Build it & they will come: Tourism triple play

• Build it & they will come: Tourism triple play

Jamaica is at a pivotal juncture in tourism development... a crossroads. Where will Drivah go? The table has been set for an explosion in arrivals and earnings after the current crisis has abated... because of 3 major infrastructural developments.

1. The hotel room stock has increased by 50% in the past 10 years (fastest growth in the region and one of the fastest among major world destinations) and is nearing 30,000.
    In addition there are resort proposals on the books totaling US$20B+ ... just for Trelawney! .... nationally project proposals exceed US$30B.
    All will not be viable or implemented but if just 50% are completed... a further round of massive expansion is in the offing.

All this enabled by:

2. Sangster airport has been privatized, modernized and expanded... and is on track to accommodate 10m passengers/year. It may become the busiest in the hemisphere outside the US as airlines continue to be attracted to its location and facilities.

3. The North Coast Highway is nearing completion... will connect all the major tourism centers from Negril to Port Antonio with a modern road transport system... not perfect... but very serviceable.

The entire northern belt will be easily accessible... facilitating better planned development.

Water, electricity and telecom services have been modernized in the corridor. Hospitality skills have also been improved and Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing.
    Housing continues to lag badly however... must be a priority.

If the GOJ does get an offshore financial center going, they should seriously consider locating this in Montego Bay... the synergy with tourism is obvious. Kingston should be used as a back office for this operation.

Bahamas, Bermuda and Barbados use their offshore centers to massively drive tourist arrivals. When the businesspeople fly into those destinations conduct business... they have the hospitality services on hand and are easily led to spend money.
    Kingston has the intellectual capital for an offshore center but poor hospitality features... we will lose most of this tourist potential with a KMA location... some may continue on to a yard vacation but many will not.
    Not good strategic thinking on GOJ's part.

It's clear that infrastructure will no longer be a limiting factor in developing tourism.

The limiting factor will continue to be social tension and resultant antisocial/criminal behaviour.
    This will be the major task of the Golding regime in tourism.. ameliorating the social tensions (police action is NOT the main answer) and ensuring that Jamaica is safe for residents first... and visitors as well.

When Jamaicans feel free to "spread out like carpet"... so will our visitors... then the tourism dollar will multiply throughout the economy.. and not just be creamed off by all inclusives.

That's the only way to maximize the infrastrutural developments and make tourism the major engine it can be... otherwise Jamaica will continue to be a mediocre performer in earnings with tourists warehoused in the gilded garrisons called all inclusives (yes necessary now.. but not a great long term development option) ... even as arrivals rise.

Over to you Drivah... the road is clear.
    Last edited by Don1; May 30, 2009, 09:52 AM.

you forget three things.

Marketing, Airlift, competition and affordability(or target marketing).

How often have we just build it and nobody come? Trelawny stadium nuh teach you nothing? Infrastructure by itself don't mean too much.

Many countries have better infrastructure than we do.

you forget three things.

Marketing, Airlift, competition and affordability(or target marketing).

How often have we just build it and nobody come? Trelawny stadium nuh teach you nothing? Infrastructure by itself don't mean too much.

Many countries have better infrastructure than we do.
      You specialize in missing my point.

Suggest you read the post carefully... maybe slower this time.

All your observations are covered including marketing (of which appropriate pricing is a subset).

You need to understand however that without an attractive product.. all the marketing in the world means nothing.

The two go hand in hand. Your stadium analogy is misplaced and void. Jamaica obviously has respectable arrivals... unlike the stadium.
      Last edited by Don1; May 30, 2009, 10:03 AM.

Nowhere did you mention any of the three I mention and it cannot be done without that. Your point is missing these elements.

You need to read with more care

Nowhere did you mention any of the three I mention and it cannot be done without that. Your point is missing these elements.
          Marketing:

"Water, electricity and telecom services have been modernized in the corridor. Hospitality skills have also been improved and Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing."

As to airlift:

Effective marketing for a destination covers the development of airlift and attracting carriers as a primary mission.
          Additionally one of my main points was the development of the facilities at Sangster... without which carriers could not be accommodated properly and so would not be attracted to the facility.

I hope I don't have to go over these points again ....they should be obvious.

yuh joking, right?

"Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing.""

How so?

The only really effective marketing is done by Sandals, Super Clubs and now the spanish hotels.

There are many potential clients that we have not even started touching the iceberg yet. Yes we have an upgrade as a minister but there is still a lot of work to be done if we want to be a major player.

good post, don1, but regarding telecom services, we still take far too long to provide service once ordered. i just got my internet at home after 6 weeks. and it took almost as long to get it at the workplace as well.

nuh you always a big up di jlp and di tourism minister?!?

good post, don1, but regarding telecom services, we still take far too long to provide service once ordered. i just got my internet at home after 6 weeks. and it took almost as long to get it at the workplace as well.
                    Not good!! Is that north coast or Killston?? I know it's not profitable to run lines in some locations and the carriers drag their feet.

However mi memba wen it tek all 2-3 year.. in di miggle ah Kingston.

"Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing.""

How so?

The only really effective marketing is done by Sandals, Super Clubs and now the spanish hotels.

There are many potential clients that we have not even started touching the iceberg yet. Yes we have an upgrade as a minister but there is still a lot of work to be done if we want to be a major player.
                      The first thing you need to do is acknowledge that you erred... that indeed all the stuff you claimed was not mentioned in my post... was indeed addressed.

The JTB has performed effectively in marketing for decades... and is recognized in the professional travel trade accordingly.... they regularly win awards for their campaigns at the WTA and CTO.

All the macro developments in Jamaican tourism to this point have very little to do with Bartlett.... he's a johnny come lately on this issue.... he may however have a significant impact over time.

He is an effective advocate and plays the role well... I last observed him do so at the Jet Blue NYC launch a week ago.... so he has potential.

This is on the outskirts of Montego Bay, not bush at all, but not in the jungle of the city. Totally unacceptable! And is not as if the building itself did not have telephone lines already.

aaah bwoy!!

yeah him better than what we had but it is a different thing when you step up from D2 to D1 and inner bigger league. He is better than any other recent one but for us to get say 6 million tourist a year him have to keep on working like never before.

Marketing:

"Water, electricity and telecom services have been modernized in the corridor. Hospitality skills have also been improved and Jamaica continues to enjoy effective marketing."

As to airlift:

Effective marketing for a destination covers the development of airlift and attracting carriers as a primary mission.
                              Additionally one of my main points was the development of the facilities at Sangster... without which carriers could not be accommodated properly and so would not be attracted to the facility.

I hope I don't have to go over these points again ....they should be obvious.

Suh yuh tink im bline?