but HARD!!!
I SHALL RISE, AND YOU CANNOT STOP ME - Have a read, HL!
Originally posted by Peter R View PostThis is a story that warms my heart... did Wignall make this up?
One point that struck me ( no backhand slap Sickko) is the fact that he "failed" the Common Entrance twice!
Next thing is the allusion to the "old boys" club that UWI seems to be...
CE is overrated and archaic! Mr. Minister, please have the vision and balls to change, revamp our educational system. UWI...clean up your act!
The first order of business is to clean up those two backward political parties holding back Jamaica.
UWI can come lata.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Lazie View PostKarl, I'm not afraid to say what I think, irrespective of who want to disagree, but please don't twist my words. The abundance of talent myth that we've disagreed over is regarding football, nothing else.
Today?
I have claimed there is an 'abundance of talent'...period! I have tied it to each persons ability to learn given right environment/'good teaching'. What the hell you think football is but another 'subject'?
Massa - 'Talent abounds'! ...granted in physical activity being 'athletic' counts.
I hope you are not going to now claim we are nation with small number of persons with inherent 'good athletic ability'?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Maudib View PostSuh Mutty was on point ?
LOL !
Part of the problem... not part of the solution.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Nah man, Buckley is well known in Jakan Actuarial circles. Heard about him when he got the FullBright Scholarship.
UNC-Chapel Hill is highly rated, but is NOT Ivy-League. No State Schools (or Sectarian Schools) are in the Ivy-League.
Of course talent abouds, but why YUh mention the new Minister who on the job for 2 years?
This is going back DECADES! Also the quality of teachers have gone DOWN since Buckley days.
If the teacher dem nuh ready, how you expect them to help the deprived students?
KARL, done with the jingoism and start engage yuh brain as to how we can fix this. Its a real problem for all of us...if we mean Jamaica any good.
Yuh start off nice and then mess up.
The system cracked. What dem call teachers nowadays is by and large NOT what me and you had back in the day. The standard drop big time and that needs fixing first.
The nose in the air argument is better pointed at the stupid "uptown mentality" that pervades Kingston!
Now that I see TVJ via the internet, it shocked me what is going on in Jamdung. The adverts (showing wonderful life for the few priviliged uptown kids) while the majority of our kids live in a state of privation is hard to take. Also the twanging that goes on in most commercials (normally phone companies - thus not actually productive enterprises) sicks me to the stomach. Is like seh we are a bad copy of America to raaganaut!
Is pure 'top up cell phone minutes' and lotto type prizes for 'topping up' mi si. If not that then its Singer and Courts chance to win something if you buyt more...As for the Digicel Rising Stars, them mek American Idol look real professional and talented!!!
Poor Jamaica, so far from God, so close to the United States!