I have not seen or heard congress debating Obama's energy plan.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I have not seen or heard congress debating Obama's energy plan.
You adopt the wrong tone.
You wish for an education and you are not graceful about it... neither will you be thankful no doubt when the education is provided.
Have you heard of Cap and Trade? That is the most contentious element of the energy plan currently being debated in Congress... providing a revolutionary approach to redirecting energy use away from carbon based sources.
There are many elements of the new energy plan being considered by Congress currently... auto mileage standards, cap and trade, smart electricity grids, mass transit support, offshore drilling revisions, subsidy of alternatives etc, etc etc
All providing significant and in some cases revolutionary new directions in policy.
Suggest you study the Energy Department site for basic info if you are indeed interested in details.
now let's see the red herring comeback.... ignoring the truth of my post and justifying whatever your position may be.
Apply some critical thinking & cut to the chase. The questioning is tedious. There has been more than ample time for the GOJ to formulate, propose and start implementing reform in many areas.
Clearly they did not use their time in opposition to prepare adequately to hit the ground running with reforms on assuming office....
Probably spending most of their time in silly bickering with the equally backward PNP.
Obama formulates a a comprehensive energy (also health care reform, financial reform, education reform, industrial policy etc) while a candidate for office (beginning say since mid 2007) .... then... more importantly has those comprehensive reform plans submitted to Congress within 3-4 months of taking office. Some have already been passed and are being implemented under the stimulus bill.
That's impressive.
The JLP had 18 years to formulate policy in opposition... Golding himself had what, 3-4+ years in charge? I forget the number.
Yet almost 2 years into his tenure we are yet to see many plans even proposed... much less being implemented.
This is the performance of a typical Jamaica regime... slowfooted and not especially bright.... just meandering along.
Any comparison of the Golding regime with the urgency and creativity seen under Obama is quite foolish.
You are certainly right on the foolish comparison.. especially considering two different models of Government..
By the way.. who has the majority in the senate and congress ?
On the energy front... is the entire Grid in and Power Purchase in the US controlled by one private entity ?
How many sources of Energy are currently available to the Grid there ?
Don1 the Disingenuous.. the PNP has 18 years IN POWER to straighten out our energy issue.. I can only imagine the contempt you have for the PNP given your low grades for less than 2 year old Bruce regime with a razor thin majority at that..
LOL !! Poor Don1... trying so hard appear the neutral Judge.. 'above it all'.. all the while yuh dutty brief in full view... one of yuh comrade fiend dem coulda at least prips yuh.. damn..
As I said it I have not seen it go to congress yet. Untill it goes there, for me there is no energy plan just talk.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Maudib;169146]You are certainly right on the foolish comparison.. especially considering two different models of Government..
Yes.. the Parliamentary system grants a prime minister far more relative power than a president in the US republican system... they have many, many more checks and balances than Jamaica.
By the way.. who has the majority in the senate and congress ?
Who has the majority in the Jamaican parliament... both houses?
On the energy front... is the entire Grid in and Power Purchase in the US controlled by one private entity ?
No. Many entities control their grid.... literally thousands.
Much more complicated and difficult to reform than Jamaica's simple sole proprietor system where the GOJ has 20% ownership.
How many sources of Energy are currently available to the Grid there ?
Haven't counted ... but there is every viable energy system known to man connected to the grid... very complicated system.
Don1 the Disingenuous.. the PNP has 18 years IN POWER to straighten out our energy issue.. I can only imagine the contempt you have for the PNP given your low grades for less than 2 year old Bruce regime with a razor thin majority at that..
Dead Partisan Paradigm.... that PNP mantra is your comforter. Sorry ... not interested in furthering silly partisanship.
Poor Don1... trying so hard appear the neutral Judge.. 'above it all'.. all the while yuh dutty brief in full view... one of yuh comrade fiend dem coulda at least prips yuh.. damn..
Rear Admiral leggo di underwear argument.
All you have done here is to substantiate my points... thanks.
I am not impressed. How many energy plans I have seen and it hasn't amount to the US decreasing oil purchase. I have broaden my horizon. I have take not of how places like England have natural gas cars, How Brazile use ethonal and other places have but plan to action. I know you charge emission tax if you go into certain places in London. The cap and trade is something taken from Europe and I doubt it will get off here.
As I have said all fancy words while others are actually doing something about it.
I am not impressed. How many energy plans I have seen and it hasn't amount to the US decreasing oil purchase. I have broaden my horizon. I have take not of how places like England have natural gas cars, How Brazile use ethonal and other places have but plan to action. I know you charge emission tax if you go into certain places in London. The cap and trade is something taken from Europe and I doubt it will get off here.
As I have said all fancy words while others are actually doing something about it.
Typical Assasin red herring.
This discussion is about the speed, urgency and creativity of recent policy responses in the US vs Jamaica..... a discussion stimulated by JLP supporters trying to draw parallesls between Golding and Obama.
The purpose is not to glorify US policy outcomes.