Is the issue now which era was better or whether or not we need to do something about our education system, of which our teachers are a part?
Karl, here is another one for you to attack.
so you are clueless as to the state of the teaching profession?
how often in your days did a teacher get stoned by a parent? how about being beaten up by a student for waking him up?
what about teachers threatening to strike?
karl yuh acting like seh yuh just come out of a hermetically sealed bubble either that or that your are jamaica's rip van winkle!
Originally posted by Gamma View Postkarl yuh acting like seh yuh just come out of a hermetically sealed bubble either that or that your are jamaica's rip van winkle!
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostIs the issue now which era was better or whether or not we need to do something about our education system, of which our teachers are a part?
Are we not all agreed that the systems needs overhauling and improvement? I had assumed that on that matter all on this board are agreed
Where there is room for argument is what gives the Minister the right to blame teachers only for failures in the system? It is a wondering on whether or not the Minister is being fair...and whether or not he has facts to support what I see as his 'crazy' outlandish posturing...and possibly from a perspective of 'broughtupsy', whether it is correct to being 'cussing' at the teachers with reference to support he has failed to supply (...and past Ministers of Education), the environment in which learning/teaching occurs?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostNot only that! Karl is the one who likes to remind us that, if the student has not learnt, then the teacher has not taught! Or something to that effect!
He's swapped that bugle for another one."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Nuff ah dem new fangled teachers can read and write properly.
Dont believe, go sit in on their classes or even read their job application letters. My mother is a school board chairman and the letters have gotten worse over the years. Mi si dem wid mi own 2 yeye! LoL
Originally posted by Karl View PostAll schools: Facts and figures, pleeeeeeeeeeeease?
In the good old days... What was the %age numbers untrained teachers in schools? ...what is the %age trained to untrained ratio in schools?
...and the figures now?
btw - Could we also have comparisons across subject lines for the secondary high schools?
Let's have a real discussion?
Thank you!
Facts and figures. You must be joking. The pass rate at the most of the top schools in Jamaica has gone down. I have spoken to Principals at the top schools and they all speak about their problems finding quality teachers and the issue of migration and them getting the what leff.
You talk to ministry and put together your subject by subject comparison. Microsoft Excel waiting on you.
Originally posted by Willi View PostNuff ah dem new fangled teachers can read and write properly.
Dont believe, go sit in on their classes or even read their job application letters. My mother is a school board chairman and the letters have gotten worse over the years. Mi si dem wid mi own 2 yeye! LoL
Anyway, just check out some of them attitude, dress, deportment and dem general behavior on the school premises. Mrs. Ruby Meredith (of Shortwood fame) mussi turn in her grave.“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Originally posted by Mosiah View Postyuh twist mi up, Karl.
Isn't this about the Minister's 'always' attacking teachers?
Mosiah: If the standards have gone down, it cannot be only about the teachers.
Similarly if the standards have gone up, it cannot be only about the teachers.
There must be other contributing factors? Right?Last edited by Karl; June 19, 2009, 11:59 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."