Jamaica..This crisis is too good to waste

• Jamaica..This crisis is too good to waste

In Mandarin Chinese the word for crisis is identical to the word for opportunity.

Countries that have serious structural problems (Jamaica is an example) can effectively use the economic upheaval to restructure inefficient sectors of their economy and also overhaul the way they do business.

This is an opportunity because interest groups will accept fundamental change now in the face of economic uncertainty... whereas in "normal" times they may resist needed change tooth and nail.

The US offers perhaps the most interesting example of a nation trying to use the crisis to force needed but unpalatable change.... restructuring health care, education, energy, financial services and auto industries.. simultaneously!
    Whether it works or not only time will tell, but it demonstrates visionary and bold policymaking.

Jamaica badly needs to use this crisis the way certain other countries are doing. Those countries that successfully restructure themselves will be the likely winners in a post crisis world.

Unfortunately Jamaica does not seem to be following that path... but seems content to hunker down and ride out the storm.
    Problem is... after the immediate crisis has passed... we will remain in our current disadvantaged position.. having learned no useful lessons or changed unproductive behaviour to become more competitive.

What to do? I have already opined extensively on some possibilities and will not repeat that here.

However it is clear the SOMETHING DIFFERENT needs to be done to have a chance to progress.... but our leaders are not up to the task... being more interested in political gamesmanship and plotting how to retain or regain power... Witness the ridiculous by election merry go round.
    Fiddling while Rome burns.... pathetic

One opportunity our private sector would be crazy to pass up:

Since the previous government completely bungled liberalization with the ready help of an avaricious private sector in the 1990s ...leading to the financial meltdown.... with the regulatory reforms forced on Jamaica then... our financial sector is somewhat sheltered from the current crisis... and still relatively healthy.

Opportunity: Many US banks are failing or technically bankrupt and are being acquired at firesale prices. Many are buying these banks just for the nationwide, regional or state licenses which can be so time consuming to acquire with a start up operation.

A Jamaican bank (NCB?) or consortium could easily acquire a tiny US bank with a national license.... and eventually start to offer services to the diaspora in NY & Florida at a minimum... that would be a winning situation all around. When the economy recovers they would be sitting pretty.

The time is now to think outside the box.... our private sector and our politicians.

This window of opportunity will not last forever.

Selah.

Can you be a little more specific? My problem with what you are saying is there is no indept reason, just a general statement.

You want me to write a thesis?
      Sorry ... for that I need to be paid. General statements will have to suffice.

What kind of services would this bank offer ?

I do agree with your gamesmanship statement however.. The PNP is a paraiah that just won't let up.. Power has consumed them and the loss of it has driven them insane.. Jamaica be damned.

What kind of services would this bank offer ?

I do agree with your gamesmanship statement however.. The PNP is a paraiah that just won't let up.. Power has consumed them and the loss of it has driven them insane.. Jamaica be damned.
          The Dead Paradigm of yours continues its relentless march... to nowhere. Your mental infection is acute.... looks like it may be a terminal case. I pity your condition..... See if this guy can help you please... for all our sakes.

The bank would offer whatever services the market needs.... remittances,Jamaican/Caribbean investment window, pooled fund investments, US dollar denominated Jamaican/Caribbean debt investment, mortgages secured by Jamaican/Caribbean or US property, Jamaican bond investments etc etc etc.......

Services are not the problem.... vision is.

Soo.. the Diaspora have their money under a mattress right now.. just waiting for a yardie to 'buy a bank the States' suh dem can finally feel safe ?

Give me a numbah so I can have Patrick Hylton call you post haste.. I think you are unto something which no-one else has even considered !!

Soo.. the Diaspora have their money under a mattress right now.. just waiting for a yardie to 'buy a bank the States' suh dem can finally feel safe ?

Give me a numbah so I can have Patrick Hylton call you post haste.. I think you are unto something which no-one else has even considered !!
              You need to understand what's called affinity marketing. When you read up on the subject you will understand the opportunity.

just send him a link to my post... when they see the light... I need a consultation fee.

A nuh yuh alone mus deh inna one trough.

Will do !

Working with some people who doing some ting wid a cell-phone for someting dem call cross-border financial markets..

I will alert them this news breaking line of thought.. tell them to be on the lookout for a bank for sale in the States that could possibly be the lynchpin to launch this new campaign.. mi hear seh deh US/Caribbean corridor is bout a 7 Billion dollar market..

Ah True ?

Will do !

Working with some people who doing some ting wid a cell-phone for someting dem call cross-border financial markets..

I will alert them this news breaking line of thought.. tell them to be on the lookout for a bank for sale in the States that could possibly be the lynchpin to launch this new campaign.. mi hear seh deh US/Caribbean corridor is bout a 7 Billion dollar market..

Ah True ?
                  With upwards of 1 million Jamaicans in the US.... that market is probably around US$30billion++ in total income. More than twice Jamaica's GDP easily.

How much of that can be directed to Jamaica trade/investment flows through a US based Jamaican bank is anyone's guess... even 1% would be a US$300m pie.