What a letter!

intelligent AND BITTA ..... i wonda how much a him friend him inviegle fi gi him money fi invest....mi also a wonda if him did mek any withdrawal.....

mi neva si it as a ponzi scheme, more like easy money....TOO easy fi my comfort!

fi real...just like trafigura!

Update Missa 'non-partisan'...

"Both major political parties have admitted receiving money from the collapsed David Smith-led Olint Corporation, to finance the 2007 election campaign, which is now under investigation for alleged money laundering.

Treasurer of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Christopher Bovell, denied that Olint donated US$5 million to the party, although admitting that the investment club donated to the JLP’s campaign fund.

Responding to queries, chairman of the opposition People’s National Party (PNP), Robert Pickersgill, dismissed claims that the party got US$1.3 million. “To the best of my knowledge, Olint donated US$200,000,” Pickersgill said yesterday."

LOL !! Poor DonUno.. another bandwagon goes up in flames...

Update Missa 'non-partisan'...

"Both major political parties have admitted receiving money from the collapsed David Smith-led Olint Corporation, to finance the 2007 election campaign, which is now under investigation for alleged money laundering.

Treasurer of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Christopher Bovell, denied that Olint donated US$5 million to the party, although admitting that the investment club donated to the JLP’s campaign fund.

Responding to queries, chairman of the opposition People’s National Party (PNP), Robert Pickersgill, dismissed claims that the party got US$1.3 million. “To the best of my knowledge, Olint donated US$200,000,” Pickersgill said yesterday."

LOL !! Poor DonUno.. another bandwagon goes up in flames...
          Naive.

Gwaan follow politician... 'til yuh die.

fi real...just like trafigura!
            yuh seet!

U cant start investigation without evidence...otherwise you do nothing else.
              The media should be all over this like white on rice.

OLINT funding politicians wid tiefing money?

Golding allegedly meeting with a prime fraud suspect?

Ah joke yuh a mek Willi.

At the very least if it is established in court that Smith is an embezzler... the political parties should be forced to return the money "donated".
              It would not have been Smith's to donate.

The grubby politicians are too corrupt to return di tiefin money of their own accord.... and the media is too inept and subject to political manipulation to do an effective job as the public's watchdog.

Pathetic all around.
              Last edited by Don1; July 9, 2009, 06:46 PM.

intelligent AND BITTA ..... i wonda how much a him friend him inviegle fi gi him money fi invest....mi also a wonda if him did mek any withdrawal.....

mi neva si it as a ponzi scheme, more like easy money....TOO easy fi my comfort!
                Bittah1? LOL!!!

Heh, Heh..

Both parties admit taking donations.. where does that leave you ?

Our 'democracy' compromised from both ends ??

What democracy yuh talking bout by the way ? The wonderful one of the prior elections ?

Wheh yuh seh.. PNP was funded by the Church ?

LOL !

Mi keep telling yuh.. yuh reach LATE... yuh have as much crediblity as the PNP.. yuh not fooling nuhbaddy comrade (what a way yuh quick fi dash dem wheh.... wheh yuh seh Missa Telecoms..use dem den drop dem ?..)

LOL !!

oh.. but mi nevah hear yuh talking bout Democracy threatened then..

All wi coulda hear from yuh was how nutting nah come of it.. dem juss lucky suh far.... mi si Hingland about to lock up some man fi di same ting...

LOL !!

And where is the proof of this?

Nuh yuh a stickler for proof?

Bring proof and I agree and support you fully. No proof and its just wild accusation.

Now yuh seh MEDIA should be all over this? So why you dont seh DPP...is it because you engaging wild speculation???

Trafigura had bank statement. Without that it would have been wild speculation. That brought reason for investigation

Even there, what happened later when more proof was not forthcoming?

What we have is a letter from a man who would advocate the economic destruction of Jamaica so that he can recover the money HE foolishly, consciously and blood-mindedly "invested" in a scheme paying 10% a month??? This is NOT a basis for any action whatsoever. As a lawyer (and a good one) you KNOW that.

I am not saying that he is even right or wrong in his allegations, just saying that it not enuff to act on.

willi...if with all that proof trafigura was a tempest in a teacup then.....

This is an intelligent person?

All the fools who lost money from Ponzi schemes have themselves to blame and their investment strategies were motivated by reckless greed. The basic rules of investing is to DIVERSIFY your portfolio!

And where is the proof of this?

Nuh yuh a stickler for proof?

Bring proof and I agree and support you fully. No proof and its just wild accusation.

Now yuh seh MEDIA should be all over this? So why you dont seh DPP...is it because you engaging wild speculation???
                              There is a different standard required to get the DPP involved versus the press. How our media outlets are supposed to work:

1. The press gets wind of irregularities or possible corruption/criminality
                              2. In their role of informing the nation and guarding the best interests of the populace... they investigate said allegations/suspicions
                              3. They report their impartial findings to the public
                              4. The public and the civil authorities form opinions on said reports

... that's what the (media as I suggested) investigation would be for ... to find out if the allegations are true or not.
                              I have been chanting media inquiry all along... not a criminal investigation.

I''m surprised that you would not support a vigorous and through airing of this matter... instead of these whispers and secret letters.

If we had media outlets serious about exposing political corruption... especially that rising to the extent of a possible subversion of our democracy... this story would be relentlessly under the microscope in the press.

Unfortunately our media is too subject to political whims and big businessmen's fancies.

This is pathetic.... mi nuh support di banana republic ting... do you?

If Golding did indeed meet David Smith in May... what is your opinion of this little get together... in the face of the missing hundreds of millions of dollars and criminal investigations of the fellow in multiple jurisdictions?

Business as usual.

Heh, Heh..

Both parties admit taking donations.. where does that leave you ?

Our 'democracy' compromised from both ends ??

What democracy yuh talking bout by the way ? The wonderful one of the prior elections ?

Wheh yuh seh.. PNP was funded by the Church ?

LOL !

Mi keep telling yuh.. yuh reach LATE... yuh have as much crediblity as the PNP.. yuh not fooling nuhbaddy comrade (what a way yuh quick fi dash dem wheh.... wheh yuh seh Missa Telecoms..use dem den drop dem ?..)

LOL !!
                                Ok...Mr Corruption Free New Dispensation... du yuh ting!