Then why is it taking your govt so long to sign the papers? Is this wait hurting the country?
Isn't there a perception regarding the IMF among Jamaicans? Its amazing, during the campaign Shaw was constantly attacked and misquoted about going back to the IMF, now that the gov't a walk a tight rope with the issue all of a sudden unuh a get impatient.
I for one think the gov't need to stop dragging its foot and move forward with the IMF, but then ... they're the gov't of Jamaica ....
Seems like the govt is trying to prepare the people for this dreaded event. Fine, but I feel some will try and berate them for doing it no matter what. The PM needs to do what's best for the country.
Don't recall the attacks. Care to remind us?
Shaw said if elected his gov't would re-engage the multilateral agencies and people like Omar Davis, Portia, Ronnie, Ralston and chief PNP ass kisser Garnett Roper kept twisting the man's words to say we'd be getting involved with the IMF again (although I for one saw nothing wrong with that). Shaw had to be explaining that he meant the World Bank, IADB, CDB etc .... not the IMF.
A few things at play here Mo.
The constant elections that is been run.
Making the people realise that it can't be business as usual. Getting 1.5 billion and nobody know where it end up and the next generation have to pay for it. There has to be a change in attitude.
Any injection of money have to come with more responsiblility, production, producitivity and improvement in jobs and the GDP or we will be in the same position 3 years time. I can only hope the government taking this into consideration. We can't blow it as we have been doing and the country must be motivated to do this and realise that the IMF is not our greatest enemy but the irrespossible way in which we spend the monies borrowed to fill gap and in favor of parties, not to move ahead with the business and production of Jamaica.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
To me, they were trying to force him to just admit it and stop playing games. What's wrong with that? Seems they, the attackers, were right all along!
Oh, suh because we nuh like Shaw for whatever reason its okay to twist words. Mighty hypocritical of you. Right all along? Really? Now we have An Shirley, Ronnie and Ralston to name a few all pushing for us to get in with the IMF. Its clear if it was Shaw's aim we'd be in line ahead of Mexico long ago. But as mi say ... Bruce affi memba which set a people he is leading.
The argument can be made that we have done much worst since stop borrowing from the IMF.
The fact is Jamaica need more checks and balance to manage itself and that is our greatest weakness.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
HAHAHA! That is funny as hell! Is Mosiah Fault! (No apostrophe, Time, is patois wi speaking.)
I understand from many people that today's IMF is not Manley's IMF. I believe even the PNP agrees that we won't have to worry about passing some monthly tests that sucked the very life out of the country and her people.
Hey, even One Don Seaga sees it as the right thing to do. It would be nice if we didn't need to, but that is not the case right now.
Don't recall the attacks. Care to remind us?
Why do you define it as a dreaded event. (I can trace no sarcasm in your tone).
It is a done deal and it is a good thing. It will stabilize the dollar for example.......
We don't need to borrow money at 11% when we can get money that is just as green at 4%.
Hmmm......is this another non existent policy shift that some here are refusing to acknowledge.
the elections might not be important to you but for Bruce and his government it is.