• PM: Stimulus package to help region

PM: Stimulus package to help region

- Jamaica energy link - Grenada aircraft facility - St Vincent ship facility - Dominica quarry deal

by Ria Taitt Political Editor

Thursday, June 25th 2009

catching up: Prime Minister Patrick Manning, right, and Attorney General John Jeremie during yesterday's sitting of Parliament at the Red House in Port of Spain. -Photo: CURTIS CHASE

Prime Minister Patrick Manning yesterday announced an economic stimulus package designed to strengthen economic development in selected Caricom countries and to usher in a new regime of economic co-operation between Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Dominica, Grenada and St Vincent and the Grenadines.
    Manning did so in a statement in the House of Representatives, shortly after the laying of the Task Force Report on the Trinidad and Tobago-Eastern Caribbean Integration Initiative.
    He stressed that all the initiatives "being contemplated" were all in the interest of Trinidad and Tobago's economic development, as well as that of the region.
    "These activities are contemplated not at the expense of the people of Trinidad and Tobago, but... would be complementary to our own domestic requirements to the extent that we can see, not just economic prosperity in one country as is the case in Trinidad and Tobago today, but economic prosperity in the entire area," the prime minister stated.
    The first initiative involves the establishment of energy links between Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica. It would entail Trinidad and Tobago exporting gas to Jamaica (for use in the conversion of bauxite into alumina). Trinidad and Tobago would also enter into a "guaranteed arrangement with Jamaica" for the import of alumina from that country for use in aluminium smelter plants here. This, Manning said, "would ensure that Jamaica is able to earn substantial foreign exchange and reduce the imbalance in trade between Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago". He added that this energy link was the "dream of Eric Williams and Michael Manley, among others".

The second project, Manning announced, was the establishment by Trinidad and Tobago, via Caribbean Airlines, of an aircraft maintenance facility in Grenada to maintain Caribbean Airlines' aircraft, as well as the aircraft of other carriers.
    "You will remember that BWIA had developed a tremendous capability in this regard.... The time has come, we believe, to reopen this facility...not here in Trinidad, but in Grenada where we have one of the longest runways in the Caribbean, which lends itself naturally to an activity of this nature," he said.
    He said the feasibility of this idea was being examined.
    The third initiative was the establishment of a similar maintenance facility for ships by Trinidad and Tobago in St Vincent and the Grenadines, to service Trinidad and Tobago vessels, as well as other vessels.
    Noting that Trinidad and Tobago was buying a lot of naval assets, Manning said: "We have fast-ferry boats in Tobago, we have water taxis, we have military boats that are being bought, and we need access to a ship-maintenance facility."
    Pointing out that there was a "very small" facility in St Vincent and the Grenadines, the prime minister said "the opportunity presents itself...to expand the size considerably, giving St Vincent and the Grenadians a new area for economic development and, therefore, significant revenue earnings".
    Manning's fourth initiative entailed the negotiation of an arrangement for investing in quarrying facilities in Dominica. The facility would supply aggregate for Trinidad and Tobago. Manning stated that with the accelerated infrastructure development and specifically its highway construction, which starts next year, "the domestic demand for aggregate would outstrip the local supply".
    Rather than continue to import aggregate "as we now do from as far afield as Canada"...one opportunity that, therefore, presents itself could be, in collaboration with an efficient quarry operator, to invest in quarrying facilities in Dominica and, therefore, give that country a new area for economic growth and development and job creation, Manning said.
    Manning also said this country had been able to secure the agreement of Caricom countries to enter into a partial-scope agreement with the US on energy products, aimed at ensuring guaranteed market access to the output of this country's energy sector and to also secure guaranteed market access for the Eastern Caribbean in the United States.
    "These are initiatives being contemplated by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, and we propose to enter into appropriate discussions with the governments concerned to see if these approaches are acceptable to them," Manning said.
    He added that Trinidad and Tobago would continue to examine the regional situation to determine areas in which its intervention could improve the lives of Caribbean peoples, including its (Trinidad and Tobago's) own citizens.
    Manning also reiterated statements made at the People's National Movement special convention on Sunday that it was in Trinidad and Tobago's interest to assist the region to develop economic activity.
    "To avoid the introduction of undesirable activities in the Caribbean, it is clear that the Government of Trinidad and Tobago has to act and act as decisively as we can," he said.
    As Manning delivered his statement, United National Congress MP Dr Tim Gopeesingh shouted across the floor, "Godfather of the Caribbean."
    Tabaquite MP Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj asked: "What about crime?"
    Oropouche MP Roodial Moonilal quipped: "He (Manning) want to take over from Chavez."

I don't trust him. Someting wong!

Where him to get bauxite fi him plant ??

Nutting wrong... him simply looking out for the interests of Trinidad..

This recession is probably di best ting dat coulda happen fi Jamaica !

Jamaica needs to pull out of this Caricom nonsense!

We should adopt the Bahamas stance...pick and choose what we sign up for. I dont see this helping Jamaica at present.

Time fi jump ship!

Either we become a Federal case or we opt out. This halfway house is killing us.

Manning think that this gesture that he reneged on before will soften us up to keep the HUGE trade imbalance going. 3 card man.

Jamaica does not need charity, it needs our people to get serious and organize ourselves for success.

exactly! how come all of a sudden manning him suh nice?

Manning think that this gesture that he reneged on before will soften us up to keep the HUGE trade imbalance going. 3 card man.

Jamaica does not need charity, it needs our people to get serious and organize ourselves for success.
              so why jamaica nuh go an import goods from other countires eh ... and stop import from trinidad ... i want to see jamaica pull out and make it on its own like you all did last time ... always trying to mash things up like you all did with the WI federation .... but let me tell you this it will be no " i from ten leaves zero" caricom will live on....

Because the Caricom single marketTreaty demands that we do. I thought you knew that!!!!

I wish Caricom well, but that does not mean Jamaica needs to be in it.

I could support full federation, but not this samfie half hearted claptrap we have at the moment.

Mash up things??? Who reneged on the gas deal with Portia????

You think everybody born big?

On the contrary.. leverage this to build the LNG facility then leverage that facility for a Industrial Park.. the Port Equival Industrial Park plan can finally get off the ground using the LNG facililty as the launch pad..

We have to obtain a cheap energy source so we can not make the same mistakes with the massive limestone reservers that we did with Bauxite..

One we have the cheap energy we have an argument for setting up the value add production processes on the Limestone here in Jamaica..

Our Limestone reserves dwarf Bauxite...

This will also start the process of replacing the old JPS diesel turbines with LNG turbines which are renewable supply variablitly (wind, solar) friendly..

Our Limestone reserves dwarf Bauxite...
                    wait till John Maxwell hear bout dis!

Cheap? For how long.

Di man dem will have wi hostage and change dem mind at any minit. Perfidious Albion.

Yuh can trust them after their stunt in 2006? Tan deh!

Wi need fi realize that Jamdung has no "friends". Its all about self interest. So di game play.

do we have a contract with Trinidad ?

What do you mean 'change their mind at any time' ???

this wouldn't happen if Samuda never call them out.

Them realise now that they could lose one of their biggest markets.

you stay deh.

Trinidad don't want give nobody energy.

Instead of been helpful to us, why not make one good and competive price for all of Caricom?

Only because Bruce and Samuda called them out and they have no answer.

Hurricane come blow down yard who give alluyuh money , mi wonder hwo much aid trinidad give ja as a matter of fact ... again you all man ah just talk why not blame the other island also ... is not trinidad fualt you all have leaders who cyar lead