Bricktop, Me ... whats the name of the riddim

And a tell the big DJ bout dem a reggae royalty! Heh heh

but de marley brothers nuh big like beenie inna jamaica, how dem did want act like dem was de featured act pon de show...

not because a was fi dem show... dem cyaan want treat de big artist like him a filler an him 'juss come'...

The thing me nuh understan bout Beenie though is that for a DJ legend him still gwan like him always have something fe prove. Him much bigga dan that.

And me still nuh undastand the Angel thing. How you can tek up you arch-rival ex-girl and marry her? Look how much woman out deh. It just did look kinda weird to me, like something him did want prove again.

The thing me nuh understan bout Beenie though is that for a DJ legend him still gwan like him always have something fe prove. Him much bigga dan that.

And me still nuh undastand the Angel thing. How you can tek up you arch-rival ex-girl and marry her? Look how much woman out deh. It just did look kinda weird to me, like something him did want prove again.
            islandman, in that game a dj affi stay fresh or be relagated to diminished status or relative obscurity... dat mean less money fi mek... record sales, shows, tours, dubplates, etc... anytine a dj lose de drive fi compete him career is dying... beenie realize dat and stay fresh... iz like him always new... him dont live off him past success, him always a 'try buss'... him stay hungry... dat is de ongle reason why him can stay relevant an on top fi so long...

de angel ting, mi cant understand because nuhbady nuh know what kinda feelings dem both did share... iz love and none a we shouldn't judge dat... it is always a miss-try an will remain dat for as long as we live...

I guess you right, maybe the only way him can keep fresh is fe battle with the up and coming youths. Even with that though me really think him have a insecurity problem.

I think you are right. Heard an interview here in Toronto on the radio where he basically said as much. What he said is that he always remembers the hard times and does not intend to return there. Also, his philosophy is that the worst thing any DJ can do is to sit on his laurels, every time he is successful he is always thinking about what next he can do to top it. Also, in the DJ business every challenge must be answered. I was impressed. Whether you like his music or not he has the philosophy of the consumate artist: take nothing for granted, especially in the highly competetive DJ business.