• Madoff Gets 150 Years

Bernard Madoff gets maximum 150 years in prison

NEW YORK – Bernard Madoff has been sentenced to the maximum 150 years in prison for his multibillion-dollar fraud scheme. U.S. District Judge Denny Chin handed down the sentence in New York on Monday.
    Defense attorneys had sought 12 years, while prosecutors wanted the maximum. The federal probation department had recommended 50 years. Chin called the fraud "staggering" and noted that it spanned more than 20 years. He says "the breach of trust was massive."
    The 71-year-old former Nasdaq chairman pleaded guilty to securities fraud and other charges in March and has been jailed since.

Have no problem with his sentence .. he deserves to die in prison.

Wow, thank God you are not God. But I do understand your stance as a lot of people suffered form his deception while he and his family enjoyed their ill gotten gain.

Do not eff with God's chosen people... or dem money..

Dem have 'Wrath of God' money.

Wow, thank God you are not God. But I do understand your stance as a lot of people suffered form his deception while he and his family enjoyed their ill gotten gain.
          Stanford, Carlos Hill and all the others should get lengthy prison terms if found guilty.

Dem man deh cyaan test Omar Davis...

Have no problem with his sentence .. he deserves to die in prison.
              2nd that Lazie. He doesn't deserve to see the light of day.

The analysts on CNBC bring up a decent point though. They say that by giving him 150 years now the state has no real bargaining power to get Madoff to cooperate down the road. Seeing how it would be impossible for this scam to have just involved Madoff in an office by himself.

He is definitely protecting his kids at minimum by taking the fall. I would not be suprised in the least if there were others outside the family (like his fund to fund manager friends) who were involved, if implicated by Madoff, would take down his sons as well.

Right now he is being a protective dad. 5 years down the road his tune could change when you dangle a reduced sentence in his face for full disclosure. Now the state doesn't have that option.

The judge clearly judged (ha! I am so clever!) that sending a message was more important than untangling this web. Can't blame him either way.

Btw anybody seen Scaly since Madoff get exposed?

Steve jobs returned to work today they just reported. Damn...I bought a few contract puts for Apple in thinking that Jobs would be unable to continue his work over the next year and the stock price would drop. - T.K.

They should use the sentence as a bargaining chip to repay the people their money. If he repays all debts give a 10 year sentence instead.

Well the Feds have said he has not said anyting in regards to the scandal and he has taken full responsibility. I believe the Feds have tried, but he is unwilling to cooperate with the authorities. 150 years is appropriate.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    Well the Feds have said he has not said anyting in regards to the scandal and he has taken full responsibility. I believe the Feds have tried, but he is unwilling to cooperate with the authorities. 150 years is appropriate.
                    They need to start targeting his wife, sons and those who worked closely (with /for/ under) him.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                      Yes you are correct on all counts. 150 years and 150 lashes would do him well. Some people need flogging.

Just to argue the other side of it....Today he is a protective father......come 2014 he could have a falling out with his family and/or friends. For someone who loves the finest and most expensive things in life, 5 years in the slammer with Bubba could make a man pretty jaded and bitter. I think by giving him 150 years the judge has taken a tool away from the state for getting at the other co-conspirators. - T.K.