Why are we subjected to their cass-cass?

• Why are we subjected to their cass-cass?

'Bank putting my life at risk'
    Clarke wants to prevent Scotia from removing 24-hour security detail
    BY PAUL HENRY, Observer staff reporter henryp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, July 01, 2009
    The ongoing legal row between William 'Bill' Clarke and the Bank of Nova Scotia (BNS) has grown more hostile with Clarke accusing the Canada-based bank of trying to "embarrass and humiliate" him with strategies he claims are putting his "personal security and life in jeopardy".
    In an affidavit filed with the Court of Appeal on June 24, Clarke said that his life would be at risk should the bank be allowed to carry out its threats of removing the 24-hour security detail from the upper St Andrew home that it owns but which he has occupied for the past 13 years in his capacity as president and chief executive officer of Scotiabank Jamaica.
    Clarke further stated that plans by BNS to withdraw the services of two housekeepers and one of two gardeners were done in a manner designed to "embarrass and humiliate me".
    "It is inherent, not only in the respondent's undertaking of January 5, 2009, but also in the order of the court made on the 4th of June 2009 that the respondent [BNS] will not undertake any act that will materially affect the position of the appellant [Clarke] in relation to the properties," Clarke said in his affidavit.
    "... by removing the security detail assigned to the properties, the respondent is not only placing the properties in peril but is also placing my personal security and my life in jeopardy," Clarke charged.
    Clarke said that BNS was well aware that personal safety was a concern for executives of established banks, who have been blamed for the recent collapse of several of the island's informal investment schemes.
    Clarke's affidavit forms part of a request to the court for a ruling that would prevent the bank from going ahead with the plans, of which Clarke was informed on June 16 by way of a letter from Bruce Bowen, BNS's current president and chief executive officer.
    The security guards were set to be pulled today and the services of the housekeepers and gardener were to be terminated yesterday. However, the Court of Appeal yesterday - at the day's end of an appeal by Clarke against a Supreme Court ruling regarding his dispute with BNS over his retirement package - made an interim order, barring the bank from carrying out its plans. That appeal continues today.
    Clarke went on early retirement from the bank effective November 1, 2008 after 40 years, but later took legal action against the institution after negotiations about a possible retirement package broke down.
    The Supreme Court refused his application for the impasse over the retirement package to be sent to arbitration and ruled that Clarke vacate the Scotia-owned home. The court also ruled that Clarke return the two high-end motor vehicles belonging to Scotia.
    Clarke, however, appealed the decision and got a stay of execution allowing him to keep the vehicles and remain in the house.
    In opposition to Clarke's affidavit on June 24, attorney Hyacinth Lightbourne of the law firm DunnCox, said that there was no ruling by the court compelling the bank to provide Clarke with security, housekeepers or gardeners.
    Furthermore, Lightbourne said in an affidavit on behalf of BNS, Clarke's personal security was his own responsibility.
    "The [court] made no order that the respondent should continue to provide housekeepers, gardeners or security and it would be unreasonable to infer such an obligation on the respondent in the judge's order," Lightbourne said. "The respondent is under no obligation, legal or otherwise, to pay expenses incurred by the appellant for his own personal use and enjoyment."
    Lightbourne's affidavit showed that between November 1, 2008 when Clarke retired and June 29, BNS spent a total of $5,392,200 on security, housekeepers and gardeners.
    According to Lightbourne's affidavit, the bank, between November 1 and June 29, spent a total of $3,988,760 for four full-time security guards. For the two housekeepers, one being an 'executive housekeeper', the bank spent $918,104; and the two full-time gardeners cost the bank $60,667 monthly for a total cost of $485,336.
    In his letter to Clarke on June 16, Bowen wrote: "While the agreement between ourselves and the court is that you will be entitled to remain in the house, pending the outcome of certain matter before the court, we are no longer in a position to pay for personal expenses incurred by you other than those specifically related to maintenance or upkeep of the house."

What a hell of a life Bill Clarke living. Him need to go write a book with all him drama.

Bill Clarke is acting like an ass. If the bank wanted to embarrass him they would have disclosed what it was that led to his earlier-than-expected departure from the bank.

Is only di Bank know ??

TIRED of him now. Everyday he's in the news, one day he claims he can't get work because of BNS. But if he keeps making public all this nonsence, who the hell is going to employ him.

Bill - listen to me, if you want housekeepers and gardeners, pay for that service yuhself, or betta yet, do it yourself!

Knew Bill was stubborn and had a hell of an ego, but this is really something else.

Man say him in financial distress. Maybe he was a late investor in OLINT LOL

Hold on.. yuh know who Bill Clarke is ??

Yuh waan fling Royalty in among the masses ?

Unnuh not reasonable at all..

I don't know the details. I don't know who else does. Do you?

And of that $5.5M I wonder how much the security guard, the housekeepers and the gardeners actually received!? If dem pull down 1/10th of that, combined, dem lucky!

June 30th Observer: 'I can't get a job,' says Bill Clarke

'I can't get a job,' says Bill Clarke (dat's because you're in the news too damn much)
                    Clarke says case embarrassing

By PAUL HENRY, Observer staff reporter henryp@jamaicaobserver.com
                    Tuesday, June 30, 2009

WILLIAM 'Bill' Clarke, one of the island's most accomplished banking executives, says he is unable to secure employment and is being "ruined economically" as a result of his highly publicised and contentious split with the Bank of Nova Scotia last year.

CLARKE. I am being ruined economically
                    Clarke, the former chief executive officer and president of the Jamaican arm of the bank, groused at length about not being able to meet his "financial obligations" in an affidavit filed with the Court of Appeal in May in which he begged the court to move "expeditiously" to hear his appeal against a Supreme Court ruling over his row with the bank regarding his retirement package.

The appeal is scheduled for today.
                    ".the matter in which the respondent [Scotia Bank] has dealt with my retirement has caused embarrassment to my family and as there is an impression that I have been dismissed for misconduct... this is already affecting any opportunity that I would have to obtain employment in Jamaica, the Caribbean and North America," Clarke said in his affidavit under a section titled, 'Embarrassment and being ruined'. "In the circumstances, I would ask that the matter be resolved expeditiously by the court to reduce the emotional pain that my family and I are now enduring."

Clarke added: "Since November 1, 2008, I have not been paid by the respondent and I am not in receipt of a pension nor have I been employed or been able to secure employment with the result that I am now not able to afford my financial obligations and as a result I am being ruined economically."

Clarke retired from the bank on November 1 last year after 40 years, but later took legal action against the institution after negotiations about a possible retirement package broke down.

But Justice Horace Marsh of the Supreme Court refused an application by Clarke for the impasse over the retirement package to be sent to arbitration and ruled that Clarke vacate the Scotia-owned upper St Andrew home which he had occupied for the past 13 years as chief executive of the institution. Marsh also ruled that Clarke return the two high-end vehicles belonging to Scotia.

Clarke, however, appealed the decision and got a stay of execution allowing him to keep the vehicles and remain in the house - which has served as home to the bank's managing directors and chief executive officers for the past 35 years - pending the outcome of the appeal.
                    Clarke said that under the terms of the bank's employment, he was not due to retire until December 15, 2015 when he turned 65 years old. Clarke said also that on July 16 last year, the board of directors of the bank requested that he go on early retirement on the basis that he would be provided with a fair and equitable retirement package.

In an affidavit filed by Robert H Pitfield, chairman and group head of international banking of Scotia's parent company, Bank of Nova Scotia Limited, Canada, Clarke's misfortune was placed at his own feet.
                    "The bank has done everything under its power to be as discreet as possible with regard to its separation from Mr Clarke," said Pitfield. "The bank has made limited statements and in each case... [has] attempted to protect Mr Clarke's reputation.

"It is in fact Mr Clarke, through his numerous interviews with the media and the filing of the claim herein, who has put his separation in the public arena and subjected himself to public scrutiny," Pitfield charged.

Mi would be happy to now the basic charges.. details would be a plus..

Buss it nuh !

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                        'I can't get a job,' says Bill Clarke
                        Clarke says case embarrassing

WILLIAM 'Bill' Clarke, one of the island's most accomplished banking executives, says he is unable to secure employment and is being "ruined economically" as a result of his highly publicised and contentious split with the Bank of Nova Scotia last year.

In an affidavit filed by Robert H Pitfield, chairman and group head of international banking of Scotia's parent company, Bank of Nova Scotia Limited, Canada, Clarke's misfortune was placed at his own feet.
                        "The bank has done everything under its power to be as discreet as possible with regard to its separation from Mr Clarke," said Pitfield. "The bank has made limited statements and in each case... [has] attempted to protect Mr Clarke's reputation.

"It is in fact Mr Clarke, through his numerous interviews with the media and the filing of the claim herein, who has put his separation in the public arena and subjected himself to public scrutiny," Pitfield charged.
                        The bank is correct!

Clarke added: "Since November 1, 2008, I have not been paid by the respondent and I am not in receipt of a pension nor have I been employed or been able to secure employment with the result that I am now not able to afford my financial obligations and as a result I am being ruined economically."

Him lucky him nuh have mortgage or rent, cause then he'd be homeless and destitute.

Sublet the house Bill, and use the luxury vehicles to run up-scale taxi service

All this and him shoulda never get the wuk inna di fuss place.

Mi have nuh history wid Scotia and can tell yuh that him pass many better people in line fi get dat job.

i wonder how him get it.