Good post, Jangle!

Since signing on to the forum this morning, I was sort of waiting to see if anyone would open a new thread to pay tribute to Michael Jackson. I left work yesterday before the news broke, so I was not online. This morning I read the posts, however, I think the greatness of the man's life deserves more than just the simple one-liners of regret at his passing.
    I agree with your views in the post you made (I simply quoted the first few sentences here because it wasn’t necessary for me to re-post/quote everything again). There indeed should have been a thread solely for the purpose of paying tribute to this megastar and outstanding human being!

Bad was foolishness though...it lacked credibility.

Imagine MJ go down ah Jungle go chuck badniss. Dem woulda laff after him. LoL

I beg to differ bredrin, Bad was not foolishness...it was just genius all over again. MJ never stopped reinventing new and different ways to thrill us! Loved it all.

Though I loved him and all his recordings dearly, it feels like I'm committing a crime to only pick a few. However, here's mine in no particular order...Thriller, Beat It, Billie Jean, Ben, Dirty Diana, Don't stop till you get enough, Black or White, She's out of my life, Human nature, man in the Mirror, The Earth song, and We are the World!!

My favourite MJ tunes were done with the J-5; anyone of them...maybe because when they had become big MJ was only a year younger than me and i just couldn't imagine how a 10 yr old could do the things he was doing and had achieved such fame.

Here's an honourable mention..My wife loves this tune and plays it every time we have a "lime":

-Happy

and this one:

-Got to be there

I tend to feel the same. I see a lot of people naming the "new" songs. Maybe dem just young!

Those 2 you named are classics! Well, aren't they all!

Thats the thing though. I grew up on J-5 albums being played in my house so they remind me of that early childhood period in my life. The thing with Thriller on the other hand was that you could see how much it changed everything. Youngsters today would find it difficult to imagine Jamaica, the land of reggae and a new sound called dancehall not really accepted by radio yet, with so many kids dressed up as breakdancers, watching Beat Street, etc. I remember I had some cousins who lived in "town" that I spent an entire summer with and they played Thriller maybe 10 times a day the whole summer. I cannot even remember which reggae song was popular among teenagers that summer. Now in retrospect I like the Off The Wall album more than Thriller, more my kind of music. But the impact of Thriller is hard to describe. You would have to have been there as they say.

Then the whole music brand new music video thing. I guess there were videos before Billy Jean , Beat It and Thriller, but I cannot remember any of them.

Yuh ole, I-man! Face it!

I remember some music videos by the Carpenters. (Half a unnu saying, WHO?!?) But clearly, MJ took it to another level, of course.

Eventually though, I got a little tiyad of those 10 minute music videos, the little movies. Thriller music video is a classic, of course, but the other little music documentaries were too much!

Yuh ole, I-man! Face it!

I remember some music videos by the Carpenters. (Half a unnu saying, WHO?!?) But clearly, MJ took it to another level, of course.

Eventually though, I got a little tiyad of those 10 minute music videos, the little movies. Thriller music video is a classic, of course, but the other little music documentaries were too much!
                    Sorry, the video for remember the times was an excellent video.

Or maybe a little younger. Honestly, I don't remember any video , in the modern sense of music videos, before MJ. I remember some people dancing in a room with some fixtures around them but thats about it.

Where you watched those Carpenter videos, JBC? Or you had access to satellite dish from those days?

That was good, but I don't remember it being a little movie. It had some non-singing parts, but I think it was within my limits!

JBC! Never had a dish, even though, I say with pride, my father contributed to the development of that very device!

Wow, thats impressive. In academia or R&D with a corporation?

(Blushing) R&D, I guess. Worked with Jamintel, but parter of a larger world group that created the protocols for personal satellite transmission and reception.

But remember, this thread is about MJ!

Well you almost hijack it it mentioning the Carpenters...dat gyal had a haunting voice...another example of tragedy in the world of entertainment and music that touched many (?) of us.