• Clarke booted for misconduct - BNS lawyers

Clarke booted for misconduct - BNS lawyers

Published: Thursday | July 2, 2009

Clarke

Former Scotiabank boss William 'Bill' Clarke was "pushed out" of his post by the bank because it could not ignore allegations and complaints about his professional conduct as head of the financial institution.

Attorney-at-law John Vassell, who is representing the bank, made the disclosure yesterday in the Court of Appeal.

Clarke is appealing a Supreme Court ruling in March that there was no agreement for his retirement package to go to arbitration.
    Vassell is to make submissions today about the legal effect of the resolution made at the end of a meeting, in October last year, between the board of directors and Clarke.

Dr Lloyd Barnett and attorney-at-law Keith Bishop, who are representing Clarke, have argued that the resolution stated that the dispute involving Clarke's retirement package should go to arbitration and that there was no mention of his conduct.

On the other hand, the bank's lawyers are insisting that the minutes of the board meeting specifically stated that Clarke's conduct should be included in the arbitration.

Vassell submitted yesterday that the minutes of the board meeting of October 21 last year were the official record which stated that Clarke's conduct should be included.

He stressed that the bank wanted Clarke's conduct to be part of the whole arbitration process, but Clarke did not want that.

When the hearing resumes today, the bank's lawyers will also make submissions in relation to Clarke's objections to a letter from the bank that, effective yesterday, security personnel would be withdrawn from his house.
    The bank's lawyers have given their undertaking for the security to remain until the matter is heard in court today.

What kind of professional misconduct?!? He parked in the wrong spot? What the hell did he do to deserve this!?!?

parked in the wrong spot-. First time I've heard it quite described like that. I wonder if I can use that line sometime: excuse me pretty lady, may I park in your spot later on?.
      Do I have your permission sir or is this copyrighted.?

whachatalkinbout, Willis?!

a dem tings a gwaan a Scotiabank?! Deposits of another kind?! Or is di early withdrawal vex some people?!?

a whey yuh say?!?

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
          parked in the wrong spot-. First time I've heard it quite described like that. I wonder if I can use that line sometime: excuse me pretty lady, may I park in your spot later on?.
          Do I have your permission sir or is this copyrighted.?
          Careful, you may be accused of sexual harrassment.

Either parked in the wrong spot and stayed long enough to have little cars running around or parked in two different spots...lol!

deposits and not withdrawing early enough....??????

Bway look whe Bill come to. Sometimes a man fi just quit while him behind, no shame in dat. Wha a gwan now is just embarrassing and I dont even know the man. comical.

Egads! This is all too much for me, coming just 2 days before my Sabbath!

I don't want to hear any more!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                    Bway look whe Bill come to. Sometimes a man fi just quit while him behind, no shame in dat. Wha a gwan now is just embarrassing and I dont even know the man. comical.
                    Stop! Too much info!

Apparantly BNS asked him to quit while he was on TOP but him refuse and look wh him de now. I wonder how the letter was worded by BNS : Bill we would appreciate if you no longer come here anymore. LOL.

Sometimes a man fi just SHUT him mouth and move quietly along

shut him mouth and zip up him pants!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                            Sometimes a man fi just SHUT him mouth and move quietly along
                            Report are that he was offered about J$ 200 Million for his remaining 7 years before retirement but he wants more because he would have earned more that that. He earn over J$33 million last year.

I say take the money and run.

When I heard it I almost had a conniption!

He was once a symbol of pride for all black Jamaicans being one of the few big black men in corporate Jamaica. He is now a major embarrassment!