• Police told to stop abusing citizens

Rhoma Tomlinson
    Thursday, June 04, 2009

MANDEVILLE, Manchester - President of the Manchester Chamber of Commerce, Winston Lawson, has issued a strong call to police officers to stop abusing their powers by using heavy handed tactics and abusive language against citizens when carrying out their daily duties.
    He said too often police officers feel they have to belittle citizens to show that they are in control.
    "I am talking about the boxes and the kicking and the gun butting," he said. "Too often we talk about "aay bwoy" or "go a yuh yard now!" to prove who's boss. And it hurts. it pains my heart to see when police sink to the levels of those we fear. And in those cases we really have a hard time telling the difference between the two."
    Lawson was addressing police officers in Manchester at a graduation ceremony for officers certified to drive police vehicles. The graduation was held at the International Chinese Restaurant on May 15.
    Lawson called on the officers to emulate the conduct of police officers in the United States.
    "You know in the majority of incidents in the USA when persons are offensive to police, the reaction of the police is firm and sometimes forceful but hardly ever disrespectful. The police will say, "Sir would you step out of the car", or "Sir, I am not going to tell you again" ... and don't ever think that it is because they are soft. Because they are not. It is a conduct that is necessary in providing a service - police service," Lawson said.
    He said while he believed the police have the toughest job of any citizen, force should be used appropriately.
    "I am saying you have been trained and trained well. You have the responsibility and knowledge of when and how much force is necessary. Do not abuse it. Let us return to the days when police officers were role models," Lawson said.

He called on the force to rid itself of corrupt cops. "Continued corruption restrains the effort to rebrand the force, to rebuild the confidence of those you serve, confidence we have in you, it hurts your own efforts to build support in areas of remuneration injustices, poor and substandard resources and so much more," he added.
    And commenting on the police federation's current wage war with the Government, Lawson said pay increase should go hand in hand with improved service.
    "Inflation should never be the major influence for a pay increase. Personal financial obligations should never be the major influence for a pay increase.
    Because no employee should be subject to poor, substandard or unsafe working conditions. It is a shame to see some of the conditions of stations over the years. That is downright unacceptable."
    Turning to the Chamber's collaboration with the Mandeville Police, Lawson said his organisation was still short of the $2 million needed to install CCTV cameras promised under the Chamber's 'Closed to Crime Initiative'. The CCTV installation is a part of a wider programme to rid the parish of Manchester of criminal activities. The Chamber has been calling on the private sector to help raise the funds to install the cameras in strategic areas in Mandeville.
    However, to date the $2-million shortfall has not been met.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...G_CITIZENS.asp

What's really going on in this country? Is the police a bigger threat to our safety and pursuit of happiness than any other group?!?