RE: Seinfeld fans did any of you see Kramer's racist outburst?
Also if you want to read about it:
<H4>Richards Apologizes for Racial Slurs</H4><H5>By LYNN ELBER, AP Television Writer</H5><P class=dateline><SCRIPT type=text/javascript>document.write(getElapsed("2006112 1T044523Z"));</SCRIPT>1 hour ago<NOSCRIPT>UPDATED 37 MINUTES AGO</NOSCRIPT>
LOS ANGELES - Michael Richards said Monday he spewed racial epithets during a stand-up comedy routine because he lost his cool while being heckled and not because he's a bigot.
"For me to be at a comedy club and flip out and say this crap, I'm deeply, deeply sorry," the former "Seinfeld" co-star said during a satellite appearance for David Letterman's "Late Show" in New York.
"I'm not a racist. That's what's so insane about this," Richards said, his tone becoming angry and frustrated as he defended himself. A clip from the show played on CBS before the "Late Show" aired Monday night.
Richards described himself as going into "a rage" over the two audience members who interrupted his act Friday at the Laugh Factory in West Hollywood. Richards responded to the black hecklers with repeated use of the "n word" and profanities.
Jerry Seinfeld, who had issued a statement saying he was "sick over this horrible, horrible mistake" and calling it offensive, was scheduled as a Letterman guest Monday. He encouraged Richards to make a satellite appearance to talk about the incident, a CBS publicist said.
Richards deserved the chance to apologize, Seinfeld said on the "Late Show." Seinfeld said, "He's someone that I love, and I know how shattered he is about" the incident.
At one point, however, Richards grew flustered and expressed second thoughts about appearing on the "Late Show" when his use of the term "Afro-American" proved funny to some audience members.
"I'm hearing your audience laugh, and I'm not even sure that this is where I should be addressing the situation," he said in a tape of his appearance shown by CBS to reporters.
Richards, 57, who played Seinfeld's eccentric neighbor Kramer on the hit 1989-98 sitcom and whose major credit since was a failed 2000 comedy, hadn't spoken publicly about his remarks before "Late Show." Calls to his representatives were not returned Monday.
His onstage remarks were condemned by industry colleagues.
Comedian Paul Rodriguez, who was at the Laugh Factory during Richards' performance, said he was shocked.
"Once the word comes out of your mouth and you don't happen to be African-American, then you have a whole lot of explaining," Rodriguez told CNN. "Freedom of speech has its limitations and I think Michael Richards found those limitations."
His Laugh Factory tirade began after the two clubgoers shouted at him that he wasn't funny. Video of the incident was posted on TMZ.com.
Richards retorted: "Shut up! Fifty years ago we'd have you upside down with a f------ fork up your a--."
He then paced across the stage taunting the men for interrupting his show, peppering his speech with racial slurs and profanities.
"You can talk, you can talk, you're brave now mother------. Throw his a-- out. He's a n-----!" Richards shouts before repeating the racial epithet over and over again.
Moderating his tone at one point, Richards tells the audience, "It shocks you, it shocks you" and refers to "what lays buried."
While there is some chuckling in the audience throughout the outburst, someone can be heard gasping "Oh my God" and people respond with "ooh" after Richards uses the n-word.
Eventually someone calls out: "It's not funny. That's why you're a reject, never had no shows, never had no movies. 'Seinfeld,' that's it."
On Monday, about a half-dozen community activists gathered at the club to denounce Richards' remarks and demand an apology.
"These kind of comments hurt all of us," said protester Lita Sister Herron of the Youth Advocacy Coalition. She called Richards' comments hate speech.
The protesters also demanded an apology from the Laugh Factory. At a news con
<DIV>I don't feel too bad now being the only person in the world who did not like "Seinfeld".</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Racism is alive and well in God-blessed USA! Yes, it was one man talking, but we know the deal. Thanks for the clip TK. I hope HL saw it.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Really good to know what people really feel inside.</DIV>
<DIV>Now this is a joke! They want him to apologize. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Would Hitler have been pardoned if he apologized? Would Saddam have been set free?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>There is no apology need for his remarks. How is that going fix anything? Lucky is not Jamaica. His ass would have been properly Guinessed for those remarks. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>His professional lights just went out. And him lucky is just dat!</DIV>
Mosiah (11/21/2006)<DIV>Now this is a joke! They want him to apologize. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Would Hitler have been pardoned if he apologized? Would Saddam have been set free?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>There is no apology need for his remarks. How is that going fix anything? Lucky is not Jamaica. His ass would have been properly Guinessed for those remarks. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>His professional lights just went out. And him lucky is just dat!</DIV>
Yeah he is finito......While I won't put Kramer on the level of Hitler or Saddam he should step up and apologize which he did. To apologize first on David Letterman however is bizzare. - T.K.
Racism is alive and well in the US
( I can attest to that) even other countries in the world. I can ill afford to let that stop me from functioning or achieving my goals. I laugh at times when I see persons supporting a particular party in the US because they feel there is no racism there. Woooeee, if only they knew.:P
Mosiah (11/21/2006)<DIV>I don't feel too bad now being the only person in the world who did not like "Seinfeld".</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Racism is alive and well in God-blessed USA! Yes, it was one man talking, but we know the deal. Thanks for the clip TK. I hope HL saw it.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Really good to know what people really feel inside.</DIV>
You did not like Seinfeld? Mosiah that is blasphemy! That was funny a$$ show!
Racism is still in the US but it is no where as prevalent as you would like to mislead people tobelieve.
If America was as racist as you said it was why did the white patrons of the laugh factory get up and walk out as the black patrons did? They were just as disgusted. As well the owner of the laugh factoryapologized and refunded everybody their tickets andwhat they paid for drinks. The owner is white.We can't just blanket peoplewith one sweep of the brush.
Now for Krameras a racist.....man I am not ready to label him as yet. I don't think there is a person on planet earth who has ever gone through life and not said something that they oh so wished they could take back. (Rimspost 3:16) What can't be disputed is that he said some racist ignorantcrap. I guess the question is did he say it from the heart or did he say it because he got flustered at being heckled and tried to hurt the hecklers as much as he could to get them to stop. I don't know seeing howI have not heard ofa pattern of racist behavior from himin the past I am inclined to give him the benifit of the doubt until further notice.
In saying that however what he said was horrible andbeing heckled is no excuse for acting like a jackass. Being heckledcomes with theterritory for a comedian and I guarantee you cannot find one comedian who has not been heckled multiple times. It is the nature of the beast.He shouldbe ashamed of himself.- T.K.
Mosiah (11/21/2006)<DIV>Apologize for what, TK? Do you feel better because he apologised? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>For me, he can keep it!</DIV>
Apologize for what he said of course! Listen if you say something that you feel sorry for you should apologize. If you say something that offends another person in such a hurtful manner you should apologize. I understand your point of view however. I don't blame anyone who says he can keep it. That is the price one pays when they act the fool. Not everyone will accept their apology. - T.K.
Bwoy TK, I agree that he doesn't have a history of displaying racist behaviour (at least publicly) but this outburst was as bizzare as I can remember. If nothing else he definately has a dark side.
Its not like the guy was being harassedat say, a basketball game or somewhere like that, he was doing standup comedy at a club! Isn't being heckled par for the course? For his response to be exclusively racial suggests he has some serious issues
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Islandman (11/21/2006)Bwoy TK, I agree that he doesn't have a history of displaying racist behaviour (at least publicly) but this outburst was as bizzare as I can remember. If nothing else he definately has a dark side.
Its not like the guy was being harassedat say, a basketball game or somewhere like that, he was doing standup comedy at a club! Isn't being heckled par for the course? For his response to be exclusively racial suggests he has some serious issues
Bizzare is exactly the word I would use to describe. The guy just snapped at the drop of a hatand flipped out. Yes doing stand-up being heckled is part of the job description. If you can't handle someone heckling you then maybe you should consider other options. I am with you all the way islandman. The guy clearly has some seriousissues. Whether they are strictly racial, strictly psychological or both. I don't know. That is why I said I would give him the benifit of the doubt this time around seeing how he hasnot had a pattern of this typeof behavior before. - T.K.
The attempt to whitewash this blatantly racist outburst is comical at best. This outburst is not bizarre it was a racist outburst period. I suspect some are having a hard time reconciling this outburst with the fact that he played a character that they found funny and liked on TV. Get this, not only did he drop the N-word multiple times but he made fun of the period in American history when blacks were lynched and killed. I suspect that if anyone poked fun at the holocost in the middle of making anti-semetic statements there would be no doubt that he was anti-semetic. Somehow even some blacks bend over giving the benefit of the doubt. Go figure.
If someone tells you who they are beleive them even though it makes enjoying seinfeld reruns uncomfortable.
Rudi (11/21/2006)The attempt to whitewash this blatantly racist outburst is comical at best. This outburst is not bizarre it was a racist outburst period. I suspect some are having a hard time reconciling this outburst with the fact that he played a character that they found funny and liked on TV. Get this, not only did he drop the N-word multiple times but he made fun of the period in American history when blacks were lynched and killed. I suspect that if anyone poked fun at the holocost in the middle of making anti-semetic statements there would be no doubt that he was anti-semetic. Somehow even some blacks bend over giving the benefit of the doubt. Go figure.
If someone tells you who they are beleive them even though it makes enjoying seinfeld reruns uncomfortable.
Rudi stop with the holier than thou act man. If you disagree say so and give your reasons why. Outside of that you need stop with the accusations of whitewashing and bending over. Some blacks will give the benifit of the doubt as some blacks will say he said what he meant and meant what he said. I don't fault either side of the argument in this case. You can make legit points arguing for or against whether you believe Michael Richards is a racist.
What you can't argue isthat what he said was racist.You arespot on.- T.K.
Not trying to be holier than thou bredrin. Sorry if it came accross that way I just dont get the confusion. Ben thinks it warrants investigation as to kramers's thinking. I am sure if someone joked about the murder of homosexuals he would require further investigation to determine if that person was anti-gay. Same way I can see some comic joking about the holocost and I am sure the jury would be out as to his anti-semitism. However " fifty years ago you people would be upside down with afork up your ass" and we are not sure.