• move over GM and Chyrsler

'World's cheapest car' coming to US

India's Tata Motors hopes to offer the Nano, which costs $2,300, to Americans within two years.

window.onerror=function(){clickURL=cleanClickURL(d ocument.location.href);return true;} if(!self.clickURL) clickURL=cleanClickURL(parent.location.href);

feed://rss.cnn.com/rss/money_topstories.rss
    Paste this link into your favorite RSS desktop reader
    See all CNNMoney.com RSS FEEDS (close)

Tata Nano
    Find your next Car

NEW YORK (Reuters) -- India's Tata Motors hopes to offer the Nano, dubbed the world's cheapest car, in the United States within two years, its chairman said.
    "It will need to meet all emission and crash standards and so we hope in the next two years we will be offering such a vehicle in the U.S," Ratan Tata told a panel at the Cornell Global Forum on Sustainable Global Enterprise late Wednesday.
    The company plans to offer a European version of the car, which costs about $2,300, in 2011.
    Tata got the idea to make a car that poor people could afford while thinking about the motorbike and scooter riders who maneuver through the streets of Indian cities with their children on board.
    The four-seater car gets up to 65 miles per gallon. Cheap labor helps to keep the price down.
    Tata said his company was also working to develop cars that run on fuels other than gasoline such as clean diesel, biofuels and batteries.

0:00 /4:42Brave new world for automakersvidConfig.push({videoArray: ["/video/fortune/2009/05/29/fortune.sl.gm.052909.fortune.json"], collapsed:true});
    The Nano debuted in showrooms in January 2008, but production was delayed by protests over land use where a plant was to be located. The cars will be available in India by July with a lottery to select the first 100,000 owners.

Who in dem right mind gwine buy that Sass We have too much big backsides in this country, half of the body part would be left hanging outside

them a buy the smart car which is not any bigger.
      watch di ride

them a buy the smart car which is not any bigger.
        watch di ride
        I would not want a double trailer passing by me in smart car or a a nano of whatever this one is called.

The other problem is theft, four guys could lift this thing off your drive way and walk down the street with it.

the good thing is you don't have to look fi a parking spot inna Manhattan , you could just tie it to a post.

Unoo gwan laugh. When oil gone to $200 a barrell unoo might want one a dem fe run round town with.

Dis nuh mek fe drive pon interstate though. Life and death business dat.

This Is A Glorified Golf Card

This car is a glorified golf cart.

Was thinking the same thing Bruce!And as matter of fact Shaqs golf carts could almost run those vehicles off the road !

http://www.diversifiedgolfcars.com/i...arge/twins.jpg

That comment was very funny! Good one...