• Merge Air Jamaica, Caribbean Airlines, LIAT

Merge Air Jamaica, Caribbean Airlines, LIAT

Thursday, June 11, 2009

Dear Editor, I refer to a letter by Jason Gardner which appeared in the Gleaner on June 7 and the Observer on June 8 re the sale of Air Jamaica. The writer said he was"very angry at what is going on at the cement factory".

I am the CEO of the TCL Group, which is the majority shareholder of Carib Cement in Jamaica. TCL bought controlling shareholding of Carib Cement at three times the price that was quoted on the stock exchange in 1999 after narrowly beating two other foreign bidders for the company. No Jamaican entity bid for the plant! We did not steal the plant; nor were we given the plant. We bought it after invitation from the government of Jamaica. TCL owns 75 per cent of Carib Cement and the other 25 per cent is owned by 23,000 Jamaican shareholders. TCL is also listed on the Jamaican stock exchange. It is a true Caribbean company. Any interested person could be a shareholder of both companies.

In 1999 Carib Cement was on the brink of bankruptcy, which is why no Jamaican business concerns wanted to buy it. The TCL Group reorganised the company and managed to motivate the highly talented group of Jamaican employees to turn the company around. Today there are only four Trinidadians in a staff complement of over 300 employees.

It would be foolish for Trinidadians to boast that they own Jamaica. I don't know where Mr Gardner heard that.Trinidadian companies have equity interests in the financial services sector, manufacturing and a few hotels. The Jamaican economy is dominated by the bauxite and hospitality sector which is either owned by the state or other foreign interests.
    The Jamaican government wants to sell Air Jamaica. Like Carib Cement, no one is forcing them to sell or is stealing the company. Air Jamaica has been losing millions of taxpayers' dollars because, like Caribbean Airlines, it is a national airline. National airlines cannot survive in the current environment, but regional governments are stubborn and do not realise that the only solution is for Air Jamaica, Caribbean Airlines and LIAT to merge, just like the three cement companies: TCL, Arawak in Barbados and Carib Cement in Jamaica.

Trinidad is not blocking any products from Jamaica. Trinidad and Barbados have what are called "phytosanitary" standards for food imports. The strictest phytosanitary rules exist in North America.

Jamaican ackees were banned for years by the US government because of these standards. In a Sunday Observer article on June 7, "Watch that meat" the minister of agriculture is reported to have focused attention on the majority of the 1100 abattoirs across Jamaica which were operating illegally. The article further reported that the minister's vision for centralised slaughter facilities included having veterinary services to check on the health of animals and to allow for traceability of the livestock. This was considered critical to ensure health and safety for consumers.
    This is at the root of Trinidad and Tobago's and Barbados's concerns about Jamaican patties -- the potential for public health issues arising from insanitary conditions of meat preparation. The trade dispute has been put into the media as some sort of anti-Jamaican issue, but it really is not.

I hope that I have addressed the concerns expressed by
    Mr Gardner. As CEO of the TCL Group representing 75 per cent of shareholding of Carib Cement, we have recently invested more than US$177 million in new plant and equipment. If that is what makes him "very angry at what is going on at the cement factory", then I think he has his priorities wrong. We (the TCL Group) are investing in the development of Jamaica, more so than many Jamaicans who live outside the country. This is the only way that the country can start to show sustained development.

Dr Rollin Bertrand
    Group CEO
    c/o Caribbean Cement Company Limited
    PO Box 448, Kingston

er..no not a good idea.

Him tek man as idiots. The patties were passed by the Bureau of standards in Jam. To idly speculate on a potential hypothetical problem is disingenuous.

The traceabilty angle is not about disease sourcing, IT IS ABOUT PRAEDIAL LARCENY. Who dis man folling?

3 bad airlines combined is better how?

As to cement, Jamaica is the prime source of gypsum and limestone, so no wonder they were glad to get their hands on that plant!

In the end, Jam can only blame itself for so screwing up that all and sundry tekking steps with us.

All England now require us to get intransit visas just to pass thru Heathrow and Gatwick like seh wi a terrorist! Why the HELL do we need visa when we dont plan to enter the country at all? Why the HELL the GOJ dont fight this bullshyte?

When you stand up for nothing, you fall for everything.

That's So True!

Excellent points, Willi. And like you said, we (that is, Jamaica) have no one to blame but ourselves for screwing up, and in more ways than one!!

Him tek man as idiots. The patties were passed by the Bureau of standards in Jam. To idly speculate on a potential hypothetical problem is disingenuous.

The traceabilty angle is not about disease sourcing, IT IS ABOUT PRAEDIAL LARCENY. Who dis man folling?

3 bad airlines combined is better how?

As to cement, Jamaica is the prime source of gypsum and limestone, so no wonder they were glad to get their hands on that plant!

In the end, Jam can only blame itself for so screwing up that all and sundry tekking steps with us.

All England now require us to get intransit visas just to pass thru Heathrow and Gatwick like seh wi a terrorist! Why the HELL do we need visa when we dont plan to enter the country at all? Why the HELL the GOJ dont fight this bullshyte?

When you stand up for nothing, you fall for everything.

Im cuss 'wi' aff tuh!

I worked at Carib Cement. Rollin is a bit off with some of his facts and is masking the truth here and there.

Hmmmoh so is dey you started to like roti

Long before dat!