Golding apologises to Canadian tourists

• Golding apologises to Canadian tourists

The Jamaican prime minister has apologized to six Canadian tourists whose minivan was shot at while driving in inner-city Kingston on Thursday afternoon.
    One of the tourists, a 32-year-old man, suffered minor injuries from broken glass after bullets hit the rear passenger-side window of their minivan, shattering it. The other occupants, four women and another man, were shocked but unhurt.
    The group, who were reportedly from Quebec, were on a self-planned excursion when they heard three shots, which also damaged the van’s windshield.
    After driving to hospital for treatment, the group were taken to a police station for statements.
    They later met with Jamaican Prime Minister Bruce Golding, who apologized for the incident and sought to assure the group that the government “would do everything to ensure their comfort for the duration of their vacation,” according to a news release from the prime minister’s office.
    “We got on top of it quite early,” Jamaican Information Minister Daryl Vaz told the government-run Jamaica Information Service.
    “We met them at the hospital . . . We made contact with Deputy Commissioner (Mark) Shields. Statements were taken. Air transport was provided to take them back to Montego Bay. They made a courtesy call on the prime minister on the way, and he apologized. Thank God there was no serious injury or gunshot wounds,” Vaz said.
    The group, who were reportedly staying at the Iberostar Rose Hall Resort, had rented the van but made a wrong turn just before the shooting.
    Canada’s Foreign Affairs Department confirmed the incident late Friday.
    “Canadian consular officials have been in contact with Jamaican authorities,” said spokeswoman Emma Welford, who added that the officials also met with the Canadians involved.
    The shooting came just a month after a Jamaican gunman commandeered a CanJet airplane at Sangster airport in Montego Bay.
    Jamaican opposition MP Dr. Wykeham McNeil told Radio Jamaica that he feared this incident might deliver a blow to Jamaica’s image.
    “”We have to be very careful and protect the tourist industry . . . Things like these could drive the industry south and deepen the country’s problems,” he said.

Well, Well, Well....

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    The shooting came just a month after a Jamaican gunman commandeered a CanJet airplane at Sangster airport in Montego Bay.
    Jamaican opposition MP Dr. Wykeham McNeil told Radio Jamaica that he feared this incident might deliver a blow to Jamaica’s image.
    “”We have to be very careful and protect the tourist industry . . . Things like these could drive the industry south and deepen the country’s problems,” he said.
    Damn! At the rate we’re going, we may as well start preparing ourselves to lose the lucrative Canadian tourist market!! Cuba is a mere 90 miles or so from Jamaica, and one of their primary tourism markets is Canada. It isn’t impossible, if this crap of attacking Canadian tourists continues (first, it was an attempted hijacking, and now it’s shooting up their vehicle!), then it isn’t farfetched that they may shift to Cuba, where they can find similar sun, sea and sand (and music of a higher level). The service in Cuba is by no means of the quality as that of Jamaica’s highly trained staff, but ultimately this might not matter.

When are our leaders going to realize that destroying the crime monster is of the greatest importance? It is probably only a matter of time before this crime monster strikes our struggling tourism industry with such an impact that the industry is destroyed!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      Damn! At the rate we’re going, we may as well start preparing ourselves to lose the lucrative Canadian tourist market!! Cuba is a mere 90 miles or so from Jamaica, and one of their primary tourism markets is Canada. It isn’t impossible, if this crap of attacking Canadian tourists continues (first, it was an attempted hijacking, and now it’s shooting up their vehicle!), then it isn’t farfetched that they may shift to Cuba, where they can find similar sun, sea and sand (and music of a higher level). The service in Cuba is by no means of the quality as that of Jamaica’s highly trained staff, but ultimately this might not matter.

When are our leaders going to realize that destroying the crime monster is of the greatest importance? It is probably only a matter of time before this crime monster strikes our struggling tourism industry with such an impact that the industry is destroyed!
      You are quite the alarmist.

This attack on those people is unfortunate and damaging... fortunately the JTB has effective damage control mechanisms including through Ruder Finn, their PR reps.

Jamaican tourism has survived and prevailed through much worse travails... no need for the doomsday scenarios.

But we do need to get crime under control... firstly for the residents but also our visitors. Its a tremendous drain on production and growth.

To focus crime fighting efforts with an outsized emphasis on visitors or tourist areas will ultimately breed resentment and further isolate the tourist garrisons from the rest of society.... and further limit the benefits of tourism to a few owners of all inclusive properties.... which will continue the vicious cycle of alienation and resentment... ad infinitum.

That cycle has to be reversed if tourism is to reach its full potential.. we may be at just 40% of potential at the moment.... in terms of earnings, not arrivals.

You are quite the alarmist.
        It’s more like being “realist” than “alarmist,” boss. How long do you think we can continue to depend on the Jamaica Tourist Board’s “damage control”? I’m aware of the JTB’s impressive public relations machinery, but it is not wise, I suspect, to sit back and think that, hey, our tourism “has survived and prevailed through much worse travails.” This attitude will not do in an era of economic upheaval and dislocation, among other problems.

The fact is that tourism today is far more important to the region, and far more competitive, than it was, say, two decades ago! States which had paid scant regard to tourism in the past (the Turks & Caicos Islands, Guyana, Trinidad, etc.) are now pouring millions into their marketing and advertising in the hope of grabbing a larger share of the limited pie.

However, I fully agree with you that “to focus crime fighting efforts with an outsized emphasis on visitors or tourist areas will ultimately breed resentment and further isolate the tourist garrisons from the rest of society.” This is beyond debate. On the other hand, I was by no means suggesting anything of this nature. My reference to getting crime under control was a reference to the entire country, as Jamaica’s crime problem has created an unfortunate picture of our country for the world to digest, in addition to creating a living hell here on earth for ordinary Jamaican citizens.

Historian;166373]It’s more like being “realist” than “alarmist,” boss. How long do you think we can continue to depend on the Jamaica Tourist Board’s “damage control”? I’m aware of the JTB’s impressive public relations machinery, but it is not wise, I suspect, to sit back and think that, hey, our tourism “has survived and prevailed through much worse travails.” This attitude will not do in an era of economic upheaval and dislocation, among other problems.
          I'm not supporting sitting back... I support action to make the industry viable.... and suggested some possibilities.
          I don't support alarmist views of impending doom... especially when a few visitors are subject to trauma.
          I have been hearing doom scenarios trumpeted for 30+ years and they have ALL proved unfounded... in much worse circumstances than this.
          I was merely putting this incident in perspective.

The fact is that tourism today is far more important to the region, and far more competitive, than it was, say, two decades ago! States which had paid scant regard to tourism in the past (the Turks & Caicos Islands, Guyana, Trinidad, etc.) are now pouring millions into their marketing and advertising in the hope of grabbing a larger share of the limited pie.
          True... but Jamaica has more than held its own... even though far below its potential.

However, I fully agree with you that “to focus crime fighting efforts with an outsized emphasis on visitors or tourist areas will ultimately breed resentment and further isolate the tourist garrisons from the rest of society.” This is beyond debate. On the other hand, I was by no means suggesting anything of this nature. My reference to getting crime under control was a reference to the entire country, as Jamaica’s crime problem has created an unfortunate picture of our country for the world to digest, in addition to creating a living hell here on earth for ordinary Jamaican citizens.

Glad to agree with you on something.

Got anymore doomsday predictions for Jamaica under JLP Rule ?

2 years in and its all over by your account...

Don't mean to be alarmist but you mind want to seek Psychiatric treatment... you are showing signs of schizophrenia..

Got anymore doomsday predictions for Jamaica under JLP Rule ?

2 years in and its all over by your account...

Don't mean to be alarmist but you mind want to seek Psychiatric treatment... you are showing signs of schizophrenia..
              Try to be more original Rear Admiral... quit stealing my lines.... more thought needed from you.. as usual.

I figured dat one woulda hold yuh..

Hush...

I figured dat one woulda hold yuh..

Hush...
                  tanks boss.