• Entire school watches as... MOM CHASES, STONES TEACHER

Entire school watches as... MOM CHASES, STONES TEACHER

Police in Hanover were recently called to a high school in the parish after a teacher was attacked by the parent who was upset that her child was scolded earlier.

Reports reaching THE STAR indicate that last Wednesday, persons at the school watched in disbelief as the disgruntled parent argued with the teacher before chasing her around the school while hurling stones and bottles at her.

The Area One police confirmed the incident but several calls to school officials went unanswered.
    "We were called in to reprimand a woman on Wednesday at the school following a dispute with her and a teacher there," Detective Corporal Chase McDougal told THE STAR.

He said when the police arrived at the school, the chase was already over but the woman was still voicing her opinion that she did not like the way in which her 12-year-old child was scolded.

stand outside the class

THE STAR was told that the child was ordered to stand outside the class because she had not completed her homework.

The child is said to have went home and later returned with her enraged mother who argued in front of the staffroom that her child should have not been made to leave the class.

The police say, based on what they were told, things got heated after the teacher told the woman that she should not try and tell her how to run her class. "Well, based on what persons at the school told us, the woman got mad when the teacher said that ... . She immediately grabbed stones and began chasing the teacher," Detective McDougal said, adding that the teacher was chased for a few minutes before making it back to the staffroom where she was locked inside, away from the wrath of the parent. The woman was later escorted from the school compound. She was not charged.

Why wasnt she locked up

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

mmmm?

I suppose the teacher must now seek a position at a school faaaaaaaaaaaaaar away???

...and other teachers on the child not doing homework should send a message to Mom asking permission to scold the child. Further Mom must be engaged in discussions on and the arrival at exactly how to deal with such matters when they arise?

Little "babydoll" is being disruptive and refusing to do classwork...quick run to the telephone or computer (e-mail you know?)...or send the 'school-car' (You know one of the many standing by for just such situations as this) to initiate the 'teacher-Mom' conference. (btw - What the hell happens with the 22 other kids??? as the teacher keeps running around to deal with each child's Mom when these little 'things' occur???)

Damn! Holness, at the control! He it is who must be contacted for leadership on managing the classroom!

Why wasnt she locked up
        Who?
        The child?
        The Mom?
        ...or Sister Minister Holness?

Leave Holness alone. I'm sure if Holness could, he would publicly flog mother and child in the public square.

The child had better look for a new school. How dare she leave the school compound to get her virago mother!

And no charges pressed against anyone?!?

Wi not serious.

Wait till the virago mother tries to reprimand the child & then you'll see who is the bigger, badder virago!

Children live what they learn!

Anyway, the lioness should have been tamed; a few hours behind bars will soothe her soul.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
              Wait till the virago mother tries to reprimand the child & then you'll see who is the bigger, badder virago!

Children live what they learn!

Anyway, the lioness should have been tamed; a few hours behind bars will soothe her soul.
              You are soooooo right!
              Sad!

Leave Holness alone. I'm sure if Holness could, he would publicly flog mother and child in the public square.

The child had better look for a new school. How dare she leave the school compound to get her virago mother!

And no charges pressed against anyone?!?

Wi not serious.
                Leave Holness alone?
                The Jackass who is not working to create the atmosphere in which teachers and pupils can do good work...but is walking all about the place telling parents and pupils that teachers are not all that?

...or is it you, like the silly Holness, think consistently pouring scorn on teachers create supportive parents and public...and pupils who are not dismissive of teachers?

mmmm?

I suppose the teacher must now seek a position at a school faaaaaaaaaaaaaar away???

...and other teachers on the child not doing homework should send a message to Mom asking permission to scold the child. Further Mom must be engaged in discussions on and the arrival at exactly how to deal with such matters when they arise?

Little "babydoll" is being disruptive and refusing to do classwork...quick run to the telephone or computer (e-mail you know?)...or send the 'school-car' (You know one of the many standing by for just such situations as this) to initiate the 'teacher-Mom' conference. (btw - What the hell happens with the 22 other kids??? as the teacher keeps running around to deal with each child's Mom when these little 'things' occur???)

Damn! Holness, at the control! He it is who must be contacted for leadership on managing the classroom!
                  Karl, you cannot be serious! How many classrooms are there in the island? You expect the minister to be responsible for ALL of them? Be serious. That would be an IMPOSSIBLE task. The responsibility lies with the teacher and after that the Principal...how the minister get involved with that?
                  As long as ministry guidelines are not violated by the school's employees the ministry doesn't have to get involved. That's why they have Principals.

Leave Holness alone?
                    The Jackass who is not working to create the atmosphere in which teachers and pupils can do good work...but is walking all about the place telling parents and pupils that teachers are not all that?

...or is it you, like the silly Holness, think consistently pouring scorn on teachers create supportive parents and public...and pupils who are not dismissive of teachers?
                    Jackass? Interesting.

Karl, yuh gaan too far blaming the Minister for this incident. Be objective sometime boss...

Karl, you cannot be serious! How many classrooms are there in the island? You expect the minister to be responsible for ALL of them? Be serious. That would be an IMPOSSIBLE task. The responsibility lies with the teacher and after that the Principal...how the minister get involved with that?
                        As long as ministry guidelines are not violated by the school's employees the ministry doesn't have to get involved. That's why they have Principals.
                        I am serious!

When you have a bully pulpit as does the Minister of Education not using it wisely can create even greater problems.

This fellow from he first stood behind 'the lectern' has given us an unending berating of those who must deliver 'the teaching'. It cannot be that in our present Jamaica 'the ability' to deliver effect teaching is not impacted by parents, the physical structures, the support provided by the Ministry of Education 'apparatus' and the society in which the teachers and pupils find themselves. Can it?

Sure there are too many teachers who on using teaching as a 'jump off point' to what they perceive as 'better' provide substandard service...but does the Minister even temper his constant braying by pointing out there are some excellent teachers...no!

The damn jackass keeps 'stoning' the teachers every Jezzas day. Well is it any surprise that 'the Mom' encouraged by the jackass' 'stoning' turns around and joins in the 'stoning'?

Peter: When this fellow came into office there was a disiturbance at a school and he promptly tore the teachers to shreds. He has continued along that path...daily! Put 'a mike' in front of his face and he finds a way to denigrate and 'spit' on teachers.

Let me make the blood cool!
                        Holness inherited a situation where the majority of teachers are labouring under appalling conditions.

Does he attempt fixing problems with physical plants, grants and subventions?
                        No!

Has he attempted to solve the problems with security at schools?
                        No!

There is the problem of 'poor house' type salaries teachers receive. Many are the kids who on graduation snicker and say, 'wuk fi dat'? Has Holness attempted to do anything about the teachers' salaries?
                        No!

Books for school libraries? Loans...grants...scholarships for teachers to avail selves of higher learning and professional courses?
                        Has Holness set about making improvements there?

No!

Inservice courses? Has Holness worked at improving numbers and quality of those courses?
                        No!

...and the lists goes on and on! The guy is a talker - 'beater of teachers'! What the hell is his purpose?

Karl,

You know more about the gentleman's shortcomings, perceived or otherwise, than I do...so if you say he is incompetent, I won't argue that point.

My reposnse is a more general response to your statement that the minister should be contacted about "classroom management". Regardless of the competence of the minister, classroom management should remain the domain of the teacher and the Principal. If the minister's incompetence fosters a negative attitude to teachers that is a just a risk that comes with the territory... the minister in my mind has no business in classroom management, other than from a macro level.

You must admit that in the best of times teachers have been attacked by irate parents so this is nothing new. Let's separate the issues.

Karl,

You know more about the gentleman's shortcomings, perceived or otherwise, than I do...so if you say he is incompetent, I won't argue that point.

My reposnse is a more general response to your statement that the minister should be contacted about "classroom management". Regardless of the competence of the minister, classroom management should remain the domain of the teacher and the Principal. If the minister's incompetence fosters a negative attitude to teachers that is a just a risk that comes with the territory... the minister in my mind has no business in classroom management, other than from a macro level.

You must admit that in the best of times teachers have been attacked by irate parents so this is nothing new. Let's separate the issues.
                            What does Karl know bout incompetent? He saw Portia as some type of leader. Holness is seen as one of the better performers in the cabinet ... what the hell does Karl know?

Karl,

That was tongue in cheek! ...even as it was saying di bredda is an ass!