainment icon, and he was black.

If we mean someone the black community should be proud of, well I would say in some ways yes and in some ways no.
              He was an entertainment icon... no doubt. Very talented performer... genius even. Kudos.

To me he was not a "black" icon. That type of iconography has political undertones or even overtones... someone who significantly affected positive political trends or sociopolitical change.... Stevie Wonder or Bob Marley for example qualify... for me.

The fact is he was formerly black.... having converted himself into a pale cartoon. That alone to me is a disqualifier.

Definitely not a "black icon" in my book. Then again people have differing worldviews... that makes life interesting.

By that definition I would agree with you.

16 of Michael Jackson's Greatest Non-Musical Achievements

The news of Michael Jackson's death rocked the world on June 25, 2009. Since his death all of the major television networks have aired special tributes highlighting his musical legacy. Those tributes are fitting for the man who was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice and whose 1982 Thriller album still holds the title of all-time best selling record in the world. However, Michael Jackson also had many significant non-musical achievements that are rarely mentioned.

The Michael Jackson Burn Center

On January 27, 1984, Jackson suffered second degree burns on his scalp while filming a Pepsi commercial at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. A pyrotechnics accident set his hair on fire in front of the auditorium full of fans who were there for a simulated concert. Jackson sued PepsiCo and settled out of court for $1.5 million. The settlement was donated to the Brotman Medical Center in Culver City, California, where Jackson received treatment for his burns. Using the money donated by Jackson, Brotman was able to get the best available technology for treating burn victims. The burn ward at the hospital was later named the "Michael Jackson Burn Center" to honor Jackson and his generous contribution.

Received Award from President Reagan

Michael Jackson was invited to the White House on May 14, 1984, where he received an award for his support of drug and alcohol abuse charities, presented by President Ronald Reagan.

Donated Profits of Victory Tour to Charity

The 1984 Victory Tour, headlined by the Jacksons, introduced more than two million fans to Jackson's solo material. Following the tour, Jackson donated his $5 million share from the tour's profits to charity.

We Are the World, We Are the Children

Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie wrote the charity single "We Are the World" in 1985. Both artists were among the 39 musicians who recorded the song. The single was released around the world to and proceeds went to help the needy in Africa and the U.S. Almost 20 million copies of "We Are the World" were sold, making it one of the best-selling singles of all time. The project raised millions for famine relief.

Treated Underprivileged Children to Free Shows

During the Bad World Tour, Michael Jackson played to sold out crowds and smashed Guinness World records when 504,000 fans packed Wembley Stadium for each of the seven sold out shows and the tour grossed $125 million. During all of this, Jackson invited underprivileged children to the shows and donated to hospitals, orphanages and other charities.

100 Percent to Charity

Jackson donated 100 percent of the profits from him single "Man in the Mirror" to charity.

Donations to the United Negro College Fund

From 1985 to 1990, Jackson donated $500,000 to the United Negro College Fund.

Honored by President George H. W. Bush

President George H. W. Bush commended Jackson for his achievements and presented him with the White House's special "Artist of the Decade" award in recognition of his musical influence during the 1980s.

Heal The World Foundation

Jackson founded the "Heal the World Foundation" in 1992. The charity organization brought underprivileged children to Jackson's Neverland ranch to ride theme park rides the singer had built on the property. Heal the World also gave millions of dollars to help children around the world who were threatened by war and illnesses.

Dangerous Profits Go to Charity

Jackson started the Dangerous World Tour on June 27, 1992 and completed it on November 11, 1993, after entertaining 3.5 million people at 67 concerts. All of the profits from the concerts were donated to the Heal the World Foundation.

Publicly Pleaded for More HIV/AIDS Research

When Ryan White, a hemophiliac teen from Indiana was kicked out of school in 1985 because he contracted HIV from a contaminated blood treatment, Jackson became one of his advocates. After White's death in 1990, Jackson pleaded with the Clinton Administration at Bill Clinton's Inaugural Gala for more funding for HIV/AIDS charities and research.

Teamed with Luciano Pavarotti for Charity

Jackson and Pavarottii teamed up for a benefit concert in Modena, Italy in June 1999. The concert was focused on support of the non-profit organization Warchild. The artists raised a million dollars for the refugees of Kosovo and also donated money to help the children of Guatemala.

Michael Jackson and Friends Benefit Concerts

Also in June 1999, Jackson organized a series of benefit concerts in Germany and Korea. He recruited Slash, The Scorpions, Boyz II Men, Luther Vandross, Mariah Carey, A. R. Rahman, Prabhu Deva Sundaram, Shobana Chandrakumar, Andrea Bocelli and Luciano Pavarotti for the Michael Jackson and Friends concerts. The proceeds were donated to the "Nelson Mandela Children's Fund", the Red Cross and UNESCO.

Guinness Record for Support of Charities

Jackson was listed in the 2000 book of Guinness World Records for his support more charities than any other entertainer or personality. Jackson supported 39 charities through cash donations and sponsorships.

Moonwalk

Jackson released his first autobiography, Moon Walk, in 1988. The book took four years to write and detailed alleged abuse Jackson suffered as a child and his plastic surgeries. The book topped the New York Times best seller's list.

Support After 9/11

After the 9/11 attacks, Jackson helped organize the United We Stand: What More Can I Give benefit concert at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C., which aired on October 21, 2001. Dozens of major artists performed at the concert and Jackson sang "What More Can I Give" as the finale.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Michael Jackson is a BLACK music icon. Yes it can be said he a white music icon as well, but that doesn't change the fact. Many of us may have disagreed with what he did with himself, but a BLACK music icon he is.

The "music" between black and icon makes all the difference.

bill o'reilly is a pig. nothing else needs to be said.

it's not as if michael jackson could change WHO he is and where he is from with all the plastic surgery in the world. when the band called living colour chose to play hard rock music, did that affect their blackness?

i never once hear them seh that rush limbaugh fosters hatred on his radio show.

does anyone know if the prescription drug addict limbaugh had anything to say about jackson's death?

when white people adopt asian or african kids there is not much fuss if in fact michael jackson's children are white so WHAT? is that what is biting his ass? next thing him tek on lionel richie tuh!

bill o'reilly is a pig. nothing else needs to be said.

it's not as if michael jackson could change WHO he is and where he is from with all the plastic surgery in the world. when the band called living colour chose to play hard rock music, did that affect their blackness?

i never once hear them seh that rush limbaugh fosters hatred on his radio show.

does anyone know if the prescription drug addict limbaugh had anything to say about jackson's death?

when white people adopt asian or african kids there is not much fuss if in fact michael jackson's children are white so WHAT? is that what is biting his ass? next thing him tek on lionel richie tuh!
                          Damn! Why yuh insult the pig? Yuh nuh eat bacon? Yuh nuh eat jerk pork? As usual the pig get the wrong end of the stick.

All that is great and should be commended but I don't see how anyone could argue that MJ didn't do some things that would make one question his comfort level with his black features and heritage.

yeah but FIYAH de pon dem pig deh!