Mek di UK Gwey. Fyah pon Heathrow.

• Mek di UK Gwey. Fyah pon Heathrow.

First dem require intransit visa like seh man an man ah terrorist and now dis?

Madrid should be our main European hub! I magine if a Jakan going to Germany pon business, he would need a UK visa and a Schenghen visa, plus pay £100m more as eco-tax????

UK's Air Passenger Duty a threat to Caribbean tourism

Tuesday, June 30, 2009
    Caribbean governments, we believe, have just cause to be angry at Britain's decision to reform that country's Air Passenger Duty (APD) into four bands and increase the tax based on mileage from London to the capital cities of the countries where the fights land.
    The APD - an excise duty charged on the carriage, from a UK airport, of chargeable passengers on chargeable aircraft - will be increased by at least 10 per cent this November and will, we are told, double in some cases by 2010.
    According to Britain's finance minister, Mr Alistair Darling, the APD will be based on four bands set at intervals of 2,000 miles from London.
    Minister Darling is reported by wire services as saying that a second increase in the APD will become effective in December 2010, requiring a non-standard class passenger flying more than 6,000 miles to pay £170 up from the current £80.
    According to Minister Darling, the four-band system will ensure that people who travel further and have a larger environmental impact meet that cost.
    "This will be effective in reducing emissions from aviation," he said.
    Caribbean governments, however, see a flaw in Mr Darling's formula. Because, starting in November, it will cost more to fly from London to this region than, say, to Seattle on the United States west coast, even though the distance between London and many capitals in the Caribbean is shorter than between London and Seattle.
    The reason being that under Mr Darling's formula, Washington D C, the US capital, is the city being used to calculate the tax.
    Last Friday, Jamaica's tourism minister, Mr Ed Bartlett, arguing in this newspaper that the revised APD system is inherently unfair and not the least bit green, asked a very relevant question: "Why should Caribbean countries with relatively low emissions suffer the effects of an environmental tax in favour of the world's biggest polluter?"
    It's a question that Downing Street needs to answer, for based on the increased costs that will be incurred by airline passengers starting in November, there is a strong likelihood that visitor traffic to the Caribbean from England will decrease significantly.
    Data provided by the Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO) shows that travellers from the UK to the Caribbean last year totalled 1.24 million, spending an estimated £1.45 billion.
    Antigua, Barbados, the Dominican Republic and Jamaica, the CTO said, were the top four islands where most money was spent by visitors from the UK.
    That the effects of the global economic crisis on the Caribbean have elevated the importance of tourism to this region is no secret. Therefore, all legitimate efforts to secure foreign exchange inflows have our full support and should, we suggest, be embraced by the peoples of the region.
    As such, we echo the call of Mr Wayne Cummings, the president of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association, for either a reversal of Minister Darling's formula or, at the very least, a fair distribution of the duty. For, as Mr Cummings has argued, if carbon emissions are the real target, then the true distance of each destination from London should figure in the calculation.

The Problem of Language

First dem require intransit visa like seh man an man ah terrorist and now dis?

Madrid should be our main European hub! I magine if a Jakan going to Germany pon business, he would need a UK visa and a Schenghen visa, plus pay £100m more as eco-tax????
    Don’t you see a potential serious language problem if Madrid becomes our main European hub? While every Jamaican will understand a British immigration and customs official, taxi operator, etc., how many Jamaicans can speak or understand Spanish?

By the way, this post brings to my mind one of my first posts when I “rejoined” this forum last July. In that post, I desperately tried to let forumites see that it would be much, much more logical and more beneficial for Jamaicans in this globalized world for us to emphasize the teaching of Spanish in all schools in Jamaica, rather than patois. Among the supports I used in my argument was the fact that we are surrounded by Spanish-speaking nations (Cuba, Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic in the Caribbean, Mexico in North America, six of the seven Central American countries (Belize the only exception), and all South American countries with the exception of Brazil, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana). If we remove the USA and Canada from the picture, population-wise our Spanish-speaking neighbors form the vast majority!

Likewise, for travelers, we will be able to interact much more adequately in an international environment.

Note: I sincerely hope that, by including this flashback in my reply to Willi’s comment on Madrid, I have not unwittingly resumed that vexing patois debate!! This possibility, I can assure you, was certainly not my intention when I raised the issue of Spanish in the paragraphs above!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      Don’t you see a potential serious language problem if Madrid becomes our main European hub? While every Jamaican will understand a British immigration and customs official, taxi operator, etc., how many Jamaicans can speak or understand Spanish?
      I have traveled to countries that chat mandarin, french, dutch, cantonese and yes spanish, and yuh nuh haffi be fluent in dem languages to communicate with a customs official.
      Last edited by Hortical; June 30, 2009, 08:59 AM.

Fire pon dem.

This is a wicked act.

Firstly, all big airports "speak" English and Madrid is no different.

Second, most Jakans can get by with rudimentary Spanish in an emergency.

Third, if you going to continental Europe, you going to be in a non-anglophone environment anyway. If you going to England, you still may save some money avoiding the £100 tax!

Lastly, Jamaican needs urgently to put Spanish on the curriculum from Primary school. We forming the fool there.

TOURISM MUST BE TAUGHT IN SCHOOLS

that must include a second language.

Also, you forget the other directional flow. Is the European tourists that will form the backbone of that hub! They not worried about language.

Right now a lot of people flying out of Europe to the states have to fly to Germany, The Netherland or other countries to get a good deal.

I had relatives in the last year who travel from England and Ireland using connecting flights in other countries to get to the states.

Thank You Very Much!!!

Lastly, Jamaican needs urgently to put Spanish on the curriculum from Primary school. We forming the fool there.
                  Originally posted by Assasin
                  TOURISM MUST BE TAUGHT IN SCHOOLS

that must include a second language.
                  Thank you both, gentlemen!!

This is precisely what I’ve been saying from Day One!! Spanish MUST be taught in ALL schools in Jamaica, starting at primary level, and without question Tourism should be taught as well, starting too from either primary or else junior high school level.

Looking at the logic and relevance of what you’ve both stated, why on earth can’t the majority of Jamaicans, including our politicians, realize this?!

Not only spanish as when I worked at Halfmoon, germany was taught to a few people as there was a lot of german guest and if you learned that language it was a quick way to get promotion and possible also get in the german exchange program.

I would assume it is the same thing for the spanish hotels and the hotels visited by the french canadians. learning these languages mean the kids are more likely to be employed by these hotels and better themselves.

Re: Spanish

Not only spanish as when I worked at Halfmoon, germany was taught to a few people as there was a lot of german guest and if you learned that language it was a quick way to get promotion and possible also get in the german exchange program.

I would assume it is the same thing for the spanish hotels and the hotels visited by the french canadians. learning these languages mean the kids are more likely to be employed by these hotels and better themselves.
                      Good point, Assasin, although I tend to mention Spanish because of the incredibly large numbers of people who speak Spanish worldwide. As you know, Spanish is not merely spoken by nationals from Spain, but also from the vast former Spanish New World colonies (Mexico, Central America, South America and three nations in the Caribbean).

If tourism is logically expanded to include more of our neighbors to the south, then we’ll have vastly more Spanish-speaking tourists entering Jamaica (Venezuelans, Colombians, Peruvians, etc.). In addition, in travelling to nearby USA, Spanish will be the second most common language they will discover. So, my selection of Spanish is for really practical purposes only.