I didnt know this guy was black
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
He is! Interesting story on Wikipedia.In order to ensure significant airplay on the African American-dominated R&B radio format of the time, Caldwell's management took certain steps — such as portraying the artist only in silhouette on the cover and in advertisements — to hide the fact that he was white. The secret was, for obvious reasons, shattered by his first live appearances.
Very interesting indeed. You know I bought this song on iTunes a few months ago and noticed the digital artwork that came with the song, probably from the album that the song was on originally and I remember thinking that it was a great shot of a silhouette sitting on a bench with the moon in the background. I always thought he was a black guy until I read this thread.
I guess at the time it was a great idea but I would want to think that the success of people like Robin Thicke shows that would not have to be done today to make it a R&B hit, and it really is a great song ."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
it is very divisive.
only certain music on certain station and for most what to play comes from a coporate headquarter.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Well you nuh hear the label say them nuh know who fi market Tammy Chin to?
The stations are either black or white, spanish, R&B or something else. As you say if you ask mi I share your view.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.