Build it & they will come: Tourism triple play

yeah him better than what we had but it is a different thing when you step up from D2 to D1 and inner bigger league. He is better than any other recent one but for us to get say 6 million tourist a year him have to keep on working like never before.
    Having a hard time acknowledging that under the last regime work was done - roads, telecom, increase in number of rooms, etc?

Aaaaah Sass, tek hit su-loooow!

i have no problem acknowledging that.
      i 18 years what is the tourism growth?

what you will not acknowledge is they were great at overruns, mismanagement and poor at marketing.
      Last edited by Assasin; May 30, 2009, 11:33 AM.

Suh yuh tink im bline?
        Not sure where the problem was.. but I tried to cover that possibility.

Over to you Drivah... the road is clear.[/QUOTE]

The road is not clear.

It is a winding and perilous road…….. shrouded by the darkness and thick fog of years of mismanagement and corruption. Steepened by the heavy burden of high interest, devaluation and debt. And rutted with the deep hollows of poverty, injustice and crime.

18 years was a long time. There is much to be corrected before we can start talking about a clear road.

Pity that there is zero evidence of any change under this set.... not even a credible plan at this point.

Incidentally since it seems to have somehow eluded you... my post was tourism related.

The investments in developing tourism are incontrovertible... and need to be built on by this regime... there is indeed a very clear road on that... ask your tourism minister.. he waxes poetic about it all the time.

Instead many sycophants like yourself waste time and energy with incessant and puerile bellyaching about the lamented past.
            The dead paradigm continues.

Grow up.
            Last edited by Don1; May 30, 2009, 12:15 PM.

Pity that there is zero evidence of any change under this set.... not even a credible plan at this point.

Incidentally since it seems to have somehow eluded you... my post was tourism related.

The investments in developing tourism are incontrovertible... and need to be built on by this regime... there is indeed a very clear road on that... ask your tourism minister.. he waxes poetic about it all the time.

Instead many sycophants like yourself waste time and energy with incessant and puerile bellyaching about the lamented past.
              The dead paradigm continues.

Grow up.
              The reemergence of tourism as a credible sector in Jamaica was orchestrated in the 80s.

I can see no reason for your anxiety towards this administration’s ability to run the sector (slip showing perhaps!?).

You couldn’t resist to spew some bile about all inclusives creaming off (once again you need to adjust your dress, your slip is showing like a typical disaffected comrade) but you neglect to mention that the all inclusive concept was a necessary innovation (compromise) to mitigate against the ruinous policies in the 70s and their attendant social consequences.

If you want to call holding someone to account for mistakes or corruption or mismanagement puerile, particularly when these mistakes caused severe dislocation and hardships that will not be corrected for a generation, and instead want to criticize and theorize and hypothesize about what an administration in its relative infancy should be doing, especially in the face of your astounding silence in the recent past, then you have told me all you need to about yourself.

I shall now call you disingenuous1 or dis1 for short.

Adjust your dress dis1……. yuh slip a show………..

even drivah and man a yard say it's time to move on from scapegoats and excuses.

sigh

Drivah, Sorry it took 2 decades to 'clear' the road and much of the social tension and antisocial behaviour is a direct result of the bumbling over the 2 decades.. but over to you, we will try and not make the mistake and draw reverse a 3RD TIME.. as they say 3 strikes and you are out...

The two are not mutually exclusive..

Don't think for a minute that we will allow the holocaust to be forgotten however.. Jamaicans have a very short memory.. we naw draw reverse again, too much at stake.. forward Drivah (si if yuh can bruk PJ 'record')

Don1 the schizoprenic..

"Kingston has the intellectual capital for an offshore center but poor hospitality features... we will lose most of this tourist potential with a KMA location... some may continue on to a yard vacation but many will not.
                      Not good strategic thinking on GOJ's part."

What tourist potential of Jamaica haffi duh with where dem put di Financial Center ?

Downtown Kingston waterfront is underutilized... embarassingly so.. It is absolutely logical to place a center there to accelerate the development of the waterfront and maximize the in place resources (natural and human)

It look like you like tekking up a contrary position first then try and bend reality to defend it... give it up.. yuh trying too hard...

i have no problem acknowledging that.
                        i 18 years what is the tourism growth?

what you will not acknowledge is they were great at overruns, mismanagement and poor at marketing.
                        Over-runs and mismanagement?
                        All our past governments!

Poor at marketing?
                        No better or worse than those who came before!

[quote]
                          Originally posted by Comment View Post
                          The reemergence of tourism as a credible sector in Jamaica was orchestrated in the 80s.
                          One could also argue that tourism's heyday was in the 1950s & 1960s ... but that is immaterial... as is your attempt at a point. We are dealing now with the 21st century... not the 20th.

I can see no reason for your anxiety towards this administration’s ability to run the sector (slip showing perhaps!?).
                          I merely suggested that from an infrastructure point of view the table has been laid.. that's incontrovertible. It is for the regime to take advantage and grow the industry.

You couldn’t resist to spew some bile about all inclusives creaming off (once again you need to adjust your dress, your slip is showing like a typical disaffected comrade) but you neglect to mention that the all inclusive concept was a necessary innovation (compromise) to mitigate against the ruinous policies in the 70s and their attendant social consequences.
                          Yes.. I agree with that general argument.... but my post was not historical in nature... it was forward looking.
                          The government of the day should have taken heed of the JLP efforts (in alliance with the CIA) to undermine the country... and changed course in 1976 instead of 1989... unfortunately that didn't happen.... they foolishly continued policies which were counterproductive.
                          One reaps what one sows... as a country.

All inclusives saved the day then but we must figure out how the paradigm can be changed in the 21st century... or as some of you sycophants prefer.. we can waste energy jawboning about historical events and focus on present day recrimination.

If you want to call holding someone to account for mistakes or corruption or mismanagement puerile, particularly when these mistakes caused severe dislocation and hardships that will not be corrected for a generation, and instead want to criticize and theorize and hypothesize about what an administration in its relative infancy should be doing, especially in the face of your astounding silence in the recent past, then you have told me all you need to about yourself.
                          Since you are unaware of my past you are not qualified to comment on it.
                          If you wish to wallow in your version of the past... while your leaders continue to flounder... that's your unfortunate choice.
                          I prefer to look ahead.
                          I shall now call you disingenuous1 or dis1 for short.
                          silly.

Adjust your dress dis1……. yuh slip a show………..[/quote
                          ]

Save the juvenile references to undergarments for your ladyfolk... I have no interest.
                          Last edited by Don1; May 30, 2009, 03:15 PM.

my opinion is they are worst.

Drivah, Sorry it took 2 decades to 'clear' the road and much of the social tension and antisocial behaviour is a direct result of the bumbling over the 2 decades.. but over to you, we will try and not make the mistake and draw reverse a 3RD TIME.. as they say 3 strikes and you are out...
                              Dead paradigm Rear Admiral.... it's now Century 21.... let it go... you are consumed with nonsense.

Don1 the schizoprenic..

"Kingston has the intellectual capital for an offshore center but poor hospitality features... we will lose most of this tourist potential with a KMA location... some may continue on to a yard vacation but many will not.
                                Not good strategic thinking on GOJ's part."

What tourist potential of Jamaica haffi duh with where dem put di Financial Center ?

Downtown Kingston waterfront is underutilized... embarassingly so.. It is absolutely logical to place a center there to accelerate the development of the waterfront and maximize the in place resources (natural and human)

It look like you like tekking up a contrary position first then try and bend reality to defend it... give it up.. yuh trying too hard...
                                You miss the point Rear Admiral...we can have both the tourist linkage and the Kingston stimulus.

Front office MoBay... back office Kingston.

We will not have foreign businesspeople crawling thru downtown anytime soon.

That's a pipedream in the near to medium term.