Clemson Model to Increase African American Male Teachers ...

is it true that your chances of going to college increases if you have a parent who went to college?
    Well, do you want the truth, or yuh gonna be like Don1? I went to ask someone who would know the truth and she indicated that the data is used for research e.g. how many are first time college students. Does that answer your question?

tergiversation!

i would like the truth...and NO that does not answer my question. i think that a yes or a no is the appropriate response.

Oh, I see!

I predicted that this Obama victory would have its negatives.

Yes, Lazie, many do blame society when they shouldn't, but racism and "attitudes" is real. Just ask the cop who was shot by his fellow cop.

Oh, sheet, you can't. The cop is dead!
          Whats the negative? That we can no longer hide behind the usual mythical stance? Never said that racism didn't exist. The same racism existed as the Oprahs, Clarence Thomases rose to prominence. There is a TV judge that told his life story, how was he able to turn his life around.
          Last edited by Lazie; June 10, 2009, 11:55 AM.

will you take that bit out of your mouth for one second so that we can have a rational discussion?

lazie, the bill cosby's and the obamas .... who were there role models?
            What difference does it make? The youngsters today DO have role models don't it? Suh why so many of them choose to gangbang?

mosiah..if yuh did allow mi to do this the systematic way.....but unnuh too bull inna china shop.....cho!

how many times mi must say sorry? sir?

i would like the truth...and NO that does not answer my question. i think that a yes or a no is the appropriate response.
                  Whats up with the yes or no thing round here?

yuh come een like mi 2 y.o. daughter, shi know whey shi nuffi duh, dweet anyway an' den seh sarry!

a hope yuh nuh trace har di way yuh a trace me!

Telling it like it is is fine and I am glad a few prominent blacks are no longer afraid to do that...BUT...

that doesn't take away from the fact that the US justice system is stacked against inner city minority youths. You live in NY so I assume you know about the history of the notorious Rockefeller Drug Laws and thier impact on the inner city there . The VAST majority of people convicted to lengthy prison terms under these laws were not violent criminals or drug dealers, they were USERS, and this is generally true for drug offenders who fill up the prisons across the US.

excuses, excuses! stop blaming society, i-man!

sigh

Telling it like it is is fine and I am glad a few prominent blacks are no longer afraid to do that...BUT...

that doesn't take away from the fact that the US justice system is stacked against inner city minority youths. You live in NY so I assume you know about the history of the notorious Rockefeller Drug Laws and thier impact on the inner city there . The VAST majority of people convicted to lengthy prison terms under these laws were not violent criminals or drug dealers, they were USERS, and this is generally true for drug offenders who fill up the prisons across the US.
                            .. it may have been harsh, but the people were aware of what would happen if they got caught right? Suh when we gonna put the blame on those that put themselves in that situation?

Lawmakers in NY have made some changes to the drug laws recently and one dealer that was behind bars was caught on tape predicting his release and what he is going to do when he hits the street. We gonna blame society or him if and when he gets locked up again?

wth!?!

I may be going down a path to nowhere, but mek me give it a try anyway...

Lazie, if a law is unjust and discriminatory , then thats just what it is . The fact that people know about it is not relevant. Surely you are not suggesting that in order to catch the drug dealers you need unjust laws?

And I am not suggesting that drug laws are the cause of all the problems of the inner city, clearly they are not. But when we are quoting those stats about blacks in jail vs college, etc we need to be aware of those laws which stack the deck even more against these youths than it would be otherwise.