Black ... and ugly
Published: Monday | June 29, 2009
Martin Henry's Sunday Gleaner piece, 'The brown man wins' (June 21), opened up a flood of memories, impressions and feelings of sadness for my Jamaican people. If I could alter my appearance, the one thing that I would never change is the colour of my skin. Sadly, this is not true for many other Jamaicans. I strongly believe that this lack of pride in self has contributed greatly to our social problems.
People who have a healthy love and respect for themselves and their fellow man cannot exploit their brothers and sisters or watch them suffer or steal from and murder them (especially those suffering under the same socio-economic trials and tribulations). This hate (of their own dark skin, painful circumstances and frustration) becomes projected on to others and makes it easy to lash out at them. I believe that this is one reason why many people in the poorer communities fight among themselves instead of cooperating for the good of all.
Significant handicap
Many see a dark skin colour as a significant handicap. After listening to me deliver the eulogy at the funeral of a family friend, a (very senior) patient of mine, who is also a life-long, committed Christian and an avid churchgoer stopped me as I exited the church. She wanted to tell me that she thought that I was doing well in spite of my obvious colour 'handicap'. She meant well when she tried to praise me and blurted out excitedly (in front of two of her sons - who were professionals and of the same hue as the rest of us), "Although yuh black and ugly, continue to hold up yuh head!" She went on to say how proud she was of me.
The words 'black' and 'ugly' were inexorably linked by people of a bygone era, so much so that it became one term, 'black and ugly'. To their generation, black was ugly so one could not be black without being ugly.
An intent to insult
Subsequent generations don't use the term 'black and ugly' unless there is an intent to insult. However, just below the surface is a feeling that black is still indeed ugly. This explains the persistent and unabashed use of dangerous skin- bleaching agents among so many young people. This accounts for the silent admiration of those 'fortunate' enough to be 'clear-skinned' - and, therefore, more likely to cop better mates and opportunities in life.
This skin colour problem is not an imaginary one. Many Jamaicans are more likely to accept leadership (at the job and even in the political arena) from someone with a fairer skin. When clients/customers see that a business
employs a 'white-looking' worker in a supervisory role (of course), it is perceived as 'progress'. And, the workers are much more likely to obey such an individual unless he/she has strong negative personality traits or if jealousy and/or if reverse racism comes into play.
I long for the time when we see the true beauty within us. Hopefully, then we will love one another and all this aggression and hate will be a bad memory.
Inspiration
As for the inspiration for Martin's article: When the People's National Party remonstrated about the dual citizenship thing way back in 2007; they should have planned well ahead and began working within the constituency by installing someone significant to challenge the Jamaica Labour Party's member of parliament. The 11th-hour choice of 'disposable candidates' was silly. It serves them right but (unfortunately) serves us wrong. It's not (politically) healthy to give any one party such a feeling of invulnerability.
Garth A. Rattray is a medical doctor with a family practice. Feedback may be sent to garthrattray@gmail.com or columns@gleanerjm.com.
Published: Monday | June 29, 2009
Martin Henry's Sunday Gleaner piece, 'The brown man wins' (June 21), opened up a flood of memories, impressions and feelings of sadness for my Jamaican people. If I could alter my appearance, the one thing that I would never change is the colour of my skin. Sadly, this is not true for many other Jamaicans. I strongly believe that this lack of pride in self has contributed greatly to our social problems.
People who have a healthy love and respect for themselves and their fellow man cannot exploit their brothers and sisters or watch them suffer or steal from and murder them (especially those suffering under the same socio-economic trials and tribulations). This hate (of their own dark skin, painful circumstances and frustration) becomes projected on to others and makes it easy to lash out at them. I believe that this is one reason why many people in the poorer communities fight among themselves instead of cooperating for the good of all.
Significant handicap
Many see a dark skin colour as a significant handicap. After listening to me deliver the eulogy at the funeral of a family friend, a (very senior) patient of mine, who is also a life-long, committed Christian and an avid churchgoer stopped me as I exited the church. She wanted to tell me that she thought that I was doing well in spite of my obvious colour 'handicap'. She meant well when she tried to praise me and blurted out excitedly (in front of two of her sons - who were professionals and of the same hue as the rest of us), "Although yuh black and ugly, continue to hold up yuh head!" She went on to say how proud she was of me.
The words 'black' and 'ugly' were inexorably linked by people of a bygone era, so much so that it became one term, 'black and ugly'. To their generation, black was ugly so one could not be black without being ugly.
An intent to insult
Subsequent generations don't use the term 'black and ugly' unless there is an intent to insult. However, just below the surface is a feeling that black is still indeed ugly. This explains the persistent and unabashed use of dangerous skin- bleaching agents among so many young people. This accounts for the silent admiration of those 'fortunate' enough to be 'clear-skinned' - and, therefore, more likely to cop better mates and opportunities in life.
This skin colour problem is not an imaginary one. Many Jamaicans are more likely to accept leadership (at the job and even in the political arena) from someone with a fairer skin. When clients/customers see that a business
employs a 'white-looking' worker in a supervisory role (of course), it is perceived as 'progress'. And, the workers are much more likely to obey such an individual unless he/she has strong negative personality traits or if jealousy and/or if reverse racism comes into play.
I long for the time when we see the true beauty within us. Hopefully, then we will love one another and all this aggression and hate will be a bad memory.
Inspiration
As for the inspiration for Martin's article: When the People's National Party remonstrated about the dual citizenship thing way back in 2007; they should have planned well ahead and began working within the constituency by installing someone significant to challenge the Jamaica Labour Party's member of parliament. The 11th-hour choice of 'disposable candidates' was silly. It serves them right but (unfortunately) serves us wrong. It's not (politically) healthy to give any one party such a feeling of invulnerability.
Garth A. Rattray is a medical doctor with a family practice. Feedback may be sent to garthrattray@gmail.com or columns@gleanerjm.com.