Lazie, watch this :

Murder Capitals of the world - 2008

http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/c...?story_id=4480

And yet......

Beautiful Cape Town! Great vacation ! Attend the next World Cup! (BTW if FIFA think its good enough for a high profile event like World Cup, then..)

http://www.capetown.travel/

Exciting New Orleans! Come Visit! Jazzfest! Essence Festival! Great food and music!

http://www.neworleansonline.com/

Islandman .. we cannot afford to get careless with our tourism. Venezuela and Russia have oil to fall back on. New Orleans can appeal to their fellow citizens.

I like your idea of marketing Kingston differently from the rest of the island, that may be the route to take, but I don't see the need to take a risk with such a fragile industry. A few weeks ago a car with some Canadian tourists was shot up. We need to stick to reality. Stop all tourist a flat bridge and who nuh need fi cross tun dem back.

LOL, I guess I see it differently still. You can work on the crime and start improving the product at the same time.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        The mixture of tourism and Passa Passa is not something I'd recommend, unless I was a citizen of a competing destination and wanted to see Jamaica's tourism attempts fail.
        The mixture of Passa Passa and tourists has been a failure? Clueless

sorry explain to me how Kingston is one of the best planned cities with all the squatter and ghetto communities and poor infrastructure

I think you need to work on infrastructure.. but one could argue if you have jobs you will reduce crime .. I do think kg has something to offer

i don't imagine that it is any and every tourist who would be interested in passa passa....

i have seen some japanese tourists in some RUFF places whey mi naw stap!

i don't imagine that it is any and every tourist who would be interested in passa passa....

i have seen some japanese tourists in some RUFF places whey mi naw stap!
                So yuh tink yuh woulda catch me inna TG on a non-Passa Passa night? It's more than just the japanese it's the younger people who don't go on vacation to sit inna hotel whole day. I have two friends from San Francisco who came to Kingston with a laundry list of places they wanted me to tek dem. passa Passa was one and they had never seen anything like it in their life and it was 100% safe and secure.

the last time I went to Kingston I met an Austrialian youth on the plane. he was alone with a backpack, he told me he wanted something different before he went to the Ochi and Mobay. He said he wanted to go downtown to a dance, He wanted to go a Bob Marley trench town yard, and then head to Blue Mountain to have some coffee, and head over to Port Antonio to enjoy the beauty and the people then onto to the regular tourist area. He said he had been travelling alone in Central America.

I was impressed, not much advice me or my brother could give him. You have tourist and travellers, Many tourist just want the beach but some people want to see how people live and enjoy the country itself.

My Final Comments

Originally posted by OJ
                    I think you need to work on infrastructure.. but one could argue if you have jobs you will reduce crime .. I do think kg has something to offer
                    Originally posted by Bricktop
                    The mixture of Passa Passa and tourists has been a failure? Clueless
                    the last time I went to Kingston I met an Austrialian youth on the plane. he was alone with a backpack, he told me he wanted something different before he went to the Ochi and Mobay. He said he wanted to go downtown to a dance, He wanted to go a Bob Marley trench town yard, and then head to Blue Mountain to have some coffee, and head over to Port Antonio to enjoy the beauty and the people then onto to the regular tourist area. He said he had been travelling alone in Central America.

I was impressed, not much advice me or my brother could give him. You have tourist and travellers, Many tourist just want the beach but some people want to see how people live and enjoy the country itself.
                    Kingston indeed has “something to offer”; in fact, it has a great deal to offer, and certainly more than the vast majority of capital cities in our Caribbean region!

However, one problem I’ve had for several years now with Jamaica’s tourism decision-makers is the absence of a specific focus on “high-end” tourism. By this I mean the big spenders who, unlike the “Australian youth” who has probably saved for years to come and enjoy Jamaica, the cultural center of the Caribbean, will have loads of cash to spend and thus more significantly impact the economy. Those big spending tourists should be the primary focus of any tourism campaign as they are the ones who will make an economic difference in the long run, and not the middle class tourist who finds it challenging to even find the money necessary to pay for one of our exorbitantly priced rented cars!

The long, long awaited introduction of casinos, for which Jamaica’s missing-the-point-churches have played an unbelievably strong reactionary role (this might be discussion for another thread on another day!!) has to be top priority for the JTB and the government! But in usual “Yeah man, reggae-style,” we bob and weave and so our governments miss the big picture!!

A perfect example of missing this “big picture” can be illustrated by Cabinet minister Karl Samuda’s recent silly rant against Trinidad and Barbados and Belize in a trade dispute that should not have come to the fore except for this “Yeah man” laid-back attitude by so many of us Jamaicans! To this day I find it difficult to blame the Trinis and the others! But this inherited problem is connected with overall planning, essential not only in production and export, but in a service industry such as tourism!

Getting to the top will probably be more difficult than many of us here on the Reggae Boyz Forum even begin to realize!

I think you are wrong on certain fronts.

In the case of this guy you talking about you are wrong. These youths in most case don't save to make a trip but they are wealthy people kids who want to find out more about the world. They travel light but kids who save can't tour many countries as this guy did. These kids get great jobs years from now and will return if they are impressed.

As for high end tourism I don't think we have to focus more on it. Many of us don't know but you have some of the biggest and richest tourist going to Ja. Check the elegant resorts of Ja who charge as much as 600 US dollars a night for a room or suit and these hotels have high occupany rate.

my opinion is we need to concentrate more on the middle class as they spread the money around. An example is Micheal Basden have a radio show and plan his trip and it was sold out in weeks they had to give him two resorts for his show and he still has no ticket for sale. These are just ordinary people but they are a target market.

They have been trying to sell Port Antonio to the wealthy tourist for the longest time but nothing is happening. While Dominican Republic use the low cost model and has grown leaps and bound in that time. I don't see why we can't concentrate on both as Paris, New York and Italy does.