Building an economic model on debt rescheduling is flawed and extremely dangerous

• Building an economic model on debt rescheduling is flawed and extremely dangerous

<H2></H2>

Opposition spokesman on finance, Audley Shaw, has said that one of the central tenets of the Jamaica Labour Party’s (JLP) macro-economic policies will be a reduction of the debt to gross domestic product (GDP) ratio from the current level of 130 per cent through multilateral debt rescheduling. However, we believe that this is an extremely flawed and dangerous assumption, which could have a negative impact on investor confidence.

Shaw’s statement also conveys a lack of understanding of the structure of the country’s debt, as well as how the international financial system operates.

An examination of the structure of the country’s debt indicates that over 50 per cent of the external debt is owed to private individuals and institutional investors, while the remainder is owed to multilateral and bilateral sources.

The multilateral institutions, which Jamaica owe are the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), World Bank and the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB). The country has already fully discharged its liabilities to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), and currently does not have a borrowing relationship with that agency. It is also instructive to note that the bulk of Jamaica’s debt is owed to local institutions and individuals.

Data
    Data provided by the Ministry of Finance and Planning indicate that as at the end of August 2006, the public debt stood at $884.4 billion or almost 130 per cent of GDP, with the external portion at $370.6 billion and the internal debt at $513.8 billion. This is a big jump of $42 billion compared with the total debt stock of $842 billion as at the end of January 2006, when the external debt stood at $352.6 billion and the internal debt at $489.6 billion.

Against this background, it is clear that the country’s internal debt is a bigger problem than the external debt, therefore the focus on the external debt is misguided, particularly since Jamaica does not qualify under the current multilateral debt rescheduling initiatives.

The current multilateral debt rescheduling initiative is mainly directed at the world’s most highly indebted poor countries (HIPC) with per capita GDP of US$380 and debt to revenue ratios of 250 per cent and above. Jamaica’s per capita income is currently US$4,000, while its debt to revenue ratio is about 240 per cent. This initiative was first proposed by former British Prime Minister John Major and agreed upon at a summit meeting of the Group of Seven held in Lyon, France in 1996.

The initiative was, however, revised at the G7 meeting held in Cologne, Germany in 1999 and extended four times. A total of about 50 countries, particularly those in Sub-Saharan Africa are eligible to benefit from this initiative, which is expected to lead to a US$61-billion reduction in the debts of the countries which qualify.

Although Jamaica has one of the highest debt to GDP ratios in the world, the country does not qualify for debt relief under this initiative because the multilateral agencies, as a rule, do not reschedule the debts of middle-income countries such as Jamaica because their interest rates are already very low.

It is, therefore, against this background that we contend that Shaw could use his time more productively by developing strategies to rationalise, re-engineer and re-energise the public sector in order to reduce the cost of running the government. This would contribute to a reduction of the fiscal deficit.

Reducing the fiscal deficit as a percentage of GDP is of paramount importance to the slashing of the country’s debt burden and by extension interest rates, leading to the generation of higher levels of economic growth and employment on a sustainable basis. The debt is an accumulation of fiscal deficits over the years, therefore in order to reduce the debt to GDP ratio we must eliminate the fiscal deficit and drive growth. The talk of multilateral debt rescheduling can attract a lot of traction and sound bites on the campaign trail, but this argument will be dismissed as heres

RE: Building an economic model on debt rescheduling is flawed and extremely dangerous

Yuh ever hear a man boast seh him pay off him '2% rate credit card' debt by using his '15% rateCard' ?

Eidda dem mad or dem tink seh we mad or both.

Mi know mi nuh mad.

RE: Building an economic model on debt rescheduling is flawed and extremely dangerous

Cho man! Mi put it out deh fi Jawge and Sickko dem attack it, now dem see yuh post, dem ago back off. The article was written by Ralston Hyman, host of Real Business. What I find strange is that he has always knocked the high level of the national debt and how it needs addressing.

A few months ago Shaw was on the program after meeting with reps from some mulilateral institutions, and he had put forward this proposal from then and Ralston fully agreed with it. Why the sudden change, I'm very much curious.There are debts on the books at very high rates, it appears Mr. Hyman forget that.

Lazie (11/21/2006)Cho man! Mi put it out deh fi Jawge and Sickko dem attack it, now dem see yuh post, dem ago back off. The article was written by Ralston Hyman, host of Real Business. What I find strange is that he has always knocked the high level of the national debt and how it needs addressing.

A few months ago Shaw was on the program after meeting with reps from some mulilateral institutions, and he had put forward this proposal from then and Ralston fully agreed with it. Why the sudden change, I'm very much curious.There are debts on the books at very high rates, it appears Mr. Hyman forget that.
        Ralston may be taking out of two sides of his mouth (taking Lazie's report of his words on his radio program as gospel)...but, hewould be consistent that the debt must be reduced.

...and, what would be wrong withattempts to re-schedule some portion of our debt and at the same time make 'running/making government more efficient' &amp; encouraging growth?

Why is it we Jamaicans- both when taking about our football...and, every other thing under thhe Sun - believe we must do only one good thing at a time? Jeeeeezaaaassssss? Not even our bodies function by heart beating and lungs and every other part taking a rest! It must be...it damn well must be that we use division of labour and do all thegood and necessary things all at the same time!!!!!

Do i have to say it again?

OK!Jeeeeezaaaassssss? Not even our bodies function by heart beating and lungs and every other part taking a rest! It must be...it damn well must be that we use division of labour and do all thegood and necessary things all at the same time!!!!!

Again?

OK! Jeeeeezaaaassssss? Not even our bodies function by heart beating and lungs and every other part taking a rest! It must be...it damn well must be that we use division of labour and do all thegood and necessary things all at the same time!!!!!......

Karl whats the problem? Yuh either stammer or yuh keyboard stuck.

Yuh intend to backtrack? Are you agreeing with Shaw's idea? Sounds so to me.

Debt rescheduling is just one part of going forward. It can't be discounted but as the write say the GDP have to grow and that means Jamaican workers have to be more productive and we have to sell more things Jamaican. Didn't Shaw also say he would use the Petro Caribe money to pay down some a the debt? In we can get it down to 100% of GDP would show a good turn around and if interest rate go in the lower teens then that would be a catalyst for growth.

Lazie (11/21/2006)Karl whats the problem? Yuh either stammer or yuh keyboard stuck.

Yuh intend to backtrack? Are you agreeing with Shaw's idea? Sounds so to me.
              Lazie: The more important thing first - I also agree with the sensible options put forward by either party. [ Not like you who only agree with those put forward by the JLP! ]

Shaw only has it half-right!

Karl (11/21/2006)

Lazie: The more important thing first - I also agree with the sensible options put forward by either party. [ Not like you who only agree with those put forward by the JLP! ]

Shaw only has it half-right!
                Laughable!Lazie evaluate what is being proposed by all sides. Lets give you an example; Paulwell wanted to give the Cement Companya monopoly, the JLP objected, giving reasons why irt shouldn't be done. What was the eventual outcome? Who was right?