• Jamaica patties get trade blessing from TT

Jamaica patties get trade blessing from TT Friday, June 5 2009
    THIS country has given the okay to a Jamaican company to export its beef patties to TT after being kept out because it could not meet local health standards. Jamaica yesterday welcomed the clearance of the shipment by Trade Minister Mariano Browne and said the decision followed weeks of talks between both Governments.
    Jearlean John, CEO of Pizza Boys, the company bringing in the patties, said she welcomed the move, noting it was in the interest of regional trade to have the issue resolved. She also complimented Browne for his intervention.

“Regional trade is crucial to our economies and barriers are not going to help,” she said. In an interview with Business Day this week, TT Manufacturing Association (TTMA) president Greig Laughlin said the issue had to do with the patties being uncooked.

Yesterday, he said he was glad the issue was finally resolved and regulatory bodies are moving to deal with the issue. “It was never an issue of stopping anybody’s goods from entering the country,” he said, noting that while the patties entering the country remain uncooked there is now an assurance that it must meet certain criteria.

Jamaica said it was going to ensure that intra-regional sanitary and phyto-sanitary (SPS) procedures are given highest priority.

function pop(url,w,h) { okno = null; if(window.screen) { aw = screen.availWidth; ah = screen.availHeight; } else { aw=640; ah=480; } dane="width="+w+",height="+h+",left=" +(aw-w)/2+",top=" +(ah-h)/2 +",toolbar=no,location=no,directories=no," +"status=no,menubar=no," +"scrollbars=yes,resizable=no"; okno=window.open(url,'pop',dane); }
    Send to a friend Print

But dem wrenk! T&T have sanitary standards?!!?

if the meat uncooked how is it still entering? them think them smart.
      Put up all the barrier them can,that is all they want to do.

Good thing Samuda call them out or the man them woulda never get them patty inna T&T.

it is me or when it come to jamaican or jamaica tinindadian allways have some sort of problem with jamaica why?
        out of many one people

mi have a whole heap a good Trini friends so I couldn't say that but Trinidad as a country always compete fi beat we.

Dem always feel dem need fi be in competition wid we.

guys it is not only competing with us but when they hear that you are a jamaican they whole attitude change toward you,and they feel that they are better that us it don't matter what it is they tell themself they are better
              out of many one people

Originally posted by Lucky4life View Post
                guys it is not only competing with us but when they hear that you are a jamaican they whole attitude change toward you,and they feel that they are better that us it don't matter what it is they tell themself they are better
                cho - dat nuh bodder me, me always feel seh mi better, in fact, I'll be snobbish, and say mi betta

I have a trini friend who is married to Ja. He was a former trini national rep at soccer and he has given back to many Jamaican players and other organizations. You never ask him for a minute and he is too busy so I can't say that for all trini.

Originally posted by Lucky4life View Post
                    the same goes when we yard man hear you is trini ... any way no nasty thing inna trinidad ...... keep that gi yard ... we have high standards you know.. plus why we need pattie and we have doubles

a oh ... a you; anyway, I don't have any official statistics but I would guess that the trade balance between T&T& an JA is probably 10 to 1 in T&T favour... so when dem do chupidness fi block a JA export to T&T that is jus pure cuvitchness and badmind.

Patti will not replace doubles nor roti; but it will find a niche, in the same way that donuts, muffins and coffee have their buyers.

Patties CANNOT be successful here for accross the board fast food as in Ja. It will remain a gourmet item....it's been tried before...PLUS half the population dont eat beef...and the chicken patty is the worst...I just stock up when I go to Ja. Mo when yu coming down bring 2 doz fi mi...JUCCI beef of course.

Exile you live in trinidad !! trini-yard

That is the crux of the matter. In a trade war, TnT stands to lose BIG TIME. It is the height of foolishness to upset Jamaica on this matter, given that Jam foolishly imports 20 times what they export to TnT. It behooves TnT to keep this quiet and make no waves as they enjoy an IMMENSE advantage!

What about lobster patty?