Mutabaruka named Artiste-in-Residence at US college

• Mutabaruka named Artiste-in-Residence at US college

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Basil Walters, Observer staff reporter
    Friday, October 20, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=175 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Dub poet and talk show host Mutabaruka</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Well-known poet and talk show host, Mutabaruka, has been invited as an Artiste-in-Residence by Merritt College, in Oakland, California. The college, from which came the Black Panther Party revolutionary movement of the 1960s, has offered the controversial Rastafarian philosopher a semester, beginning April 2007, to lecture students about his poetry, his world view as well as his perspective of black issues.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"They have me an Artiste-in-Residence, effective April of next year," Mutabaruka told Splash. The host of the weekly no-holds-barred Cutting Edge programme on Irie-FM, added: "Dem di offer mi a semesta still, but how dem ah set it up, mi neva really waan stay up deh fi five months. Soh mi tell dem six week is OK, with di intention that mi can go and come from California every week. Is like dem aware ah di Cutting Edge. so dem allow mi dah privilege deh fi fly back and forth."<P class=StoryText align=justify>He further explained that the invitation was born specifically out of the institution's interest - as the alma mater of Black Panther founders, Huey P Newton and Bobby Seale - in the culture of the Caribbean people as well as Africa. No doubt, they were also influenced by the knowledge that one of the founding fathers of Pan-Africanism, Marcus Garvey, came from Jamaica and Stokely Carmichael, a prominent figure in the Black Power movement, was from Trinidad.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Every year dem (Merritt College) carry a group of students down here as well as to Ghana. Here in Jamaica, dem goh BoBo Hill (a Rastafari Camp out by Bull Bay), dem goh Accompong (the Maroon settlement), dem really visit a lot of the indigineous places in Jamaica and dem go Ghana too," Mutabaruka explained.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Some of the teachers dem kinda know of mi work and especially from the movie Sankofa [in which I appeared], because it's a movie weh a lot of schools use fi deal with black issues, legacy, and when it relate to slavery and thing, dem use di movie Sankofa. So dat was one of the movie weh propel we name among the black community and the scholars dem inna America," he added.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Continuing, he said, "Well, these teachers recognised the contribution weh wi mek over the years in terms of poetry and in terms of the part weh wi play inna di movie. So that was the criteria an the basis fi really invite mi to be an Artiste-In-Residence. So wi goin' do it fi six weeks. It's about dub poetry and the issues weh surround it. How it develop, the people dem who mek it and who create it. The idea round it, what create it, what form it, what allow it fi really reach weh it reach, yuh nuh."<P class=StoryText align=justify>But this is nothing new for the artiste born Allan Hope. One of the most toured Jamaican artistes, Mutabaruka did a stint as guest lecturer at the University of the West Indies during his assignment as Folk Philosopher in 2003/2004.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Weh mi really a do a weh mi normally do. Is like, talk to students. Mi used to go to the different schools and talk. The Folk Philosopher was really a title, but before the Folk Philosophy, mi used to goh to different schools and speak. And mi tour a lot to different colleges. I've been to almost every major university in America and talk. I've been to Yale, I've been to Howard, I've been to Boston University, you
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

RE: Mutabaruka named Artiste-in-Residence at US college

More on Muta. . .

Cutting edge of dub

Linton Kwesi Johnson on the spreading influence of Jamaica's poet of protest

Saturday August 27, 2005
    The Guardian

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=140 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD><TD>
    A sense of the theatrical: Mutabaruka
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><DIV id=GuardianArticleBody>Jamaican dub poet Mutabaruka is visiting these shores, but won't be staying long. I once had the dubious honour of a Mutabaruka poem being dedicated to me - dubious because of the poem's refrain: "it no good fi stay inna white man country too long". The poem, "White Man Country", Muta told me, was inspired by "Inglan is a Bitch", my poem about the Caribbean migrant experience in Britain. "Mi seh, but how de bredrin inna Inglan a seh Inglan is a bitch; why him no leff di bitch?" In another poem, "My Great Shun", Muta mocks the illegal immigrant, the "Jamaican body" with the "foreign mind": "but yu neva know tings was like dis/ in de lan of opportunity an bliss". But to be fair to Muta, in later poems he empathises with the immigrant.

<SCRIPT language=javascript type=text/javascript> </SCRIPT><DIV class=MPU_display_class id=spacedesc_mpu_div><DIV class=mpu_continue>Article continues</DIV></IMG><HR class=mpu><DIV id=spacedesc_mpu_iframe><IFRAME title=Advertisement marginWidth=0 marginHeight=0 src="http://ads.guardian.co.uk/html.ng/Params.richmedia=yes&amp;spacedesc=mpu&amp;site=Bo oks&amp;navsection=4294&amp;section=110738&amp;cou ntry=usa&amp;rand=5044325" frameBorder=0 width=300 scrolling=no height=250> </IFRAME></DIV><HR class=mpu><A name=article_continue></A></DIV>Muta belongs to a tradition of Rastafarian oratory exemplified by elder rasta poets like Mortimo Planno, Sam Brown, Sam Clayton, Joseph Ruglass and Bongo Jerry. His name is known throughout Jamaica: his weekly late night talk show, The Cutting Edge on Irie FM, has made Muta a national figure, albeit a controversial one, and through the internet his show now has an international audience. This renowned dub poet, reggae artist, actor, rasta philosopher, broadcaster and entrepreneur found his adopted name in a book of poems as a schoolboy. He later discovered that, in Rwanda, the name means "one who is always victorious". Muta is a charismatic, loquacious, bare-footed rasta who oozes self-confidence. A strict vegan, he does not imbibe opiates of any kind.

I first came across the name Mutabaruka in 1974 when I read his poem "Nursery Rhyme Lament" in a Jamaican magazine called Swing. The poem wittily employs colonial nonsense rhymes to comment on post- colonial conditions of life for Jamaica's working class. It made me laugh. I was a young poet then of Muta's age,
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

And one more. . .

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Mutabaruka: I will look to the hills from whence cometh my help</SPAN>
      <SPAN class=Subheadline>The Desmond Allen Interview</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Desmond Allen
      Sunday, March 06, 2005
      </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Much of this world is dark and desperate and man's cruelty to man knows no bounds. It is what feeds the anger and rebellion of Allan 'Mutabaruka' Hope. From the early teens, he somehow knew that his origins in the depressed slums of Rae Town, Kingston, would mark him out for a life of poverty and deprivation, a citizen of the underclass or a denizen of the night. But that would not be the destiny of Mutabaruka.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=220 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>MUTABARUKA. refuses to interview politicians on The Cutting Edge</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>At Kingston Technical High School, he joined the struggle to win self-identity and dignity through the Black Power movement driven by the son of a national hero, Marcus Garvey Jnr, who operated his African Nationalist Union from the Success Club on Wildman Street. That, for Muta, was only a step away from becoming a Rastafarian, scorned by upper Jamaica but carrying an irresistible message to the working masses.<P class=StoryText align=justify>On wings of poem<P class=StoryText align=justify>Muta's message rode on the wings of a poem - poetry that articulated the conditions of the people who gave him his inspiration. If the words of the poet jarred the collective nerves, they also made society listen.<P class=StoryText align=justify>It might have been inevitable that Muta became a member of the Rastafarian group, the Twelve Tribes of Israel. But after a terrible falling out, in which he said he suffered physical and verbal abuse, he settled into the purist Nyah Binghi, which saw Ethiopia's late Emperor Haile Selassie, not as Jesus the Christ - as in the case of the Twelve Tribes - but as the Almighty God Himself.<P class=StoryText align=justify>It transpired that while he read his poems and worked assiduously with his Rasta queen, Yvonne Peters-Hope, to build a house on swamp lands in the far hills of John's Hall, St James, creative thinkers in the tourist mecca of Negril, Westmoreland, were mouthing the name of Mutabaruka.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The Issa-owned Negril Beach Village, now Hedonism II, wanted to experiment with their entertainment package, to give the tourists something different. "They wanted a new vibe and wanted me and some other Rasta brethren to come to the hotel and explain to the guests what is Rasta," Muta recounts. Claudia Robinson, an actress with connections to the hotel, was commissioned to contact Muta. This was 1974.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"They put us up at the hotel and allowed us to sell our trinkets there," Muta recalls. He started stringing beads and knitting tams, and after that, almost anything that people could wear, including bikinis, in the red, gold and green colours of Rastafari.<P class=StoryText align=justify>He wonders now how it is that some young men say they turn to crime because of poverty, recalling how he tried everything to ensure he could earn a living and never once thought of committing a crime.
      Muta would spend the weekend at the hotel, expounding Rastafari and knitting his tams which he sold for 80 cents.<P class=StoryText align=justify>With the money, he bought lumber in Lucea, the Hanover capital, for the wooden house he was building at Potosi, John Halls. And he ploughed the land. His mother by now was living at Central Village, near Spanish Town and he brought food

I am a big fan of Muta, and I have the majority of his albums. Some of my favorite Muta tunes include; "Whiteman Country", "Blacks in America", "Dis Poem", "Johnny Drug Head" and "Psalms 24" with Luciano.

Good read!