a most appropriate post given the title of the thread
Clemson Model to Increase African American Male Teachers ...
Figget America for a change... why it happening in the Caribbean? in T&T? where money (supposedly) is not an issue; with unemployment rivalling the developed country rates... in T&T the "gangstas" coming from mainly the youth of African heritage?
Are the institutions constructed to be racist against one's own kind?Peter R
Originally posted by Islandman View PostI may be going down a path to nowhere, but mek me give it a try anyway...
Lazie, if a law is unjust and discriminatory , then thats just what it is . The fact that people know about it is not relevant. Surely you are not suggesting that in order to catch the drug dealers you need unjust laws?
And I am not suggesting that drug laws are the cause of all the problems of the inner city, clearly they are not. But when we are quoting those stats about blacks in jail vs college, etc we need to be aware of those laws which stack the deck even more against these youths than it would be otherwise.
Well if yuh nuh waan get affected by an unjust and discriminatory law ... don't break the law then. Why we as a people must insist on putting ourselves in such situations? Yes there are a few I've heard of that were just in the wrong place at the wrong time .... fine, but what about those who think dem can beat the system and get caught?
When I just came here I was dying to find a spot to play some football. One of my wife's coworker came and picked me up one evening to guh play some football. Reached the park the game cannot start .. only to find out that man and man affi smoke dem weed first. I also found out sometimes shot fire inna the park and police affi a patrol time and again. I haven't been there to play football since then.
Watch the series on the History Channel called "Gangland" and the BET series "American Gangster". Nuff a dem belong in prison."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Peter R View PostFigget America for a change... why it happening in the Caribbean? in T&T? where money (supposedly) is not an issue; with unemployment rivalling the developed country rates... in T&T the "gangstas" coming from mainly the youth of African heritage?
Are the institutions constructed to be racist against one's own kind?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
it's a simple question the answer to which is either yes or no.....i din't ask for directions or a formula....
but i will accept the nonanswer for what it is worth...absolutely nothing!
that is the point lazie...it is not WHETHER they have role models, it is a question of WHO are the role models...so go back to my original role model question and see if you can see the point at which you began to stray....
Ah bwoy... So the argument was about wether "nuff a dem belong in prison"? OK I agree, nuff a dem belong in prison.
And you are fine with unjust laws as long as you know chances are you won't be in a position to be affected by them.
Imagine if all you did born 50 years earlier in somewhere like Alabama. You woulda be one a dem a tell the civil rights leaders fe low the Jim Crow laws and just fall in line and work hard picking the cotton.
All the one Rosa Parks, bout she tyad and want fe siddung inna white man seat, she nuh respect law? JAIL fe her!"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Gamma View Postit's a simple question the answer to which is either yes or no.....i din't ask for directions or a formula....
but i will accept the nonanswer for what it is worth...absolutely nothing!"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Gamma View Postthat is the point lazie...it is not WHETHER they have role models, it is a question of WHO are the role models...so go back to my original role model question and see if you can see the point at which you began to stray...."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)