Jamaica patties get trade blessing from TT

Steeuuupps. Doubles has no meet it it, just chick peas.

I just got some info today from someone who used to live there. One doubles is like what US$3? A patty is like max US$1.5, no?

Doubles is double priced and nuh ha no meat in deh!

Just a Question

That is the crux of the matter. In a trade war, TnT stands to lose BIG TIME. It is the height of foolishness to upset Jamaica on this matter, given that Jam foolishly imports 20 times what they export to TnT. It behooves TnT to keep this quiet and make no waves as they enjoy an IMMENSE advantage!
      Willi, I’m just wondering why you feel that Trinidad, in a trade war, will “lose big time”? This is a really anxious question on my part, and I will check tomorrow morning for your response, boss.

Right now, it seems to me that realistically speaking, things would turn out the other way around in a very strong way, as aside from cultural material, Jamaica has not been an outstanding trade partner to anyone in our region (the oft-underrated nation state of Guyana, for example, does not have a very high opinion of us in trade matters)!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        Willi, I’m just wondering why you feel that Trinidad, in a trade war, will “lose big time”? This is a really anxious question on my part, and I will check tomorrow morning for your response, boss.

Right now, it seems to me that realistically speaking, things would turn out the other way around in a very strong way, as aside from cultural material, Jamaica has not been an outstanding trade partner to anyone in our region (the oft-underrated nation state of Guyana, for example, does not have a very high opinion of us in trade matters)!
        Historian ... if there is a trade war Trindad has more to lose than Jamaica because they export far more to Jamaica than Jamaica exports to them. There is a huge trade imbalance.

All of the goods Trinidad exports to Jamaica, including refined petroleum products, are easily substituable by other suppliers.

Jamaica should press the issue of reciprocal market access to the limit.

We have very little to lose and much to gain potentially.

Also, Jamaica has generally been an outstanding trade partner with our neighbors... almost to a fault.... even in situations (as with Trinidad) where our products and investments are denied fair market access.

Willi, a doubles cost $3TT.. (50 cents US). it is the poor man's food but everyone buys it. True, it has no meat, but believe me you wouldn't know...fantastic value for the money. Roti, that is the "skin" as Trinis call it with meat wrapped up in it costs $3US and up depending what's in it...beef, boneless chicken, goat, shrimp etc.

Why yu tink him name Exile?

Roti

Willi, a doubles cost $3TT.. (50 cents US). it is the poor man's food but everyone buys it. True, it has no meat, but believe me you wouldn't know...fantastic value for the money. Roti, that is the "skin" as Trinis call it with meat wrapped up in it costs $3US and up depending what's in it...beef, boneless chicken, goat, shrimp etc.
              Peter R, I must admit to being a huge fan of roti, particularly curried goat roti. It doesn't matter if this East Indian dish is prepared Jamaican-style, Trinidadian-style, or Guyanese-style, I just love it, man!

Damn! All this talk of roti is making me hungry this Sunday morning!

there has long been a trade war in the caribbean, only that Jamaica didn't realise it.

Are you going to deport him?

I guess I got it wrong then.

I know that doubles and roti taste good.

TnT has good food, dont get me wrong, nah eat the bush meat though.

Don't understand the concept...to waste good lobster in patty?

who care bout the concept?

It taste good?

You have the right not to buy Patty, so what is your fear?

Matter of fact Naminirt, why eat Jamaican food period, listen to their music and post on their web sites?

Oh my you just expose the Badmindness of the Weak Heart.

Not really.